Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

B&M Racing
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 11-18-2011, 02:24 PM   #1
Andys562

Drives: Black 2011 2LT RS
Completely new to exhausts...

I'm a complete noob when it comes to exhaust systems. I've been doing quite a bit of research, and I think I've stumbled upon the fact there are two kinds of exhausts: cat backs and axle backs. Am I right? And if so, what is the difference?

I'm looking for a mean sounding exhaust that people will hear.
I'm not looking for anything too much for performance; I'm really going for sound here.
I have a 2LT RS V6 Automatic if that helps.

Thank you!
Videos/pictures/links/anything is appreciated!
Andys562 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 02:28 PM   #2
Andys562

Also, what are the pros and cons of getting a new exhaust system?

Pros: HP gains? MPG gain?
Cons: Will it void my warranty? Any future issues I might encounter? Are they any harder to maintain than the stock exhaust?
Old 11-18-2011, 02:35 PM   #3
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks

Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Catback: is from the catalytic converters back

Axleback: from the rear axle back

There are no HP or mpg gains from an exhaust system. No it will no void your warranty. There is no upkeep with them. You install them and then you're done with them.
Old 11-18-2011, 02:43 PM   #4
Andys562

If all I'm looking for is sound, am I better off with just new mufflers? Instead blowing all that money on an exhaust?
Old 11-18-2011, 03:11 PM   #5
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks

Drives: ...and they're both wrong
It's a personal preference thing. Search around the forum and listen to YouTube videos. Most V6 guys go with the MRT v2 if I remember right
Old 11-18-2011, 03:28 PM   #6
elpatofeo
LawBraker