Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2009, 07:59 PM   #26
Gentry78
HOOK'EM
 
Gentry78's Avatar
 
Drives: 97 c1500/92 olds
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by patriotpa View Post
PLEASE don't turn this beautiful car into another rolling speaker. The ricers do that enough. DON'T rice up the Camaro!
it's not rice when it sounds good, but when all you hear is bass and only distorted mids and highs when the bass cuts out that's rice
Gentry78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 10:43 PM   #27
kdoske
Waiting For My 1SS/RS SIM
 
kdoske's Avatar
 
Drives: Sold My Lancer, now carless :/
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: louisiana
Posts: 950
kdoske is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 10:51 PM   #28
JDBeck23

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: King George, Va
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by patriotpa View Post
PLEASE don't turn this beautiful car into another rolling speaker. The ricers do that enough. DON'T rice up the Camaro!
Dude, seriously... dont post on this thread hating on guys who want to add a subwoofer to the sound system.

Im sorry, while I understand that it would be painful to your eyes and ears to hear and see a camaro rolling down the road and hearing it pound 2 miles before you actually see it. But some people just want to COMPLETE the sound system in their car by adding a subwoofer. That doesnt meant we're turning the entire trunk into a huge subwoofer and amp setup lit up by neons.
__________________

2010 2SS/RS CGM
American Racing Headers, Magnaflow axle back, Roto-Fab CAI, Audio Integrations Sub box, Alpine Type R 10, Alpine MRP-500 amp, Pro Clips iPhone Mount
JDBeck23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 03:48 PM   #29
Smoken'em
 
Smoken'em's Avatar
 
Drives: Scion tC
Join Date: May 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by wh0rsep0wer View Post
I read on another post that the cigarette lighter 12V outlet is switched by the ignition. I plan on piggybacking off that and running wire to the trunk to get my remote lead for the amp.

+1 would love to get an answer on the pre-amp outs though.
I have quite a bit of knowledge when it comes to installing car audio and I highly don't suggest "piggy backing" anything off your cigarette lighter, even a remote wire.

To solve an issue in my gf's car of needing a remote wire and installing an amp with a factory head unit I got a piece called the re-Q5 from reqsound.com. It turns on when it senses music so you don't have to run a remote wire and once it turns on it has a remote wire out to turn on your amplifiers as well. It counteracts the factory head unit lowering the bass at higher volumes too so it sound much better than just using a high to low converter.

I installed it myself into my gf's car if you have any questions on it. Oh yeah, for input signal all you have to do is tap off your front and/or rear speakers which can be done directly at the speaker if you want so if you're just adding a sub it's much simpler to just tap off the rear and be done with it.
Smoken'em is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 04:02 PM   #30
FAF
Member
 
FAF's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 2008 Tundra
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 183
would the BA rear amp be able to run an extra woofer with those outputs
FAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 02:20 PM   #31
JDBeck23

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: King George, Va
Posts: 877
FAF, I doubt the amp would run a sub at all. But you could use the inputs that come from the factory stereo, splice off and use them as an input to an aftermarket amp. With the battery in the trunk, you're pretty much good to go. Once GM finally comes out with the sub kit, HOPEFULLY we can buy the harness that comes with it separately and wire our own sub into the car. Without the harness from GM we'd need the pinouts for the factory amp in the trunk. But even at that, it'll be WAY easier than any other car I've ever messed with, everything is already in the trunk!
__________________

2010 2SS/RS CGM
American Racing Headers, Magnaflow axle back, Roto-Fab CAI, Audio Integrations Sub box, Alpine Type R 10, Alpine MRP-500 amp, Pro Clips iPhone Mount
JDBeck23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 02:57 PM   #32
rayhawk

 
rayhawk's Avatar
 
Drives: Trailblazer SS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoken'em View Post
I have quite a bit of knowledge when it comes to installing car audio and I highly don't suggest "piggy backing" anything off your cigarette lighter, even a remote wire.

To solve an issue in my gf's car of needing a remote wire and installing an amp with a factory head unit I got a piece called the re-Q5 from reqsound.com. It turns on when it senses music so you don't have to run a remote wire and once it turns on it has a remote wire out to turn on your amplifiers as well. It counteracts the factory head unit lowering the bass at higher volumes too so it sound much better than just using a high to low converter.

I installed it myself into my gf's car if you have any questions on it. Oh yeah, for input signal all you have to do is tap off your front and/or rear speakers which can be done directly at the speaker if you want so if you're just adding a sub it's much simpler to just tap off the rear and be done with it.
Some amps have the auto-turnon built in to them, I have a Pioneer that does this, no remote wire needed.
__________________
Hooters, hooters, yum yum yum, hooters, hooters on a girl thats dumb.
-Al Bundy

07 2WD Trailblazer SS, LS1 E-fans, 4" FWI, pcmforless tune
72 VW Beetle, 2275cc, Dual 44 IDF's
rayhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 03:08 PM   #33
JDBeck23

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: King George, Va
Posts: 877
typically the auto turn on feature is for amps that run the "high level" inputs. They detect audio signals at the input and then switch the amp on.

We should be able to use the factory amp input or output, since both will be at the harness in the trunk. Sky's the limit, as soon as we get the pinouts!
__________________

2010 2SS/RS CGM
American Racing Headers, Magnaflow axle back, Roto-Fab CAI, Audio Integrations Sub box, Alpine Type R 10, Alpine MRP-500 amp, Pro Clips iPhone Mount
JDBeck23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 12:32 PM   #34
rico-2SS
Thx TZD.
 
rico-2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged Custom Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakers171 View Post
i lost you after "i just installed"
me 2 and I was hoping I could add a larger amp and subs with what a another guy called and "epacenter"???? seems like it is complicated I might just have to have a pro do it....not all bad either.

I have a camaro and don't have the slightest idea what to look for and I hook up my home systems all the time. I will try and look and take pics but it wont be till this weekend.

Any recomendations on manufactures for an amp and sub???? I heard sony "explode"???? is good??????

thanks guys - I am trying to catch up.
__________________
In many cases this isn't even keeping up with the Jones's, this is Jonesing and just plain KEEPING UP!!!
rico-2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:47 PM   #35
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
it's frustrating how little is known about this, and I'm going to be really annoyed if hooking up a sub requires a harness, why would they do that instead of using standardized plugs?
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are the Boston Acoustics & base head unit the same? hdhomer Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 34 01-19-2012 01:54 AM
Audio Upgrade Subwoofer VJCamaro Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 17 08-14-2009 09:09 AM
Bad news for anyone thinking of installing an aftermarket head unit fastball Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 26 05-26-2009 11:18 PM
Song Information Displayed on Head Unit ravensjeff Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 32 03-16-2009 05:28 PM
LSX owners: AFR Cylinder Head Owners FTI-EDC General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 0 11-10-2006 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.