Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Classic Design Concepts
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2012, 07:57 PM   #26
UMjman
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS V6 Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to UMjman
And how do I know which wire that one is.
UMjman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 09:14 PM   #27
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 847
Fantastik!

I was thinking about doing this recently.
I'll be doing this and the Dash ABL mod this weekend.
I like this giant Tinker Toy!

A couple of questions after looking into doing this mod:

How is the power block in Pic 4 removed? Is it prised out with a screwdriver? Is it the black one or the grey one? - it's a little hard
to tell the color in the photo.


Thanks Aus10!

Last edited by Ricamaro; 02-09-2012 at 03:20 PM.
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 09:19 AM   #28
Neuf Cruz
 
Neuf Cruz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 LS Black on Black 6speed
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Beach
Posts: 738
Any answer for a content 12v source. Location, color etc....
I'm using the grey for thswitched/dome light source so would like to keep it near this if possible.

Thanks in advance!

Neuf cruz
Neuf Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:06 PM   #29
Strider044
 
Strider044's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 White Camaro LS 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: orlando
Posts: 187
If you use the gray wire... what if you just want the footwell lights on and the dome off?
__________________
2012 1LS -Summit White -M6 -Black out kit, ported TB, SS 20" wheels - MRT 2.0 exhaust - Hurst Shifter - K&n CAI - Hurst Equipped badging - Dynomat installed - footwell lighting - eagle eye headlights - 2lt/2ss gauge pack - custom iPad mount - dealer installed pdim - hood spears - trunk back out

Strider044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 07:00 PM   #30
bigwayne3000

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,447
There are dozens of wires under there where the grey connector is. I'm sure you can go thru this forum here and figure out which is a 12v source and just t tap that when you t tap the grey wire than you'd need to run another t tap to the power wire from the light or you may be able to just double up on the wires there. Not sure, I'm not an electrician nor do I know much about wiring. Just figured youd be able to t tap the 12v too.
bigwayne3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 06:31 PM   #31
baup5f
 
baup5f's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 332
Referring this thread to a member, so it gets a nice bump
__________________
2010 CGM 2SS/RS
baup5f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 04:49 AM   #32
redleader
redleader
 
redleader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 3.6L Auto 1LT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,692
Send a message via MSN to redleader
What rating of Fuse are you using for your Fuse Tap? 20 amp? 5 amp?

What LED strips did you buy?
How many LEDS on each ?

Thank you,
redleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 03:50 PM   #33
Jalberdi99

 
Jalberdi99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2LT/RS AGM
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: @ ur moms house in VA
Posts: 1,107
theres only one grey wire under the stirring wheel? i dont want to tap on the wrong wire and cause some trouble.
__________________
Jalberdi99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 10:23 AM   #34
Culb
 
Drives: 2012 2LS
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Memphis
Posts: 61



It's the grey wire coming out of the grey box, which is next to the pink box (sorry, not technical so I don't know what the "box" is called). I installed the footwells last night and it went without a hitch. I do want to do the switch idea soon though. Seems better so that you can have the footwells on without the domes, or vice versa.
Culb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 05:54 PM   #35
Jalberdi99

 
Jalberdi99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2LT/RS AGM
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: @ ur moms house in VA
Posts: 1,107
will this switch work for what you did? is a on/off switch, if off, it should work with the dome light right?(once i tap into the dome wire) and when on, it works with the 12v connection right? im not sure if the pic will show up, if it doesn't t i will try again
__________________
Jalberdi99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 05:59 PM   #36
Jalberdi99

 
Jalberdi99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2LT/RS AGM
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: @ ur moms house in VA
Posts: 1,107
here
Attached Images
 
__________________
Jalberdi99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 11:23 PM   #37
Asian Zero
 
Asian Zero's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM Camaro 1LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Posts: 419
i dont think you can use that switch.... it only has 2 positions not 3. the one you posted is on-off. the one OP is using is on-off-on. if youre wondering why it has 3 terminals on the bottom its because you need a ground on the LED in the switch.
Asian Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:04 AM   #38
kbeery
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jacksonville fl
Posts: 142
Awesome post. Plan on doing this in a couple weeks
kbeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 12:07 PM   #39
Strider044
 
Strider044's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 White Camaro LS 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: orlando
Posts: 187
I use an on off on. I have mine powered off the dome light and turn on when the car is running. It's simple If I could do it.
Strider044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 03:21 PM   #40
Asian Zero
 
Asian Zero's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM Camaro 1LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Posts: 419
just finished mine up this weekend. I love how it works. with it set to the dome light it comes on like OEM but then you have the option to turn it on whenever. good write up OP
Asian Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:44 PM   #41
BigBlock69RS
Ed
 
BigBlock69RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 AGM Camaro 2SS/RS/1LE
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 686
Just completed mine, minus the 3 position switch. Thanks for the DIY install, made it very easy especially identifying the ground.
__________________
BigBlock69RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:52 AM   #42
colingordon
Her Name is Mila
 
colingordon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 1LT A6
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hockessin, Delaware
Posts: 1,198
Where did you buy your LEDs?

Thank you

Colin Gordon
__________________
colingordon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 02:21 AM   #43
zer0ss
 
zer0ss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro V6 LFX
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2011*Camaro*SS View Post
Attachment 467699
Someone tell me if I have this right.

What I want to do is have the (ON/ON) switch so that if I need light I can flip it to on and when I'm done flip it back to the off (ON) position and the lights will work with my dome lights and other footwell lights.
This is the same configuration as described in the DIY - just without using a center position. You could use a SPCO - but a SPDT is perfect for this application.

I am installing these new footwell lights in my back seat and some times I need only the back lights not the front ones. So I want to be able to turn on only the back lights and when I get out all the lights in the car come on.
The problem with what you want to do is this:



Wired like this:
1 LED Front
2 DOME Power
3 LED Back
4 LED Back
5 12V Source
6 LED Front

You would have a DPDT On-On Switch (with off or you'd never have a circuit that won't kill your battery). The problem lies in it you will not have a setting for both on constant 12V power or both on dome lighting at the same time.

The closest you could do with this set up would be:
1) Front and Back LED
2) Dome Power
3) Nothing
4) Back LED
5) 12V Source
6) Front and Back LED

In the top Toggle Position you'd have 12V power to all footwells. Center position is all off, Bottom Position would be LED Dome powered with 12V applied to rear, but to accomplish this youd have to diode and have to have protection circuits (in case you turned dome on with 12V currently supplied).

The easiest way to accomplish what you want is to wire the front and rear leds in parallel (using two switches instead of one) exactly as described in this thread. You can wire to a separate 12V source to keep the load down, but I don't know of another circuit with the dimming "theater" function as the dome light.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Darkheart Build thread
Mods: CAI Intake w/ Scoop and Rotofab WW Relocation, MRT v2.0 Exhaust, RX Catchcan and Ported TB
Appearance: AAC Ghosted Side markers, Plasti-Dipped Bezels and 'Beauty Rings', Fully Debadged, Tinted Tail Lights and Reverse Lights
Sound: Two 12" Kicker Comp Subs in Subthump Enclosure

Last edited by zer0ss; 01-30-2013 at 04:23 AM. Reason: additional info
zer0ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:23 PM   #44
2011*Camaro*SS
 
2011*Camaro*SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS Vert
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lubbock Texas
Posts: 422
Okay, I read through the thread...I'm still confused as to where the 12V power is coming from on the 11's. We have a fuse where the OP tapped in. Could someone who knows what every wire in the car goes to, help? If i was to tap into the TC button power will it only work when the TC button is backlit?
__________________
2011*Camaro*SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:53 PM   #45
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2011*Camaro*SS View Post
Okay, I read through the thread...I'm still confused as to where the 12V power is coming from on the 11's. We have a fuse where the OP tapped in. Could someone who knows what every wire in the car goes to, help? If i was to tap into the TC button power will it only work when the TC button is backlit?
Tap into the cigarette outlet (IE the 12V) it has power whenever the key is in the ignition.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 03:39 PM   #46
Flaco2806
 
Flaco2806's Avatar
 
Drives: White camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mcallen,Texas
Posts: 18
What about this switch, will this works
Attached Images
 
Flaco2806 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 04:40 PM   #47
Asian Zero
 
Asian Zero's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM Camaro 1LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Posts: 419
thats just an on-off switch. it has 3 poles bc that switch has an LED in it. if you want it to function with the dome and have control even when the dome is off you need to buy a different switch.
__________________
Asian Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 10:51 AM   #48
jokerkojack
 
jokerkojack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Lenox, IL
Posts: 288
Hey gang.. What size t-tap do I need to buy to tap into the gray wire. Looks like I need to buy one on amazon because no one carrys them around my home.
jokerkojack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 08:12 AM   #49
Iced Bullet
Iced Bullet
 
Iced Bullet's Avatar
 
Drives: LT1 RS SILVER ICE 2011
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: CLEMMONS NC
Posts: 13
Great video. I can;t wait for the rain to stop so I can Install my blue foot well lights. You took a lot of time to do this for us and has inspired me to do a vid on my next mod, what ever it will be. I just got my camaro in Jan 2013 and I am electrified with excitment.
Iced Bullet
Iced Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 06:00 PM   #50
Randyscamaro2010
 
Drives: Cammed
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandier View Post
Did my lighting... Looks sweet! At first I was all over installing the switch, then said screw it. I went easy; tapped straight into grey with no switch, grounded 'em and we're good to go. I started thinking why would I want to turn the footwell lighting on or off??? If it's tapped into the dome light it all controlled there. I'm totally happy with the set up. To all those who contributed and answered my questions... Thank you!

For the video:


(not sure how to load videos here yet)... well, look at that. It worked!
Exactly just use the wire for the dome light/dash lights you don't even have to splice the wire. You can just connect the end of the wire to the fuse that controls the abl/radio lights/ and dash lights. And the footwell light will come on when it is dark outside and will dim when you choose to
Randyscamaro2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Noweeds exhaust diverter installation CanadianCamaro Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 22 07-22-2014 11:42 PM
Push Start button? CG'sSS Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 158 06-06-2012 07:27 PM
Anyone have the Footwell Lighting Kit Installed? wildthing001967 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 12 07-03-2011 05:00 PM
footwell neon lighting. How to wire to have it come on the other ambient lighting? Jakefeb3 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 6 11-22-2009 09:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.