Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Gen5DIY
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)

V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) Driveshafts | Differentials | Gears | Rearends | Clutch | Shifters

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2011, 09:00 PM   #1
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
6L80E Tranny failure

So I just had a TCI Streetfighter TC put in and it was coming off the rack to get tuned. The tuner started tuning it and for some reason after shifting into 2 the car would start to shift 3rd, pop into neutral and then shift back into 2nd. Kept doing it for 2 hours. As of now its still at the shop and a transmission expert is coming out to take a look. It seems there is not enough pressure or something.

Hopefully the dealer will cover it through warranty. This is the first time anything has been worked on as far as transmissions go.

If not, I'm gonna have to pay to get the tranny rebuilt.

Anyone else have problems shifting in the A6?
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:04 PM   #2
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
The first thing they look at before any major work is your flash count....
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:24 PM   #3
turboss
 
turboss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss turbo
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: houston texas
Posts: 45
That's exactly what happened when my tranny broke and I had a broken planetary gear . I had to use tap shift to get home cause 1 -3 rd worked fine I was at 800 rwhp at time so I saw that coming .
__________________
turboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:33 PM   #4
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboss View Post
That's exactly what happened when my tranny broke and I had a broken planetary gear . I had to use tap shift to get home cause 1 -3 rd worked fine I was at 800 rwhp at time so I saw that coming .
Was it covered under warranty?
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:37 PM   #5
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightRiderSS View Post
The first thing they look at before any major work is your flash count....
Its been flashed... a couple of times.
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:43 PM   #6
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsears View Post
  1. Its been flashed... a couple of times.
  1. Then your Gm rep won't
approve any major work
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:48 PM   #7
Supercharged SS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 12,021
I've seen an '10 Camaro have trouble with those converters this year. The first two he got weren't balanced properly. First one happened at the track and blew fluid all over the place on the second pass. The third converter was finally gd. For how long.....stay tuned.
Supercharged SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:53 PM   #8
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supercharged SS View Post
I've seen an '10 Camaro have trouble with those converters this year. The first two he got weren't balanced properly. First one happened at the track and blew fluid all over the place on the second pass. The third converter was finally gd. For how long.....stay tuned.

I got the TCI for free. I have the FTI new in the box. Trying to sell it.
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:55 PM   #9
turboss
 
turboss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss turbo
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: houston texas
Posts: 45
No warranty car had a converter in it but then I sent the tranny to circle d they did a awesome job when they rebuilt it. Glenn walked me through the shop and showed me what they did to help prevent from breaking again I recommend them if you want to beef your tranny up.
__________________
turboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:56 PM   #10
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
Damn... I guess I'll be re-building the tranny then. Wasn't expecting to pay that much.
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:58 PM   #11
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
I'm at about 430rwhp. I wonder if I put the stock TC in and take it to the dealer they will warranty it??
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:10 PM   #12
turboss
 
turboss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss turbo
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: houston texas
Posts: 45
Im not sure they might its worth a try I just use broken stuff as a reason to put something better but hopefully the dealer will warranty it.
__________________
turboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:32 PM   #13
Rhino79



 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,276
What were the shift times set to? If they are too low it can overlap and be in 2 gears at once. I almost messed up with this too. Since I have researched a ton on these transmissions and they are a lot different tuning wise than a 4 speed.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Remote tuning, In-house builds, and Parts. Custom Grind LS and VVT Camshaft packages.
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com www.Gwatneyperformance.com
Home of THE Fastest Stock Displacement Naturally Aspirated GEN 5! 10.45@133.55
Rhino79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:35 PM   #14
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
They loaded the stock tune in. Still didn't work.
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:38 PM   #15
SRT10KLLR

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,500
If they don't cover it under warranty I can sell you the one in the car now. I bought an extra one to send to Circle D to build and they will be sending it to me this week so I will no longer need the one in the car.

I would try and put the stock tc in first to see if it runs and if not take it to the dealer you never know you may just get lucky.
__________________
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 RCSB Thunder Road Hemi Sport w/STS Turbo
2004 Dodge Ram SRT-10 - Silver - Stock
2003 Chevy 1500 RCSB Stepside 400SS - 408 in now awaiting Turbo
SRT10KLLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:41 PM   #16
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRT10KLLR View Post
If they don't cover it under warranty I can sell you the one in the car now. I bought an extra one to send to Circle D to build and they will be sending it to me this week so I will no longer need the one in the car.

I would try and put the stock tc in first to see if it runs and if not take it to the dealer you never know you may just get lucky.

PM me your price. I've got quotes on about $1200 for the rebuild. $2000 for upgraded clutch packs and a rebuild.
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 08:40 AM   #17
Slowhawk
LSX specialty shop

 
Drives: 1999 Trans Am
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bridgewater,Ma
Posts: 1,621
More than likely it won't be warrentied. TCI make a horrible converter. It was either the converter or the tune that took it out. I've seen tunes take out perfectly good A6's in under 200 miles.
__________________


Bridgewater, Ma
(508)659-4454
Slowhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 08:48 AM   #18
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
How could it be the TC? He just barely got it off the rack and out of the driveway before it wouldn't get into 3rd? We loaded the stock tune back in and it still did the same thing. (Although this was after we found that it wouldn't shift to 3rd)
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 09:49 AM   #19
Camarowguy


 
Camarowguy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 imperial blue SS, black 92 RS
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denham Springs
Posts: 2,588
Tell you a short story about tci convertors. First off I'd like to say if you gave me one, I wouldn't put it in my car. I went through three in one car I had. They would last about 500-1000 miles. Then they sent me a pro unit. It wouldn't even fit. You look down in it an a plate in the was welded offcenter and wouldnt allow the splined shaft to go in it. Their shit is junk. I went to a vigilante and never had another problem. I won't own any other convertor.
__________________
2011 imperial blue SS/RS a6 12.43@112 vararam, tune, jba cats, magnaflow axle back, self ported tb, under drive pulley, NO headers, Stock tires. 1.87 60ft. Stock tires.
2000 1500 silverado extra cab
Camarowguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 10:25 AM   #20
SC2150
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS, RX supercharged
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 6,081
The TCI is a restalled OEM unit....wont hold that power period. The FTI is a true billet unit and near bullit proof. If you loose a converter you generally have enough debris going through the trans to take it our in short order as well.
SC2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 10:34 AM   #21
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
I didn't know they were re-stalled units... Taking out the stock one showed significant size difference. And how would this affect my ability to not shift into 3rd?
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 12:58 PM   #22
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
W A R R A N T I E D!
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 01:23 PM   #23
Tampa Tuning
Like us on Facebook!

 
Tampa Tuning's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Corvette/ 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 2,472
cool. what was the problem?
Tampa Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 02:42 PM   #24
tsears

 
tsears's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - L99 - CGM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 850
LOL. Don't know yet, they are breaking it open today. Keep ya posted.
__________________
2007 Corvette Z06 - Velocity Yellow
Halltech | Forgestar | Bilstein
tsears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 08:42 PM   #25
SRT10KLLR

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsears View Post
W A R R A N T I E D!
Great. It might have been just a mistake by the shop putting in the TC.
__________________
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 RCSB Thunder Road Hemi Sport w/STS Turbo
2004 Dodge Ram SRT-10 - Silver - Stock
2003 Chevy 1500 RCSB Stepside 400SS - 408 in now awaiting Turbo
SRT10KLLR is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
we added some extra protection from the FL heat for my A6 tranny (pics inside) bumblebeecamaro V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) 38 12-29-2012 12:11 AM
Camaro team's response to concern about Transmission Output Shaft Failure Mr. Wyndham Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 389 07-09-2011 11:09 AM
UNOFFICIAL CAUSE OF TRANNY OUT PUT SHAFT ISSUE orangeinfernoman Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 38 04-25-2011 08:25 PM
Tranny problems Looking Good in Red 4th Generation Camaros 12 04-26-2009 09:28 AM
Challys 6-Speed Tranny only capable of 450 ft. lbs torque, what about the Camaro? Muscle Master General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 9 10-18-2008 01:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.