Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > Off-topic Discussions

Old 11-09-2011, 03:30 PM   #1
73camarolt

Drives: 2002 Camaro SS
Advice on getting into the Automotive field

So let me start off by saying that i am young, i am only 16 years old (Junior in HS). I currently work as a cashier at a restaurant but i would like to move into something more towards my career. I have been around cars my whole life. Really caught interest when me and my brother helped restore my dads 73 camaro. Now i am basically the mechanic for out 2010 SS. I am also inrolled in the auto tech programs at my school but i want to go further. I would like to get a job or intership at a shop or dealership. But the problem is my age and lack of professional skill. How would you suggest i get into the field? I would like to end up going to college for mechanical engineering and at best work for GM.
Old 11-09-2011, 04:33 PM   #2
Iroczlover
The Krazzy bytch

Drives: Which car I have 9 vehicles?
Send a message via MSN to Iroczlover Send a message via Yahoo to Iroczlover
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73camarolt View Post
So let me start off by saying that i am young, i am only 16 years old (Junior in HS). I currently work as a cashier at a restaurant but i would like to move into something more towards my career. I have been around cars my whole life. Really caught interest when me and my brother helped restore my dads 73 camaro. Now i am basically the mechanic for out 2010 SS. I am also inrolled in the auto tech programs at my school but i want to go further. I would like to get a job or intership at a shop or dealership. But the problem is my age and lack of professional skill. How would you suggest i get into the field? I would like to end up going to college for mechanical engineering and at best work for GM.