Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Hurst Shifters
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2013, 11:24 PM   #51
IOM Black Diamond
HT5 COTW 1/21/13
 
IOM Black Diamond's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Inferno 2SS RS 6M
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pleasant Hill, Or
Posts: 2,491
__________________
IOM Black Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 03:34 PM   #52
TwentyTen2SSRS

 
TwentyTen2SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,107
I really feel like this should be simple... LOL.

But I am terrible at wiring (although hooked up fog lights) and this seems pretty straight forward but couple questions.

1. How did you secure the LED's? Just have tape on back side of the strip I take it?

2. Can you use the ones found on eBay? Or any recommendations?

3. I have 2013 and don't have that extra fuse spot either, but would like to hook up a switch if possible. I think it'd be cool to have them on while driving sometimes, or at least the ability to, not just when doors open.

4. Anyone have a basic diagram? I am planning on tapping into grey wire as mentioned
TwentyTen2SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 05:34 PM   #53
rachelmoreaux
RachelM1295
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Hey I have a few questions; well more than a few lol. I love everything you did and I follow everything that you explained really well, but I have questions about some of the minor details that weren't covered. I want to make sure I have a total grasp on it before I start this project. I'm planning to do the same and I'm trying to figure out what all I need to buy. My Oracle 12V Flex Strips came in yesterday. I have a 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS. What gauge is the red wire you are using? 12, 14, 16, 18, or 22? I see that at some spots you use the blue connectors and at others the red. What type of connector or terminal are you using to connect to the ground; spade or ring? Did you have to crimp all of those parts? What crimper do you have? What did you use to cut the hole needed for the switch and what size is the hole supposed to be? Told you I had a lot of questions. Thanks for your time and thanks for your post! )
rachelmoreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 05:52 PM   #54
TwentyTen2SSRS

 
TwentyTen2SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachelmoreaux View Post
Hey I have a few questions; well more than a few lol. I love everything you did and I follow everything that you explained really well, but I have questions about some of the minor details that weren't covered. I want to make sure I have a total grasp on it before I start this project. I'm planning to do the same and I'm trying to figure out what all I need to buy. My Oracle 12V Flex Strips came in yesterday. I have a 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS. What gauge is the red wire you are using? 12, 14, 16, 18, or 22? I see that at some spots you use the blue connectors and at others the red. What type of connector or terminal are you using to connect to the ground; spade or ring? Did you have to crimp all of those parts? What crimper do you have? What did you use to cut the hole needed for the switch and what size is the hole supposed to be? Told you I had a lot of questions. Thanks for your time and thanks for your post! )
I basically have these same questions. You aren't alone. I ordered oracle lighting in the two blue strips.. they are in the mail, and so far that is all I have.

Do most of the necessary parts come in that?
TwentyTen2SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 06:07 PM   #55
rachelmoreaux
RachelM1295
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013BlackLS View Post
I basically have these same questions. You aren't alone. I ordered oracle lighting in the two blue strips.. they are in the mail, and so far that is all I have.

Do most of the necessary parts come in that?
No it just comes with the two LED strips. They both have the positive and negative wires attached but thats it. Basically you have to by everything else.
rachelmoreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 06:24 PM   #56
TwentyTen2SSRS

 
TwentyTen2SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachelmoreaux View Post
No it just comes with the two LED strips. They both have the positive and negative wires attached but thats it. Basically you have to by everything else.
Maybe we can figure this out together!
TwentyTen2SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 06:43 PM   #57
rachelmoreaux
RachelM1295
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013BlackLS View Post
Maybe we can figure this out together!
Yea i hope so! I'm about to head to RadioShack in a minute and see if I can find everything. Hey do you know what kind of shops do this sort of thing? or how much it might cost because it may be around the same price after having to buy all of this stuff.
rachelmoreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 06:46 PM   #58
rachelmoreaux
RachelM1295
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013BlackLS View Post
Maybe we can figure this out together!
here's a couple threads that I found to be helpful.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1224402

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=122772
rachelmoreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 02:35 PM   #59
TwentyTen2SSRS

 
TwentyTen2SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachelmoreaux View Post
Did you figure out what parts to buy?

I have no idea still lol.. those posts did help though.
TwentyTen2SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 12:24 AM   #60
yzark99
 
yzark99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Silver Ice 1LT
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Yunkjun Zity, UrEgun
Posts: 330
Did you figure out what parts you needed, or do you still need help? I just built mine from scratch using 16 single LEDs. I am going to install it this weekend if it stops pouring rain.

Here's the switch I used: http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=060-780

It requires a 20mm hole, and you can find 20mm drills on amazon.com for under $5 shipped.

If you prefer a different switch, here's one: http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=060-335

If you can find a shop to do this for you, I would be surprised if they charged less than $100. My parts cost about $8. Wiring and installation is easy, once you understand the basic layout.

If you need a wiring diagram, just ask.
__________________
yzark99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 01:09 PM   #61
yzark99
 
yzark99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Silver Ice 1LT
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Yunkjun Zity, UrEgun
Posts: 330
Installed!
Attached Images
    
__________________
yzark99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 09:16 AM   #62
Jrbee187
 
Jrbee187's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 LT
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 2
A little help with combining lighting

I want to combined a grill lighting kit with my footwell lighting. Would it be possible to combine the grill wiring with the footwell's to the three position switch so they work in conjunction with my interior?
Jrbee187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 01:29 PM   #63
Ivan @ Southwest Speed
Southwestspeed.net

 
Ivan @ Southwest Speed's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS, '96 Z28
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Posts: 11,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrbee187 View Post
I want to combined a grill lighting kit with my footwell lighting. Would it be possible to combine the grill wiring with the footwell's to the three position switch so they work in conjunction with my interior?
Yessir. As long as you don't overload the switch with Amperage, you're fine.

Footwells and Grill lights on one switch works beautifully.

Good luck and touch bases with us if anybody needs help!
Ivan @ Southwest Speed
Ivan @ Southwest Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 01:44 PM   #64
Jrbee187
 
Jrbee187's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 LT
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 2
All my lighting will be from aac but I'm unsure what the combined draw would be. What amp switch would you recommend?
__________________
2010 V6 LT/ JBA shorty headers/ Magnaflow exhaust kit
/ K&N typhoon intake/ ECU Mod/ Airraid throttle body spacer/ Concept side markers(body painted)/ AAC abl aqua interior kit/ Heritage grill/ AAC red led grill lighting.
Jrbee187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:02 AM   #65
TVTI
 
TVTI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 216
Got mine installed this evening. I didn't tap into the dome wire yet, but the switch is installed to accommodate that when I get some more time to get under the dash. I also need to add a controller so I can get more color options.
__________________
2012 Summit White 1SS; Borla headers/exhaust, K&N CAI, SCT Tuner
2005 Chevy 2500 HD, 4x4; 6" Pro Comp lift, Edge Juice with Attitude, K&N CAI, Banks dual exhaust, Viper 570
TVTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 12:10 AM   #66
that_silver_bullet
 
that_silver_bullet's Avatar
 
Drives: silver with black and red stripes
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: lutz
Posts: 1
so i just want to know which wire is the power wire that goes to the ycs button so i can hook up some leds to that so they just come on with the button light
that_silver_bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 02:07 AM   #67
SilverBullet_
 
Drives: Silver LT1
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by that_silver_bullet View Post
so i just want to know which wire is the power wire that goes to the ycs button so i can hook up some leds to that so they just come on with the button light
It's the yellow(+) and the black(-) connected to the tcs button, so that the LEDs will turn on when the abl is on.
SilverBullet_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 02:59 AM   #68
SilverBullet_
 
Drives: Silver LT1
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2
Installed mine yesterday!
Attached Images
 
SilverBullet_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 02:58 PM   #69
SnowyCamaro
 
SnowyCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT / RS
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 259
I recently did this mod myself. (On my 2010 v6) I had a spare circuit as described but for my friend (2011 2ss v8) he didn't have a spare circuit. So went out and got a fuse add in circuit. Really simple to use. What it does is plug into where normally a fuse would go and add an extra circuit while maintaining the original circuit as well. So this way you can add a circuit and not have to cut a wire. (THIS IS ONLY FOR GETTING YOUR CONSTANT POWER OR SWITCHED POWER, IF YOU WANT THE FOOTWELL LIGHTS TO DIM WITH DOME LIGHT OR HAVE THE SAME SETUP AS DESCRIBED ABOVE YOU STILL NEED TO TAP INTO THE GREY WIRE ABOVE THE GAS PEDAL )

Here's what you can use to add a circuit I you don't have one. Either get this one and a 2.5A fuse (make sure you get the mini, ATM style) or Go to your local electronics place / supplier and ask for one of these and a low amperage fuse like 2.5A or something for LEDs since they draw very little current.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000GKEXK2

Pull out the fuse where the circuit is that you want to tap into in the driver side fuse box and place the fuse you pulled out in the new fuse circuit tap and the other low amperage fuse too. Just don't mix up the placement of your fuses. I tapped into the guage cluster circuit in there I beleive (it's labelled on the back of the fuse box cover/panel), it was constant power. I'm sure if you play around one of those circuits is keyed too, if people want that.

This is what I did in my friends 2ss and worked perfectly. But I am not responsible if you screw up somehow. Even though this would be the easiest way to add a circuit without tapping wires.
__________________
SnowyCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 01:33 PM   #70
greatmike
 
Drives: 2010 silver 2SS/RS Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hanover New Jersey
Posts: 230
Installed mine yesterday. thanks for the detail post it help alot...
greatmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 01:46 AM   #71
camarohouston
 
camarohouston's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2ltRS dualmode CAI
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: houston
Posts: 20
I had mine done by Oracle lighting here in Houston. Replaced dome light with red LED to match footwells and color shift halos, and underhood lights. Unfortunately they don't have any color shift halo kits for the 2014. The halo is thicker and not as round as older models.
camarohouston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 11:33 PM   #72
terry_b
 
terry_b's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Synergy Special Edition
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 640
Send a message via MSN to terry_b
Can someone tell me if this switch would work? The diagrams are just confusing me...

http://www.amazon.com/SMAKN-Stainles...ch+illuminated
__________________
terry_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 07:55 AM   #73
paulwright11
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Jeffersonville. ind
Posts: 8
Do the trim panels just pop off???? I am nervous to pull on them. I am talking about the drivers side.....sitting in the seat and the trim panel that hits your right leg. I want to mount the switch there and tap into the cig lighter circuit
paulwright11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 07:02 PM   #74
GearLube
 
GearLube's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RS/SS Inferno Orange Convertib
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Farmington, MN
Posts: 98
This DIY was super easy and smart! I like the flexibility of being able to power on, off, or on the doors
GearLube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 05:10 PM   #75
AUS10BMX

 
AUS10BMX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RY, 2014 Silverado
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by GearLube View Post
This DIY was super easy and smart! I like the flexibility of being able to power on, off, or on the doors
Glad everyone is still being able to get some help from this thread!
__________________

Hypertech | Airaid | JBA Exhaust | RX Catch Can/CNC TB/Black Ice-Olator | Ported Intake/Heads | 1LE Brembos | F14's | RS Headlights | ZL1 Grille
AUS10BMX is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Noweeds exhaust diverter installation CanadianCamaro Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 22 07-22-2014 11:42 PM
Push Start button? CG'sSS Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 158 06-06-2012 07:27 PM
Anyone have the Footwell Lighting Kit Installed? wildthing001967 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 12 07-03-2011 05:00 PM
footwell neon lighting. How to wire to have it come on the other ambient lighting? Jakefeb3 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 6 11-22-2009 09:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.