Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Nickey Chicago
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2011, 09:30 PM   #1
charged
 
Drives: 2011
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: mw
Posts: 37
Kenne Bell intake tube

Is there anyone out there that makes a smaller air intake tube for the kenne bell?
charged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 11:24 PM   #2
Rcfiddy1

 
Rcfiddy1's Avatar
 
Drives: Rally Yellow 2SS/RS #37115
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manalapan, New Jersey
Posts: 1,661
CAn I ask you why you want a smaller one? I just got my kit and I am curious.
__________________
Build Thread
ECS Paxton Novi 1500 Blower Black, Alky Control Meth Injection, LS3 conversion, ECS Blower cam, Trunion upgrade, Vigilante 2800 stall, BMR suspension parts, 3.45 rear, Stainless Works LT headers, BnB fusion ZL1 exhaust.
Rcfiddy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 12:04 PM   #3
charged
 
Drives: 2011
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: mw
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rcfiddy1 View Post
CAn I ask you why you want a smaller one? I just got my kit and I am curious.
My L99 had a trailer hitching problem at cruzing so i got a tune from ted.
He has fixed the trailer hitching problem and now i surges at low speed and idle is up and down.
He tells me it needs a 4 inch tube to cure it.
charged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 12:47 PM   #4
Matt@KB
 
Matt@KB's Avatar
 
Drives: 67 Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Posts: 83
If you want to keep the warranty I wouldn't change the inlet tube. Plus the tube is not the issue, its the tune.
Matt@KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 07:14 PM   #5
charged
 
Drives: 2011
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: mw
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt@KB View Post
If you want to keep the warranty I wouldn't change the inlet tube. Plus the tube is not the issue, its the tune.
Matt. I have your tune!
Do you have a different tune that won't trailer hitch at crusing speed?
charged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 10:00 AM   #6
Matt@KB
 
Matt@KB's Avatar
 
Drives: 67 Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Posts: 83
PM me your name so I can look up your profile. You said you had "ted" custom tune your car?
Matt@KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 12:44 PM   #7
VictorySS
Its my 4th Camaro
 
Drives: 2010 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 189
I would never use a mail order tune a SC car imo
__________________
1995 V6 First Car - Sold
2000 Z/28 11.12 @ 125mph Sold
2000 SS - Sold
2001 ZO6 - Sold
2010 Camaro SS
AEM Intake / 1" Drop / Forgeline / TSP Headers / AMT Catback / 20% Tint
VictorySS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 07:46 PM   #8
rjs
 
Drives: 2010 2ss/rs black M6 inferno orange
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lake Charles, LA
Posts: 65
no issues here with the intake tube.
rjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 09:18 AM   #9
Rcfiddy1

 
Rcfiddy1's Avatar
 
Drives: Rally Yellow 2SS/RS #37115
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manalapan, New Jersey
Posts: 1,661
What was outcome with this????? I am at my tuner now and we are running into a small issue at random moments which he believes to be coming from too big of a tube and MAF position.......:(
__________________
Build Thread
ECS Paxton Novi 1500 Blower Black, Alky Control Meth Injection, LS3 conversion, ECS Blower cam, Trunion upgrade, Vigilante 2800 stall, BMR suspension parts, 3.45 rear, Stainless Works LT headers, BnB fusion ZL1 exhaust.
Rcfiddy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 09:40 AM   #10
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 8,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rcfiddy1 View Post
What was outcome with this????? I am at my tuner now and we are running into a small issue at random moments which he believes to be coming from too big of a tube and MAF position.......:(
Here is My Take on the Intake tube, No Flaming Please.

Although it is GREAT for the BIG Peak HP number Driveability suffers due to lost resolution.

The Gen5 MAF has a Range of 16000 Hz, Even some of our KILLER builds only Reach 14500 Hz so we have Plenty of MAF in a 4 in pipe.

Stock Cars with no Supercharger will go to 9000 Hz

With the 4.5 inch KB pipe at 10 psi boost we Rarely see more than 9000 Hz

Going to a 4 inch intake tube restores resolution, and torque calculations done by the TCM, so this is especially important on the L99 Cars.

Also a Stock Car will Idle around 2500 Hz the KB with 4.5 in Pipe will Idle around 1500 Hz, so Again Lost Resolution.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 11:52 AM   #11
Rcfiddy1

 
Rcfiddy1's Avatar
 
Drives: Rally Yellow 2SS/RS #37115
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manalapan, New Jersey
Posts: 1,661
Thanx Ted. So in the end a 4in tube with a MAF sensor in the correct position should cure this for us L99 lower hp cars? This is what my tuner recommends.
__________________
Build Thread
ECS Paxton Novi 1500 Blower Black, Alky Control Meth Injection, LS3 conversion, ECS Blower cam, Trunion upgrade, Vigilante 2800 stall, BMR suspension parts, 3.45 rear, Stainless Works LT headers, BnB fusion ZL1 exhaust.
Rcfiddy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 11:56 AM   #12
charged
 
Drives: 2011
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: mw
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rcfiddy1 View Post
What was outcome with this????? I am at my tuner now and we are running into a small issue at random moments which he believes to be coming from too big of a tube and MAF position.......:(
I sent my tunner back to KB and i am still waiting for it to return.
Hopping to get a good tune from them or some kind of compensation in the meen time i bought anouther tunner from EFI live and hade john at APF tune my car he sent me a tune that is spot on!!
charged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 12:01 PM   #13
Rcfiddy1

 
Rcfiddy1's Avatar
 
Drives: Rally Yellow 2SS/RS #37115
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manalapan, New Jersey
Posts: 1,661
So you didn't go smaller intake? I ask because My tuner also uses EFI and said the car 95% perfect but gets that weird freq loss in the intake and suggests a smaller tube.
__________________
Build Thread
ECS Paxton Novi 1500 Blower Black, Alky Control Meth Injection, LS3 conversion, ECS Blower cam, Trunion upgrade, Vigilante 2800 stall, BMR suspension parts, 3.45 rear, Stainless Works LT headers, BnB fusion ZL1 exhaust.
Rcfiddy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 12:01 PM   #14
honeybucket99
 
Drives: 2SS/RS CGM CAMARO BEAST
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: carrollton, ga
Posts: 426
yeah, John knows his shit. Anyone around ATL should visit APF
__________________
2010 CGM 2SS/RS; 418 stroker; JE Forged Pistons (offset wrist pin); Forged Crank; upgraded valvetrain; Custom Comp Cams Cam; Kenne Bell 2.8; ID 1000s; Aeromotive Fuel pump with return; ARH Long Tubes; Spec heavy duty clutch; 3" Magnaflow Cat Back; Nick Williams 102 mm Throttle Body; Tune fixed by Dave Steck; 815 HP and 14 mpg


Upcoming--
Disintegrated drivetrain;
Divorce if/when my wife catches on to
my addiction
honeybucket99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 12:04 PM   #15
charged
 
Drives: 2011
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: mw
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rcfiddy1 View Post
So you didn't go smaller intake? I ask because My tuner also uses EFI and said the car 95% perfect but gets that weird freq loss in the intake and suggests a smaller tube.

I still have the 4.5 tube and john was more than happy to help me out.
charged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 03:33 PM   #16
Matt@KB
 
Matt@KB's Avatar
 
Drives: 67 Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Posts: 83
No need to change the tube to get the tune right. There plenty of guys running out there with the 4.5" tube and no issues. Its all in the tune. John definitely knows his stuff to get it done with the 4.5" tube.
Matt@KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 04:24 PM   #17
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 8,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt@KB View Post
No need to change the tube to get the tune right. There plenty of guys running out there with the 4.5" tube and no issues. Its all in the tune. John definitely knows his stuff to get it done with the 4.5" tube.
I never said it could not be done as I have several that still have the 4.5 Tube and run Quite well.

I Said you Lose resolution, that is a FACT.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:35 PM   #18
HRC
 
Drives: 2010 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tiffin, Iowa
Posts: 59
Ted, good to see a fellow Ty'er on another forum! I think we've spoke on the phone before over a few different things.. anyway..

Has anyone approached KB regarding the tube size? I totally agree with you, and was even considering putting a "bottleneck" inside the 4.5 and see if it helps. Mine has always been spongy around idle. Not to contradict myself either because I'm learning the tuning as fast as I can, but wouldn't teh VE tables and/or the MAP tables, and the combination of the 3 correct for the lower resolution within the MAF?
Granted, I do think the look of the huge polished tube is pretty tough, but looks doesn't mean squat if you cant drive it.
I have many of the "make your own CAI" components in my store and what got me thinking of the bottleneck idea was that one of the MAF tube pieces has a selection of different diameter cones to intall to help correct MAF calibration and selection. Why not put a small 6-8" long )( within the tube to increase the air velocity at the sensor? I know intake plenum volume is somewhat critical, but I can also see where a 3" tube may be too restrictive on a blower car, let alone with a big cam?
HRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 10:17 AM   #19
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 8,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by HRC View Post
Ted, good to see a fellow Ty'er on another forum! I think we've spoke on the phone before over a few different things.. anyway..

Has anyone approached KB regarding the tube size? I totally agree with you, and was even considering putting a "bottleneck" inside the 4.5 and see if it helps. Mine has always been spongy around idle. Not to contradict myself either because I'm learning the tuning as fast as I can, but wouldn't teh VE tables and/or the MAP tables, and the combination of the 3 correct for the lower resolution within the MAF?
Granted, I do think the look of the huge polished tube is pretty tough, but looks doesn't mean squat if you cant drive it.
I have many of the "make your own CAI" components in my store and what got me thinking of the bottleneck idea was that one of the MAF tube pieces has a selection of different diameter cones to intall to help correct MAF calibration and selection. Why not put a small 6-8" long )( within the tube to increase the air velocity at the sensor? I know intake plenum volume is somewhat critical, but I can also see where a 3" tube may be too restrictive on a blower car, let alone with a big cam?
LOL, yeah you caught me Doing What I love to do, MAKE HP!

I have, but they don't feel my Opinion is Valid.

Same with the IAT issues.

It is best to keep the pipe size consistent and smooth to avoid Turbulence, 4 inch is the Correct Size.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 03:58 PM   #20
Rcfiddy1

 
Rcfiddy1's Avatar
 
Drives: Rally Yellow 2SS/RS #37115
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manalapan, New Jersey
Posts: 1,661
My car is sitting at ECS getting that exact tube done. THey told me the same thing last week and when I contacted KB I was told they were not aware of this issue and referred me to the KB tuner. I just received email saying that the honeycomb stream straightener would resolve this. ???? What honeycomb straightener, not in my kit???? So I will let ecs do their magic and be done with this.
__________________
Build Thread
ECS Paxton Novi 1500 Blower Black, Alky Control Meth Injection, LS3 conversion, ECS Blower cam, Trunion upgrade, Vigilante 2800 stall, BMR suspension parts, 3.45 rear, Stainless Works LT headers, BnB fusion ZL1 exhaust.
Rcfiddy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 12:00 PM   #21
Matt@KB
 
Matt@KB's Avatar
 
Drives: 67 Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Posts: 83
Never said anything like that Ted we have shown nothing but appreciation for your input and information. We have to ask ourselves why only a small amount of shops can't seem to tune the tube while some can? You implied that it cant be done with the current tube but it can. 4" is not the correct size for our kit. NO NEED TO CHANGE THE TUBE just find a good tuner who can tune for the way the kit comes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING View Post
LOL, yeah you caught me Doing What I love to do, MAKE HP!

I have, but they don't feel my Opinion is Valid.

Same with the IAT issues.

It is best to keep the pipe size consistent and smooth to avoid Turbulence, 4 inch is the Correct Size.

Ted.
Matt@KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 12:21 PM   #22
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 8,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt@KB View Post
Never said anything like that Ted we have shown nothing but appreciation for your input and information. We have to ask ourselves why only a small amount of shops can't seem to tune the tube while some can? You implied that it cant be done with the current tube but it can. 4" is not the correct size for our kit. NO NEED TO CHANGE THE TUBE just find a good tuner who can tune for the way the kit comes.
When I called about the intake tube I was shut down immediately, again I only Deal in FACTS.

I can tune with the 4.5 inch tube, and Have several times, AGAIN I didn't say I couldn't tune with it.

I find we make exactly the same power and have better resolution with the 4 inch tube.

Also the L99 Cars Trans Computer can not properly calculate engine Torque with the 4.5 inch Tube.

Most all of these cars run a STOCK or Ported STOCK TB so why do we need a 4.5 inch tube?

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 12:47 PM   #23
Oxtar41

 
Oxtar41's Avatar
 
Drives: 700 rwhp 2010 SS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Garage..
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt@KB View Post
Never said anything like that Ted we have shown nothing but appreciation for your input and information. We have to ask ourselves why only a small amount of shops can't seem to tune the tube while some can? You implied that it cant be done with the current tube but it can. 4" is not the correct size for our kit. NO NEED TO CHANGE THE TUBE just find a good tuner who can tune for the way the kit comes.

If ted cant tune it, I dont think jesus would be able to tune it lol
__________________
Oxtar41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 12:49 PM   #24
Matt@KB
 
Matt@KB's Avatar
 
Drives: 67 Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Posts: 83
If you can tune it then why have people change it? No need to change it then if it can be done. You contradict yourself by saying you can do it but all this time you been saying it has to be changed to a 4". Why do you want to sell customers smaller tubes if you can tune the 4.5"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING View Post
When I called about the intake tube I was shut down immediately, again I only Deal in FACTS.

I can tune with the 4.5 inch tube, and Have several times, AGAIN I didn't say I couldn't tune with it.

I find we make exactly the same power and have better resolution with the 4 inch tube.

Also the L99 Cars Trans Computer can not properly calculate engine Torque with the 4.5 inch Tube.

Most all of these cars run a STOCK or Ported STOCK TB so why do we need a 4.5 inch tube?

Ted.
Matt@KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 12:59 PM   #25
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 8,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt@KB View Post
If you can tune it then why have people change it? No need to change it then if it can be done. You contradict yourself by saying you can do it but all this time you been saying it has to be changed to a 4". Why do you want to sell customers smaller tubes if you can tune the 4.5"?
I guess your skimming over the Stuff I write too fast, and assuming I said something I didn't.

It is all about Resolution and TCM Torque calculations.

Why reduce your Resolution when there is SO much Range in the Stock MAF.

I can understand if this is a carry over from the Ford Kits Where Maxing the MAF is So common, this would require a bigger tube or a MAFIA to scale the MAF back to increase the range.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot air Intakes -By Kenne bell ADM PERFORMANCE Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 66 02-08-2011 08:33 PM
10.54@134 Kenne Bell SC'd Adam@ST USA - California 15 08-01-2010 03:14 PM
L99 Kenne Bell 2.8L Installed + Pics SonnyakaPig Forced Induction - V8 38 05-17-2010 03:20 PM
Kenne Bell Supercharger Release Special (FREE INSTALL) Total_Perf_Eng Forced Induction 33 04-16-2010 11:00 AM
List of Intakes that will work with the TVS-2300 MagnaCharger JJ2010 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 26 03-19-2010 02:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.