Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Gen5DIY
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2011, 12:13 AM   #86
91Z28350
 
Drives: 2012 GT500 SVTPP 2010 Traverse LTZ
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Roanoke,TX
Posts: 665
Yes, actually I do.
91Z28350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 12:29 AM   #87
Scarrzz
No Fear-No Limits- Camaro
 
Scarrzz's Avatar
 
Drives: Suzuki Hayabusa
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Louisiana, CO, GA, TX, etc.
Posts: 1,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shurenuff View Post
No problem Scarrzz. I wasn't trying to correct you or call you out, I honestly didn't know what RFD stood for. Now I know.

Wasn't worried, Shurenuff. My skin ain't that thin, my friend.


It's kinda funny really, I first think of RFD instead of RED on a bright red ZL1.

Count on me to go for the technological meaning rather than something simple.



.
__________________
.
__________________________________
................................................The Faithful are Watching.
Scarrzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 03:58 PM   #88
Tysen


 
Tysen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 2,433
Yes. As log as it's a proximity FOB, and not something where I still have to put the key in.
__________________
"I'm a man who discovered the wheel, and built the Eiffel Tower out of metal and brawn! That's what kind of man I am." - Ron Burgundy
My build thread
Tysen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 05:05 PM   #89
CitznFish
 
Drives: 2005 C6 Corvette
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6
Why does the new Camaro have to use a key?

Keyless entry and ignition is where it's at. I would pay $150 more for a ZL1 if it used the same system as the Corvette. Now that I've never needed to pull a key from my pocket when driving a C6 i can't see myself going back.

Please GM just make this available on the ZL1.

Last edited by CitznFish; 06-14-2011 at 06:34 PM.
CitznFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 05:23 PM   #90
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,280
Congrats on your first post, and welcome to Camaro5. I feel that a keyless system costs more than $150. But just my .02
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 05:52 PM   #91
The IOM Ninja
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 10' IOM 2SS/RS, 13' GB Shelby GT500
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sherwood Park, AB
Posts: 2,181
Yeah, welcome we hope you enjoy your time here!

I also agree with you, if the New Dodge Lancer, I mean Mitsubishi Charger, sorry no it's the Dodge Charger can get one, then I don't see why the Camaro shouldn't. I mean the concept had it. It was probably just a way to save cost on the car.
The IOM Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 06:32 PM   #92
CitznFish
 
Drives: 2005 C6 Corvette
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by stieger View Post
Congrats on your first post, and welcome to Camaro5. I feel that a keyless system costs more than $150. But just my .02
Quote:
Originally Posted by stieger View Post
Congrats on your first post, and welcome to Camaro5. I feel that a keyless system costs more than $150. But just my .02
Quote:
Originally Posted by The IOM Ninja View Post
Yeah, welcome we hope you enjoy your time here!

I also agree with you, if the New Dodge Lancer, I mean Mitsubishi Charger, sorry no it's the Dodge Charger can get one, then I don't see why the Camaro shouldn't. I mean the concept had it. It was probably just a way to save cost on the car.
Thanks!



Well the tech is alreay available.

they can just produce more than they do now for the vette

that should bring the price down

heck, maybe it already is less than 150? There's not much to it. Radio and receivers...
CitznFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 09:43 PM   #93
JB22
 
JB22's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 ABM # 2180 2SS M6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Burnt Hills, NY
Posts: 175
yes
__________________

(Click above image to learn about UpstateC5)
JB22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 10:22 PM   #94
mondain
 
Drives: toyota
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 298
Hey even the lowest trim level 2011 Corvette (Coupe) has keyless entry and pushbutton start STANDARD.

So, yea, it's a convenience item. But they managed to give it to us. I don't think it's a stretch to ask for it
mondain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 10:33 PM   #95
Tysen


 
Tysen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 2,433
Nissan Altimas have them. My rental had it.
__________________
"I'm a man who discovered the wheel, and built the Eiffel Tower out of metal and brawn! That's what kind of man I am." - Ron Burgundy
My build thread
Tysen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 10:46 PM   #96
dannkimmel
 
dannkimmel's Avatar
 
Drives: 1lt,rjt,m6 &2004 harley
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: kendall ny
Posts: 96
NO REASON FOR A BUTTON START IF YA STILL GOOTA CARRY A FOB ..WASTE OF MONEY...GIVE ME A BUILT IN RAIDAR DETECTOR....NOW THAT I COULD USE!!!!
dannkimmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 02:52 AM   #97
The IOM Ninja
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 10' IOM 2SS/RS, 13' GB Shelby GT500
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sherwood Park, AB
Posts: 2,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Road Rage View Post
Yeah, that and have the car drive itself too!!! How lazy can people get that they can't even turn a key?
Do you get off your couch to change the channel on your tv? Or use a rotary phone? I highly doubt it.

Technology isn't always about being lazy it's often about convenience, just like an automatic transmission with tapshift or a Sequential Manual Gearbox. Sure the manual maybe more fun for shifting but when it comes to stop and go traffic (for a lot of people) the fun factor just loses its touch.
The IOM Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 03:00 AM   #98
Bond
Heritage Hanger
 
Bond's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS, Black.
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 1,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by formare View Post
A good start would be to have the key hole up on the dash where it belongs rather than on the column...
No way!
On the old '71, guess where the key hole was...
On the column!
__________________
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=4574&pictureid=46944

Keeping The Spirit Alive!
Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 10:48 AM   #99
mondain
 
Drives: toyota
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 298
To do true pushbutton start with a RFD FOB, it does require some hardware. An RF transmitter, for example. But the car already has an RF receiver -- that's how it remotely opens the doors and trunk, etc. So half the hardware is already there; it's even possible the receiver/transmitter unit used is a single unit from the vette but with the transmitter just disabled. Dunno.

The rest is purely software.

I'm all for adding convenience features when they don't significantly impact price, performance, or build time. I don't believe this feature would be difficult to deliver on.

But then again, I'm also the guy pushing for MyLink in it, too.
mondain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 10:27 PM   #100
HKEY_
Banned
 
Drives: toyota 4x4 gsxr 1000 carrera s
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: sacramento, ca
Posts: 17
yes, the new scion has 1

HKEY_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:15 PM   #101
Mustang Killa

 
Mustang Killa's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: az
Posts: 855
YES
Mustang Killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 07:15 PM   #102
Chemical
 
Chemical's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 710
I'm not going to lie... It would be pretty nice just to walk up to my ZL1, open the door, sit and start the car with out having to take anything out of my pocket.

...so long as I still have the option to take out my fob and remote start the engine from outside.

If at all possible, I think this would be a nice addition to an already impressive performance car.
Chemical is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
engine, start button, zl1

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supercharger / Turbocharger Results (INFO) Thread radz28 Forced Induction - V8 247 12-24-2015 08:42 AM
What do all the abbreviations mean? CrzyGamr2 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 77 12-07-2012 05:34 AM
Rough Engine Start After Tune? Tanner Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 9 10-08-2009 01:25 PM
LS9 SC old news. Here comes the LSX. 850HP, 840 lb-ft of Torgue 13F20 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 15 09-22-2008 05:35 PM
GM moves closer to HCCI engine production Scotsman Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 16 05-16-2008 07:16 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.