Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Classic Design Concepts
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Suspension / Brakes / Chassis

Suspension / Brakes / Chassis All suspension, brakes and chassis discussions.

Old 10-21-2011, 02:57 PM   #1
calbert1999
Camaro SS Lover

Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS Black IOM
Magnetic Ride Control - Marketing Hype or Real Performance Advantage?

I've been doing research to understand the big deal around the latest information with the Camaro ZL1 having Magnetic Ride Control.

I'm not an engineer but my understanding is that the shocks have some kind of special fluid and electronic sensors that allow the vehicles computer to adjust camber to provide a stiffer or less stiff feel based on road conditions.

So, the question is; Considering, this technology has been around for several years in other vehicles since 2002, is it just Marketing Hype because it's going to be in the ZL1 or is it really a true Peformance Advantage? Aren't there more recent and better shock technologies on the market?

For example; Does this avoid the need for any aftermarket coilovers, bushings, control arm upgrades, trailing arms / links or sway bars or will you still require additional suspension upgrades if you want better suspension performance?
calbert1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 04:10 PM   #2
Apex Motorsports

Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Quote:
Originally Posted by calbert1999 View Post
I've been doing research to understand the big deal around the latest information with the Camaro ZL1 having Magnetic Ride Control.

I'm not an engineer but my understanding is that the shocks have some kind of special fluid and electronic sensors that allow the vehicles computer to adjust camber to provide a stiffer or less stiff feel based on road conditions.