Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Hines Performance (HPE)
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)

V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) Driveshafts | Differentials | Gears | Rearends | Clutch | Shifters

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2011, 07:22 PM   #1
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
Unhappy HELP!!! P0700 code, tranny seems sluggish

Headed home from the store this evening.....

I merge on the interstate when I notice the CEL is on and the S (sport mode) symbol is blinking at me. Seems real sluggish in accelerating (I'm going around 70)...

I stop at the stop sign on the exit ramp...go to turn and it seems like the L99 is stuck in second b/c I really have to get on it to move....

I get home and the only code it is throwing is P0700 transmission control system malfunction....any ideas?

Thanks!

__________________

Last edited by KnightRiderSS; 07-23-2011 at 11:29 PM.
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 08:12 PM   #2
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
Unhappy

BTW...

I have long tube headers, catback, CAI, catch can but no tune....

:(
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 08:47 PM   #3
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
OK....I let it cool off...went out to start it and to recheck the codes...it is now also throwing the following codes:

p0716 input/turbine speed sensor circuit range/performance
p0717 input/turbine speed circuit no signal

I cleared the CEL and took her out for a spin for about 15 mins...she now has all the gears again and accelerates fine...does seem to shift a little hard still when I got on it but didn't throw anymore codes...

wondering whats going on.....
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:38 PM   #4
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
BUMP
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 02:50 AM   #5
carbon8
 
carbon8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS,2008 Hayabusa
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Yukon,Oklahoma
Posts: 622
sounds like the input speed sensor glitched. if it does it aian then i would worry. what where you doing when it happened. And the reason it was slugish is it went into safe mode.
carbon8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 09:46 AM   #6
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbon8 View Post
sounds like the input speed sensor glitched. if it does it aian then i would worry. what where you doing when it happened. And the reason it was slugish is it went into safe mode.

It happened right after I merged onto the interstate....I got on it kinda hard while I was merging but nothing really more than normal

The DLC didn't flash anything about safe mode that's why I was confused....I guess there is a separate safe mode for the transmission that still allows to travel at higher speeds? When I slowed down it seemed like it was stuck in a higher gear....

I'm going on a long distance trip with it in a couple of months...I guess if it happens again I will take it in....seems just kind of off to me though.....
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 09:59 AM   #7
RocketCutlass
Property USMC
 
RocketCutlass's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 Caprice 9C1
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 475
I'm very familiar with 0700 series codes, on 4L60E's. What it sounds like is your TCC (torque converter clutch) may have burnt up which the debri from the clutch heating up and slipping clogs up the trans and causes poor fluid circulation which feels like a loss of power or rather the trans slipping. Probably going to need a flush and a new converter. I may be completely of base since its a different trans, but its a start. Crack open the tranny filter and see if its filled with clutch material, you'll know it when you see it.
RocketCutlass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 12:15 PM   #8
carbon8
 
carbon8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS,2008 Hayabusa
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Yukon,Oklahoma
Posts: 622
Dont crack anything open its still under warranty. If you think that is what it is then take it in.
carbon8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 12:28 PM   #9
Toyaholic
It's a sickness!
 
Toyaholic's Avatar
 
Drives: '69 442 Vert / '02 M3 Vert
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Marietta
Posts: 1,312
Choose your dealer carefully with those mods.
__________________
Toyaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 12:46 PM   #10
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
Car is shifting through all the gears now and accelerates fine....I think the tranny was just in safe mode.... but the question is why?

Anyone know any central IL dealers that wouldn't give me a hard time with my mods?


Thanks!
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 03:48 PM   #11
RocketCutlass
Property USMC
 
RocketCutlass's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 Caprice 9C1
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 475
Reseting the codes combined with the fluid draining back into the pan which may unclog it a little, will put it back to normal for a bit, but as soon as it gets clogged again it will slip back into limp mode. Could also be a bad solenoid but thats kind of rare.
RocketCutlass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 08:07 PM   #12
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
Dropped her off this evening at the dealer...we will see what they find when they get a chance to look at it
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 09:17 PM   #13
carbon8
 
carbon8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS,2008 Hayabusa
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Yukon,Oklahoma
Posts: 622
I hope it's nothing. Good luck.


Daniel
carbon8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 06:28 PM   #14
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
well, picked her up today...dealer couldn't find anything wrong...since I cleared the codes they weren't able to see the codes it had when there was a problem...

Talked to the service manager about it...he looked up what codes I had and basically said it is one of three things
1)a fluke
2) solenoid going bad
3) something electrical causing the problem

I decided to take it back and if it happens again I a going to take it straight there....

and if anyone is in central IL, has similar mods, and has a problem, the service manager Kevin at Sullivan-Parkhill chevy in Champaign told me as long as my mods weren't the cause of the problem, he wasn't going to leave me high and dry (and he said that the tranny problem he considered unrelated)
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 06:36 PM   #15
carbon8
 
carbon8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS,2008 Hayabusa
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Yukon,Oklahoma
Posts: 622
sweet, ever since i installed my twins I get little glitches once in a while too.
carbon8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 10:08 AM   #16
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,507
Sorry to hear about the issues you're having KnightRiderSS. Hopefully those codes don't pop up again for you and you are able to enjoy your vehicle from here on out. Glad to see your dealer was willing to work with you with your modifications as well.

Jeff Morris, Chevrolet Customer Service
Chevrolet Customer Svc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 04:28 PM   #17
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevrolet Customer Svc View Post
Sorry to hear about the issues you're having KnightRiderSS. Hopefully those codes don't pop up again for you and you are able to enjoy your vehicle from here on out. Glad to see your dealer was willing to work with you with your modifications as well.

Jeff Morris, Chevrolet Customer Service

Thanks for chiming in Jeff! I really hope it was just a fluke!
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 05:25 PM   #18
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
Jeez...happened again...

Must not be a fluke....back to the dealer I go...same symptoms...this time I won't clear the codes and will let them look at it

The tranny reset after I shut the car off but seemed to want to "jump" through the gears instead of sliding into them...
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 05:49 PM   #19
carbon8
 
carbon8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS,2008 Hayabusa
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Yukon,Oklahoma
Posts: 622
Well hope they get it fixed.


---
- Daniel
carbon8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 11:12 PM   #20
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbon8 View Post
Well hope they get it fixed.


---
- Daniel

well, they ordered a new speed sensor...we will see how it goes...
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 04:38 PM   #21
J.L.TYCHE
Tampa Gulf Coast Family
 
J.L.TYCHE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Corvette
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: TAMPA FLA.
Posts: 302
DTC P0700
<A href="http://gsi.xw.gm.com/si/cellHandler.do?cellId=144619&refDoc=2415226&from=s m#ss1-2220046">Diagnostic Instructions

• Perform the Diagnostic System Check - Vehicle prior to using this diagnostic procedure.
• Review Strategy Based Diagnosis for an overview of the diagnostic approach.
Diagnostic Procedure Instructions provides an overview of each of the diagnostic category.
<A href="http://gsi.xw.gm.com/si/cellHandler.do?cellId=144619&refDoc=2415226&from=s m#ss2-2220046">DTC Descriptor

DTC P0700: Transmission Control Module (TCM) Requested MIL Illumination

<A href="http://gsi.xw.gm.com/si/cellHandler.do?cellId=144619&refDoc=2415226&from=s m#ss3-2220046">Circuit/System Description

This diagnostic trouble code (DTC) indicates that an emission related transmission DTC has set in the transmission control module (TCM). The engine control module (ECM) turns ON the malfunction indicator lamp (MIL) when the TCM sends a message over the serial data circuit requesting MIL illumination. The DTC information for the ECM will only display DTC P0700, and the ECM Freeze Frame/Failure Records data will display the engine operating conditions that were present when the transmission DTC was set. The TCM Freeze Frame/Failure records data is available from the DTC that was set in the TCM.
<A href="http://gsi.xw.gm.com/si/cellHandler.do?cellId=144619&refDoc=2415226&from=s m#ss4-2220046">Conditions for Running the DTC

• The ignition is ON or the engine is operating.
• DTC P0700 runs continuously.
<A href="http://gsi.xw.gm.com/si/cellHandler.do?cellId=144619&refDoc=2415226&from=s m#ss5-2220046">Conditions for Setting the DTC

The ECM receives a serial data message from the TCM requesting the ECM to turn ON the MIL.
<A href="http://gsi.xw.gm.com/si/cellHandler.do?cellId=144619&refDoc=2415226&from=s m#ss6-2220046">Action Taken When the DTC Sets

DTC P0700 is a Type A DTC.
<A href="http://gsi.xw.gm.com/si/cellHandler.do?cellId=144619&refDoc=2415226&from=s m#ss7-2220046">Conditions for Clearing the MIL/DTC

DTC P0700 is a Type A DTC.
<A href="http://gsi.xw.gm.com/si/cellHandler.do?cellId=144619&refDoc=2415226&from=s m#ss8-2220046">Diagnostic Aids

Communication codes, U-codes, as well as powertrain codes, P-codes, set in the TCM can cause the TCM to request DTC P0700 to be set in the ECM.
<A href="http://gsi.xw.gm.com/si/cellHandler.do?cellId=144619&refDoc=2415226&from=s m#ss9-2220046">Reference Information

DTC Type Reference

Powertrain Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC) Type Definitions
Scan Tool Reference

Control Module References for scan tool information
<A href="http://gsi.xw.gm.com/si/cellHandler.do?cellId=144619&refDoc=2415226&from=s m#ss10-2220046">Circuit/System Verification
  1. Note: Correct any other engine controls and communication DTCs before diagnosing TCM DTCs.
    <LI type=1>DTC P0700 is an informational DTC. If there are no engine controls or communication DTCs, refer to Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC) List - Vehicle for diagnosis of TCM DTCs. Do not replace the ECM for this DTC.
  2. Operate the vehicle within the Conditions for Running the DTC to verify the DTC does not reset. You may also operate the vehicle within the conditions that you observed from the Freeze Frame/Failure Records data.
<A href="http://gsi.xw.gm.com/si/cellHandler.do?cellId=144619&refDoc=2415226&from=s m#ss11-2220046">Repair Instructions

Perform the Diagnostic Repair Verification after completing the diagnostic procedure.
J.L.TYCHE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 08:33 PM   #22
carbon8
 
carbon8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS,2008 Hayabusa
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Yukon,Oklahoma
Posts: 622
What is this. None of the links work.


---
- Daniel
carbon8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:22 PM   #23
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
Update: They dropped the pan and replaced the sensors...so far its running well
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:02 PM   #24
monSSter
 
monSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: VICTORY RED/CYBER GREY
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BOYNTON BEACH,FL
Posts: 132
Any problems since? I recently installed shorty headers and high flow cats and threw the same code. I cleared it and drove around a bit beating up on it. Nothing yet. Anyone else have this happen to them?
__________________
CAI,VMAX TB, JBA SHORTIES,JBA HI-FLOW CATS, STRAIGHT PIPES,DYNO TUNE,GRANT STEERING WHEEL,ALPINE AVIC-Z130,SCHOSCHE DASH KIT, DASH ABL, HUD MOD,ACS T3 PORTS
monSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 04:27 PM   #25
monSSter
 
monSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: VICTORY RED/CYBER GREY
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BOYNTON BEACH,FL
Posts: 132
No one?
__________________
CAI,VMAX TB, JBA SHORTIES,JBA HI-FLOW CATS, STRAIGHT PIPES,DYNO TUNE,GRANT STEERING WHEEL,ALPINE AVIC-Z130,SCHOSCHE DASH KIT, DASH ABL, HUD MOD,ACS T3 PORTS
monSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
do not dial 809 area code 4g63t Off-topic Discussions 4 06-22-2011 12:11 AM
Check your Order here bvonscott Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 665 06-29-2009 01:00 PM
Tranny problems Looking Good in Red 4th Generation Camaros 12 04-26-2009 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.