Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vitesse Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics

Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics Camaro ZL1 specific topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2011, 11:37 PM   #1
gkviper192
 
gkviper192's Avatar
 
Drives: TBSS
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 86
Nav Possibility?

Any possibility of them adding Nav as an option to the '12 camaros first on the zl1 ? Can't believe they don't have NAV it didn't occur to me until earlier today. Are they ever planning on adding it to the camaros at all?
gkviper192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 01:02 AM   #2
The IOM Ninja
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 10' IOM 2SS/RS, 13' GB Shelby GT500
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sherwood Park, AB
Posts: 2,195
I personally don't believe without seriously modifying the center controls this would be possible. You can add an aftermarket nav system but a lot of the time they come with absolutely hideous green glow in the dark buttons. GM wouldn't want to stray from the design they have now and I can't see how it would work while preserving the current radio face.
The IOM Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 02:07 AM   #3
payne.jeremy82
 
payne.jeremy82's Avatar
 
Drives: 2002 Lifted Trailblazer
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 51
The Camaro comes with turn by turn nav. powered by onstar
payne.jeremy82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 02:57 AM   #4
OldJedi
Use the Force
 
OldJedi's Avatar
 
Drives: 1967 FI Corvette and CRT ZL1 #336
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Davie, Fl.
Posts: 3,098
Send a message via AIM to OldJedi
Absolutely no possibility of a dash redesign for the 2012 Camaro/ZL1.
__________________
Walk softly, carry a light saber and drive a ZL1!
OldJedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 10:34 AM   #5
payne.jeremy82
 
payne.jeremy82's Avatar
 
Drives: 2002 Lifted Trailblazer
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 51
i had read somewhere that it works through the hud but i dont know
payne.jeremy82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 10:38 AM   #6
lbls1

 
lbls1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2002 Camaro SS SOM; 2009 Malibu LT
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 1,815
While its a nice feature, I don't want chevy to start loading up the zl1 with features that would drive up its price.

I am primarily interested in its bad boy, bare knuckles performance. No nothin' except go-smoke.
__________________
'02 CAMARO SS SOM; 5.7L LS1/FLS6B
'08 TBSS AWD Black Granite Metallic
'09 Malibu LT Dark Gray Metallic

'14 CAMARO ZL1 Blue Ray Metallic
lbls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 11:54 AM   #7
91Z28350
 
Drives: 2012 GT500 SVTPP 2010 Traverse LTZ
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Roanoke,TX
Posts: 662
Unfortunately most likely not. Your best best would be to look in the Audio section to see some of the aftermarket kits. Instead of a nicely integrated, modern audio system, we get the M*$#@ F&*^%$# nintendo looking eyesore.
91Z28350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 05:52 PM   #8
Elykson
Custom One Off
 
Elykson's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chicago Blackhawks Edition #1
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Madhouse on Madison
Posts: 1,173
I hate the turn by turn onstar. I simply attach my Droid to the sunroof and plug it into the USB port. Costs me nothing and works just fine.
__________________
Vararam Intake/SLP Loud Mouth II/BBK LT HFC/Magnaflow x-pipe/Pfadt Springs/Black Ice-olator/FE3 suspension/VMAX TB/RX catch can/Trifecta Tune
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=129416
Elykson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 06:24 PM   #9
FelipeShaw
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs and 2010 2ss/rs
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: phoenix, az
Posts: 81
its easy enough to add navigation! i do doubt they will come up with something as an option for the zl1 or 5th gen camaro! you can buy the metra dash kit(from the dealer or a good audio shop) and do you own aftermarket radio of choice or if you havent seen it yet check out Alpine's 2010 camaro dash kit and see what you think! Metra kit is anywhere from $200-300 and Alpine hasnt released the price of their kit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by The IOM Ninja View Post
I personally don't believe without seriously modifying the center controls this would be possible. You can add an aftermarket nav system but a lot of the time they come with absolutely hideous green glow in the dark buttons. GM wouldn't want to stray from the design they have now and I can't see how it would work while preserving the current radio face.

you know you can change the colors on the metra kit from blue, green, and red! also the little guy sitting down can be change to a girl for anyone that does not know that yet! blue is the closest to what everything is in our cars
__________________
I NEED

With love
DirtySilver (2010 camaro 1ss/rs LS3 twin turbo 556whp @6psi)
BlackBetty (2010 camaro 2ss/rs L99 boltons 400whp)
2003 Silverado quadrasteer 5.3L
2004 Jeep grand Cherokee 4.7L
FelipeShaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 06:32 PM   #10
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by payne.jeremy82 View Post
i had read somewhere that it works through the hud but i dont know
Yes it works with the HUD
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 07:49 PM   #11
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 25,787
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
We need to learn to differentiate between "NAV" and "Touchscreen on the dash"....

ALL Camaros come equipped from the factory with Navigation through OnStar, and on 2xx models, it works through the HUD, like it's already been mentioned.

Chances of an in-dash touchscreen? I'd say slim to nil, in my personal opinion...it just ruins the ambiance of the interior that enthusiasts demanded after seeing the concept.
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.
SIGN UP for 2014 Camaro5 HPDE @ Gingerman Raceway!
Mr. Wyndham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 09:41 PM   #12
The IOM Ninja
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 10' IOM 2SS/RS, 13' GB Shelby GT500
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sherwood Park, AB
Posts: 2,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
We need to learn to differentiate between "NAV" and "Touchscreen on the dash"....

ALL Camaros come equipped from the factory with Navigation through OnStar, and on 2xx models, it works through the HUD, like it's already been mentioned.

Chances of an in-dash touchscreen? I'd say slim to nil, in my personal opinion...it just ruins the ambiance of the interior that enthusiasts demanded after seeing the concept.
Not that GM did that by using the current interior or anything .

I'm pretty certain they could add a small touch screen in the shape of the current screen but at the same it would probably add a bunch of cost to it. From a technological standpoint it is 100% possible but it's very unlikely.
The IOM Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 09:43 PM   #13
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 25,787
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Quote:
Originally Posted by The IOM Ninja View Post
Not that GM did that by using the current interior or anything .

I'm pretty certain they could add a small touch screen in the shape of the current screen but at the same it would probably add a bunch of cost to it. From a technological standpoint it is 100% possible but it's very unlikely.
Oh, tech-wise...They could probably do it in their sleep.
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.
SIGN UP for 2014 Camaro5 HPDE @ Gingerman Raceway!
Mr. Wyndham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 09:52 PM   #14
The IOM Ninja
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 10' IOM 2SS/RS, 13' GB Shelby GT500
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sherwood Park, AB
Posts: 2,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
Oh, tech-wise...They could probably do it in their sleep.
If little chinese children can build iPhones we can sure as hell stick a navigation system into the Camaro.
The IOM Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 09:00 PM   #15
oldchevelleguy
 
Drives: 1964 chevelle ss sold
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: albuquerque
Posts: 25
What do you need a navigation system for. Getting lost would be a good reason to drive this super cool car more
oldchevelleguy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Nav Unit? emsguy Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 2 08-22-2011 01:11 PM
Onstar Nav Problem Gman8 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 3 09-23-2010 02:52 PM
Best Portable Nav system?Questions on mounting. Ciscovet Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 3 07-12-2010 11:23 AM
WHY NO SAT' NAV? Matrix Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 162 05-23-2009 07:55 AM
Does the Camaro NEED Nav?? BigZAJ 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 62 05-31-2008 05:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.