Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SDPC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2009, 12:06 AM   #1
2Muchmark

 
2Muchmark's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS RS 1LE
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 857
Send a message via ICQ to 2Muchmark Send a message via MSN to 2Muchmark Send a message via Skype™ to 2Muchmark
No remote start with Manual Transmission?

After reading my order sheet for the 1,000,000th time I realized that the L99 package includes a remote started, but that the LS6 (that I ordered) does not. I assume it is because of the manual transmission? Or is there another reason?
2Muchmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 12:09 AM   #2
TheCaptain
N7 Spectre
 
TheCaptain's Avatar
 
Drives: 14 ATS Performance 3.6L AWD
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Moosomin, Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 2,732
Send a message via MSN to TheCaptain
You are correct on the manual, and incorrect on your engine code you ordered. I bet you meant LS3 though!

Way too many insurance problems to deal with having remote start on a stick.
__________________
TheCaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 12:10 AM   #3
09'Z28
The "Mad Hamster"
 
09'Z28's Avatar
 
Drives: '71 Camaro, '90 mx5, '71 2002
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Muchmark View Post
After reading my order sheet for the 1,000,000th time I realized that the L99 package includes a remote started, but that the LS6 (that I ordered) does not. I assume it is because of the manual transmission? Or is there another reason?
First, you got an LS6 in your car? I think you mean LS3.
Second, the manual doesn't have remote start because A) if you accidentally leave the car in gear if will move when started and B) the car doesn't depress the clutch for you so it can't even start i the first place.
Hopefully that made sense
__________________
09'Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:16 AM   #4
2Muchmark

 
2Muchmark's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS RS 1LE
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 857
Send a message via ICQ to 2Muchmark Send a message via MSN to 2Muchmark Send a message via Skype™ to 2Muchmark
Yes I meant LS3, sorry about that -

And thanks for the info!
2Muchmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:24 AM   #5
cam2fst4u


 
cam2fst4u's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 SS trailblazer,08 Silverado
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: stanley va
Posts: 6,268
Send a message via Yahoo to cam2fst4u
yep...no remote start on the manuals.
__________________
cam2fst4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:36 AM   #6
Gentry78
HOOK'EM
 
Gentry78's Avatar
 
Drives: 97 c1500/92 olds
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,280
if you really want it you can get it through a aftermarket alarm system that has it to where it will only start if the car is in nuetral and the parking break is set, that comes with a clutch bypass so thats not a problem. i have done this for a buddy of mine before and it works perfectly
Gentry78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:42 AM   #7
arozar
 
Drives: 2007 Tahoe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Havana, Fl
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gentry78 View Post
if you really want it you can get it through a aftermarket alarm system that has it to where it will only start if the car is in nuetral and the parking break is set, that comes with a clutch bypass so thats not a problem. i have done this for a buddy of mine before and it works perfectly
So you have to leave the car in neutral right?? That's just not safe, brakes lose tension, your tranny will not.
__________________
Past f-bods
1989 IROC (350/L89)
1995 Trans-AM M6
2001 Trans-Am WS6 M6

http://site.despair.com/governmentmotors/

arozar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:43 AM   #8
arozar
 
Drives: 2007 Tahoe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Havana, Fl
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by arozar View Post
So you have to leave the car in neutral right?? That's just not safe, brakes lose tension, your tranny will not.
Of course they can pop out of gear!!

__________________
Past f-bods
1989 IROC (350/L89)
1995 Trans-AM M6
2001 Trans-Am WS6 M6

http://site.despair.com/governmentmotors/

arozar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:46 AM   #9
Thwick
 
Drives: 2007 Cobalt SS/SC
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 108
I wouldnt recommend it, even if you can get it through the aftermarket. To use it you'll have to leave your car out of gear, relying on the e-brake alone. E-brakes can fail pretty easily if you're on even a slight slope, they arent that strong. I'd rather leave my car in gear without the e-brake than leave it in neutral with the e-brake on.

EDIT: arozar beat me to it.
Thwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:51 AM   #10
Gentry78
HOOK'EM
 
Gentry78's Avatar
 
Drives: 97 c1500/92 olds
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by arozar View Post
So you have to leave the car in neutral right?? That's just not safe, brakes lose tension, your tranny will not.
thats true, if you do this you would have to keep up with that.personally if i was going to do this to my car(which i'm considering) i would only use it somewhere like my garage/driveway where its nice and flat or some place like that. if i was to be parking on a hill somewhere i would use common sence and never leave my car parked without it being in gear or without the wheels turned the corresponding way so if anything fails my car wont go rolling down the street.
Gentry78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:07 AM   #11
Baughman
 
Baughman's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 475
Well if it's something you really want, they make manual aftermarket remote starts. I will probably be looking into this later on
__________________
Black/Black, 2SS/RS, Manual, and Polished 20's
VIN# 28396
Baughman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:25 AM   #12
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,109
I have seen a few accident threads out on other forums for people that modded in a manual remote start.

My advice is just don't do it.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:27 AM   #13
Embalmer
2G1FT1EWXA9103351
 
Embalmer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS RS, SIM, 6pd, 20"Alum
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canton, Michigan
Posts: 607
Not to mention, adding an aftermarket remote start will VOID your warranty.

Bad bad bad....
Embalmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:31 AM   #14
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,109
Well if it's automatic it might not void it. If you use an authorized installer. Like a DEI authorized installer. GM has been buying controller stuff from DEI for a while anyway. Because I do advise everyone to add 2 way Alarm pager to your Camaro. Nothing beats it... beeps in house.. they could rip the system out and you still got the ***********ers.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Start Durability kanys 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 33 03-28-2009 07:43 AM
Remote Start Available for the Manual Tranny? Rodrunner 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 36 12-30-2008 10:35 AM
Remote Start l008com Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 34 11-18-2008 03:19 PM
Manual Transmission Options usmc320 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 10 04-07-2008 01:20 PM
Camaro Manual Transmission LSxcellent 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 17 08-01-2007 05:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.