Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ModBargains
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2011, 04:53 PM   #251
anthonyj9h
"First There"
 
anthonyj9h's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ss
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in a hole somewhere
Posts: 6,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by garcmol View Post
I don't want to see you take the Maggie off again so I've been reading/researching a bit. I try the simplest first and I read this regarding the MAF;

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=244

I just wonder if your PCM is not getting a good reading from the MAF (either lean or rich) and trying to compensate and it stutters or dies. Same with the Throttle position sensor. If either is doing what it thinks it should it wouldn't throw a code right? I know in that post it talks about timing changes based on these readings and I'm just thinking that if it went too much either way it would cause it to stutter like it does. Even die.

Having taken the brake booster line off on other vehicles, I know you should hear an immediate difference in the engine. Seems strange you can take off a vacuum hose and there is absolutely no difference.

Just throwing stuff out there. Hope you get it worked out, I know it's driving you nuts!

i was thinking this too but no freakin codes!!!!!!! it just dont make sense
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jewel25 View Post
No one wants to be like aytard. He is a douche for eggs.



it is written......
anthonyj9h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 05:04 PM   #252
garcmol


 
garcmol's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 1LT SIM; 91 B4C sleeper Z
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft. Mitchell, Alabama
Posts: 7,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonyj9h View Post
i was thinking this too but no freakin codes!!!!!!! it just dont make sense
I know, I don't think the sensors are bad, I just think (maybe) that it's sending mixed signals causing the sputter and screwing with the timing. The brain thinks it's doing the right thing so it doesn't throw a code.
__________________
Pedders Pace Car Package, Injen CAI, Flowmaster AT, AAC Lighting, ZL1 fascia/skirts, RKSport Ram Air hood, vented fenders, painted stripes (Gary's Customz), Honor and Valor badged (Thank you, John)
garcmol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 05:05 PM   #253
anthonyj9h
"First There"
 
anthonyj9h's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ss
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in a hole somewhere
Posts: 6,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by garcmol View Post
I know, I don't think the sensors are bad, I just think (maybe) that it's sending mixed signals causing the sputter and screwing with the timing. The brain thinks it's doing the right thing so it doesn't throw a code.
yeah a log of the timing would help but SOMEBODY!!!!! left their tuner at the shop so we wont know for awhile
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jewel25 View Post
No one wants to be like aytard. He is a douche for eggs.



it is written......
anthonyj9h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 07:15 PM   #254
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,830
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Norm, if I take the brake booster hose off it sputters and dies like it should. It's the MAF sensor that I can take off with no difference.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 07:43 PM   #255
markssylver
 
markssylver's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 bbb impala ss
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: md
Posts: 333
In a post a few pages back there was a picture of your engine with a breather filter were the oil cap goes
Could that be the leak I know when I had my. Car at ADM Andy told me my tune would need to be changed if I wanted to use one of those could that be your problem just throwing it out there
__________________
10.56@134mph
ADM BUILT AND TUNED CGM 2SS RS
ADM/LPE 417 with ported heads/inconel vavles gt11 cam
ADM ported maggie with 14 rib rear 10 rib front pulleys
ADM fuel system and race air intake
ADM/LPE ZR1 clutch /pedalreturn spring
ADM billet aluminum valve covers /RPM LEVEL 6 TR6060
LPE HD 241mm diff with 3:45 gears HD axles and d/s
ADM widened wheels with 315nitto nt05s Bogart 17 dragwheels CTS-V front 6 piston brakes
Pedders HD subframe/differential bushings alignment kit 27/32mm sways Supercar coilovers
683RWHP/650RWTQ
markssylver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 08:38 PM   #256
garcmol


 
garcmol's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 1LT SIM; 91 B4C sleeper Z
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft. Mitchell, Alabama
Posts: 7,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Norm, if I take the brake booster hose off it sputters and dies like it should. It's the MAF sensor that I can take off with no difference.
Ahhhhhh wonder if your speed density tuned. Now I've heard of this, but not exactly sure how it works. But I do think it takes the MAF out of the equation. Maybe thats why there's no change when its off. I hope you get it right Randy.
__________________
Pedders Pace Car Package, Injen CAI, Flowmaster AT, AAC Lighting, ZL1 fascia/skirts, RKSport Ram Air hood, vented fenders, painted stripes (Gary's Customz), Honor and Valor badged (Thank you, John)
garcmol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 08:48 PM   #257
GTAHVIT
One Lucky Guy.
 
GTAHVIT's Avatar
 
Drives: #22 Tom Henry Racing 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saint Augustine FL
Posts: 28,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by garcmol View Post
Ahhhhhh wonder if your speed density tuned. Now I've heard of this, but not exactly sure how it works. But I do think it takes the MAF out of the equation. Maybe thats why there's no change when its off. I hope you get it right Randy.
Well to clarify..

when he disconnects the MAF it idles the same but when he tries to rev the motor it hesitates... so I'm thinking the MAF is at least partially working correctly.
GTAHVIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 08:59 PM   #258
garcmol


 
garcmol's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 1LT SIM; 91 B4C sleeper Z
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft. Mitchell, Alabama
Posts: 7,382
Well, then it's working. Remember when the car would die after a couple of minutes due to the hose collapsing? Wonder if something similar is happening but in a different location. Just enough to make it sputter, maybe?
__________________
Pedders Pace Car Package, Injen CAI, Flowmaster AT, AAC Lighting, ZL1 fascia/skirts, RKSport Ram Air hood, vented fenders, painted stripes (Gary's Customz), Honor and Valor badged (Thank you, John)
garcmol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:07 PM   #259
Redemption
Just Because!
 
Redemption's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2SSRS
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 7,075
Wait a second, disconnecting the MAF doesnt throw the CEL either? Thats not right, unless it was tuned out. But that leads me to believe there is more going on here than thought...

If the MAF is not right, then the computer is trying to compensate to make things happy. So then the fuel trims are all outta whack.

Got someone close by to swap one with real quick?

We'll find this SOB!

J
__________________
Redemption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:11 PM   #260
GTAHVIT
One Lucky Guy.
 
GTAHVIT's Avatar
 
Drives: #22 Tom Henry Racing 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saint Augustine FL
Posts: 28,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption View Post
Wait a second, disconnecting the MAF doesnt throw the CEL either? Thats not right, unless it was tuned out. But that leads me to believe there is more going on here than thought...

If the MAF is not right, then the computer is trying to compensate to make things happy. So then the fuel trims are all outta whack.

Got someone close by to swap one with real quick?

We'll find this SOB!

J
I'm not so sure that it doesn't throw a code.... I don't remember Randy posting that it did or didn't???
GTAHVIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:14 PM   #261
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,365
I thought he said no codes.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:16 PM   #262
GTAHVIT
One Lucky Guy.
 
GTAHVIT's Avatar
 
Drives: #22 Tom Henry Racing 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saint Augustine FL
Posts: 28,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS View Post
I thought he said no codes.
GTAHVIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:20 PM   #263
Camarowguy


 
Camarowguy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 imperial blue SS, black 92 RS
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denham Springs
Posts: 2,587
Well I didn't have time to read the whole thread....but as a side note...I use wd40 instead of carb cleaner to find a vacuum leak. It's less flammable and doesn't dry stuff out like carb cleaner. Sorry if someone else posted this
__________________
2011 imperial blue SS/RS a6 12.43@112 vararam, tune, jba cats, magnaflow axle back, self ported tb, under drive pulley, NO headers, Stock tires. 1.87 60ft. Stock tires.
2000 1500 silverado extra cab
Camarowguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:42 PM   #264
garcmol


 
garcmol's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 1LT SIM; 91 B4C sleeper Z
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft. Mitchell, Alabama
Posts: 7,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS View Post
I thought he said no codes.
He did. No codes. Very confusing. Randy, all your injectors seated and electrical connections on them tight? How much boost do you guys run with a Magnuson supercharger? Is it adjustable? Does boost stay steady or should it fluctuate as you drive? Does boost reflect on how much additional fuel is needed/used? I just ask cause if Mike at Vengeance said air leak, could it be on the fuel rail? Sort of sounds like your engine is starving at idle
__________________
Pedders Pace Car Package, Injen CAI, Flowmaster AT, AAC Lighting, ZL1 fascia/skirts, RKSport Ram Air hood, vented fenders, painted stripes (Gary's Customz), Honor and Valor badged (Thank you, John)
garcmol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:00 PM   #265
garcmol


 
garcmol's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 1LT SIM; 91 B4C sleeper Z
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft. Mitchell, Alabama
Posts: 7,382
Since Chris was here it gave me an idear.....

Why is your intake tube capped right before the throttle body and Chris' isn't? Where does Chris' tube run and what do you have there in it's place?



According to this schematic, that capped off piece on your intake should have a hose running to the rocker cover. Looks like Chris is running a hose from there. Just wondering why yours wouldn't have that.

__________________
Pedders Pace Car Package, Injen CAI, Flowmaster AT, AAC Lighting, ZL1 fascia/skirts, RKSport Ram Air hood, vented fenders, painted stripes (Gary's Customz), Honor and Valor badged (Thank you, John)

Last edited by garcmol; 06-06-2011 at 10:11 PM.
garcmol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 11:06 PM   #266
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,830
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonyj9h View Post
yeah a log of the timing would help but SOMEBODY!!!!! left their tuner at the shop so we wont know for awhile


Quote:
Originally Posted by markssylver View Post
In a post a few pages back there was a picture of your engine with a breather filter were the oil cap goes
Could that be the leak I know when I had my. Car at ADM Andy told me my tune would need to be changed if I wanted to use one of those could that be your problem just throwing it out there
Not sure about that. Hope he didn't charge you. I've known plenty of guys who put one on and didn't have to. I actually was able to take the hose off and NOT plug the intake and it didn't change anytning. In fact, I sprayed starter fluid INTO the opening and it didn't do anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by garcmol View Post
Ahhhhhh wonder if your speed density tuned. Now I've heard of this, but not exactly sure how it works. But I do think it takes the MAF out of the equation. Maybe thats why there's no change when its off. I hope you get it right Randy.
I have to assume Vengeance got it right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTAHVIT View Post
Well to clarify..

when he disconnects the MAF it idles the same but when he tries to rev the motor it hesitates... so I'm thinking the MAF is at least partially working correctly.
It hesitates at first. Then it revs just fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by garcmol View Post
Well, then it's working. Remember when the car would die after a couple of minutes due to the hose collapsing? Wonder if something similar is happening but in a different location. Just enough to make it sputter, maybe?
It really never sputters. Just dies after a little throttle and brake at low rpms.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption View Post
Wait a second, disconnecting the MAF doesnt throw the CEL either? Thats not right, unless it was tuned out. But that leads me to believe there is more going on here than thought...

If the MAF is not right, then the computer is trying to compensate to make things happy. So then the fuel trims are all outta whack.

Got someone close by to swap one with real quick?

We'll find this SOB!

J
I haven't seen a cel in months. And only when it's reved off the limiter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTAHVIT View Post
I'm not so sure that it doesn't throw a code.... I don't remember Randy posting that it did or didn't???
Nope. No codes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS View Post
I thought he said no codes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTAHVIT View Post


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarowguy View Post
Well I didn't have time to read the whole thread....but as a side note...I use wd40 instead of carb cleaner to find a vacuum leak. It's less flammable and doesn't dry stuff out like carb cleaner. Sorry if someone else posted this
I used starter fluid and propane.

Quote:
Originally Posted by garcmol View Post
He did. No codes. Very confusing. Randy, all your injectors seated and electrical connections on them tight? Yes. How much boost do you guys run with a Magnuson supercharger? Mine is 7.5 lbs. Is it adjustable? Only with a smaller pulley. Does boost stay steady or should it fluctuate as you drive? It goes up with higher RPMs. Does boost reflect on how much additional fuel is needed/used? Yes. I just ask cause if Mike at Vengeance said air leak, could it be on the fuel rail? Smoke test said no. Sort of sounds like your engine is starving at idle
I had to show the guy how to use the machine. Bad part is there were two other guys standing there as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by garcmol View Post
Since Chris was here it gave me an idear.....

Why is your intake tube capped right before the throttle body and Chris' isn't? Where does Chris' tube run and what do you have there in it's place?



According to this schematic, that capped off piece on your intake should have a hose running to the rocker cover. Looks like Chris is running a hose from there. Just wondering why yours wouldn't have that.
I recently capped it. AFTER the F-Body Gathering. It's just a breather. Has no bearing.

I'm done for a while messing with it. I'm wore out with it. Spent 600.00 on a tune and got nothing. I've been to a number of shops and experts now and they seem to all be the same. I'm taking a break.

It's still fast.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 05:54 AM   #267
garcmol


 
garcmol's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 1LT SIM; 91 B4C sleeper Z
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft. Mitchell, Alabama
Posts: 7,382
Fast is good! You can check that block.
__________________
Pedders Pace Car Package, Injen CAI, Flowmaster AT, AAC Lighting, ZL1 fascia/skirts, RKSport Ram Air hood, vented fenders, painted stripes (Gary's Customz), Honor and Valor badged (Thank you, John)
garcmol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 07:37 AM   #268
anthonyj9h
"First There"
 
anthonyj9h's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ss
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in a hole somewhere
Posts: 6,933
so i was having nightmares about ur car last night and i got to thinking about your pcm and wanted to know if it is working as advertised now......sooooooooo can you unplug a coil and start your car and see if you get a mil, it should happen in like 10 secs....but dont worry it will clear once you plug it back in and start the car again
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jewel25 View Post
No one wants to be like aytard. He is a douche for eggs.



it is written......
anthonyj9h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:29 AM   #269
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,830
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonyj9h View Post
so i was having nightmares about ur car last night and i got to thinking about your pcm and wanted to know if it is working as advertised now......sooooooooo can you unplug a coil and start your car and see if you get a mil, it should happen in like 10 secs....but dont worry it will clear once you plug it back in and start the car again
You're thinking I'm supposed to be getting some type of CEL but I'm not? And you want to confirm that?

I do get codes reported. When I changed the plugs last week and one of the new ones was bad, it gave me a code. Cylinder misfire. Specific cylinder too. So it reports the misfires. At least the bad ones. But I'll do it this evening.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:31 AM   #270
anthonyj9h
"First There"
 
anthonyj9h's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ss
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in a hole somewhere
Posts: 6,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
You're thinking I'm supposed to be getting some type of CEL but I'm not? And you want to confirm that?

I do get codes reported. When I changed the plugs last week and one of the new ones was bad, it gave me a code. Cylinder misfire. Specific cylinder too. So it reports the misfires. At least the bad ones. But I'll do it this evening.
yes.....vac leaks dont go unnoticed by the computer even if its a pin prick like the one you found you should have got the egr code so it has me thinking....also unplug your egr and maf and see what happens this is very strange........really out of ideas till we log things
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jewel25 View Post
No one wants to be like aytard. He is a douche for eggs.



it is written......
anthonyj9h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:47 AM   #271
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,830
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonyj9h View Post
yes.....vac leaks dont go unnoticed by the computer even if its a pin prick like the one you found you should have got the egr code so it has me thinking....also unplug your egr and maf and see what happens this is very strange........really out of ideas till we log things
I unplugged the MAF and it idled the same. And reved the same except for sputtering if reved too fast. But I got no codes right away when I unplugged the MAF. But I only had it unplugged and running for about 5 minutes or so. But remember, I cut two of the wires to the MAF and spliced into the super charger. So The MAF in front isn't the whole story anymore. From what I understand, it behaved normaly. I did check, and recheck, and recheck the wiring. From what I've been told, if the wiring wasn't right, it wouldn't run at all.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:50 AM   #272
anthonyj9h
"First There"
 
anthonyj9h's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ss
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in a hole somewhere
Posts: 6,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I unplugged the MAF and it idled the same. And reved the same except for sputtering if reved too fast. But I got no codes right away when I unplugged the MAF. But I only had it unplugged and running for about 5 minutes or so. But remember, I cut two of the wires to the MAF and spliced into the super charger. So The MAF in front isn't the whole story anymore. From what I understand, it behaved normaly. I did check, and recheck, and recheck the wiring. From what I've been told, if the wiring wasn't right, it wouldn't run at all.
can you send the scematic of the wiring you did? i left my maf off as i was cleaning my filter and it only took me to turn the car on for it to give me a light to tell me something was wrong, plugged it back in ran it for bout 50 miles went away....so basically from the time you did the wiring is about the timeperiod you have had this prob?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jewel25 View Post
No one wants to be like aytard. He is a douche for eggs.



it is written......

Last edited by anthonyj9h; 06-07-2011 at 12:01 PM.
anthonyj9h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:51 AM   #273
anthonyj9h
"First There"
 
anthonyj9h's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ss
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in a hole somewhere
Posts: 6,933
the engine would still run if there was no maf, its just the computer couldnt adjust timing or fuel trims if it wasnt there.....and we already said that your fuel trims were off
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jewel25 View Post
No one wants to be like aytard. He is a douche for eggs.



it is written......
anthonyj9h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 12:06 PM   #274
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,830
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonyj9h View Post
....so basically from the time you did the wiring is about the timeperiod you have had this prob?
That's correct. Because the wiring was done on installation of the blower.

I'll go take some pics. Maybe a quick video to show the wiring.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 12:08 PM   #275
anthonyj9h
"First There"
 
anthonyj9h's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ss
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in a hole somewhere
Posts: 6,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
That's correct. Because the wiring was done on installation of the blower.

I'll go take some pics. Maybe a quick video to show the wiring.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jewel25 View Post
No one wants to be like aytard. He is a douche for eggs.



it is written......
anthonyj9h is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roto-Fab | Engine Covers - S/C | Fuse Relay Cover | Radiator Cover | Billet Oil Cap+ AutoAgenda Exterior Parts & Accessories 14 02-06-2013 08:43 PM
What do all the abbreviations mean? CrzyGamr2 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 77 12-07-2012 04:34 AM
g5cr cai system anybody install or looking at one "pics" camarossrs2150 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 41 07-14-2011 08:26 PM
Cold Air Intakes 2010 Camaro Blowout! K&N | AIRAID | SLP | Best Price Guaranteed! PM AutoAgenda V8 Bolt-Ons & Tunes 47 01-12-2011 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.