Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Anthony @ LG Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2009, 12:12 PM   #1
jordan 572

 
jordan 572's Avatar
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 1,720
extra battery for sub

i am looking at a 13w7 pushing 1500 watts and was wondering if there is an space for an extra battery where the spare tire would have gone in the ss
jordan 572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 10:05 AM   #2
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,448
Well, that's where the battery is already, so I don't know if there's enough space to squeeze another battery in next to it, but if the location is similar in size to other vehicles that have the spare tire well, I can imagine you should be able to make it fit.

I just don't know how easy it'd be.
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 07:48 AM   #3
WildBeast15
 
Drives: 2002 mercury mountaineer
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Endicott
Posts: 41
at

at 1500 watts your really not going to need a batt... its not enough juice to kill anything esp when the batt is right next to the sub anyway... just upgrade that battery to a nice kinetic hc2400 or so... and youll be fine..
__________________
WildBeast15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 07:16 AM   #4
Gentry78
HOOK'EM
 
Gentry78's Avatar
 
Drives: 97 c1500/92 olds
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildBeast15 View Post
at 1500 watts your really not going to need a batt... its not enough juice to kill anything esp when the batt is right next to the sub anyway... just upgrade that battery to a nice kinetic hc2400 or so... and youll be fine..
500 dollars for a battery!!!?? hell no just get a optima for a lil over 100 bucks and get a ho alternator (and a big 3 upgrade if the camaro needs it) and you will still will be cheaper than the price for one of those
Gentry78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 09:24 AM   #5
LS3SSRS

 
LS3SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 808
Make sure its an optima yellow top...lol I made the mistake of buying a red top
__________________
2SS/RS, 6spd manual, IBM w/black leather
Blacked out tail/signal lights, 5% rear tint, 20% sides, Dynomax Bullet exhaust, Barton short throw shifter, Clear Image offroad downpipes
LS3SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 10:29 AM   #6
WildBeast15
 
Drives: 2002 mercury mountaineer
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Endicott
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gentry78 View Post
500 dollars for a battery!!!?? hell no just get a optima for a lil over 100 bucks and get a ho alternator (and a big 3 upgrade if the camaro needs it) and you will still will be cheaper than the price for one of those
a optima is useless it really is... its just one step up from the stock... yes doing the big 3 will help but it all relys on the best batt... get a good batt and watch your car succeed from the start.. and have fun getting a h/o alt right now if anyone makes one yet....
__________________
WildBeast15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 02:12 PM   #7
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,733
A battery only STORES so much power. Amplifiers draw current, alternaters produce current. Batteries do not produce anything.
If your amp draws more power than you can give it, you NEED a larger alternator. Put 10 batteries in your car and you will still not have enough power after a given time if the amp draws more than the alternator produces. If your amp draws 60 amps and you only have 50 available, it will eventually draw the battery down.

If i don't give a welding rod enough amperage (current) it will not burn properly. If you don't give an amp enough (current) it will not function properly and or your lights will dim. It really has little to do with the battery.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 02:25 PM   #8
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordan 572 View Post
i am looking at a 13w7 pushing 1500 watts and was wondering if there is an space for an extra battery where the spare tire would have gone in the ss
Have you looked at the Alpine PDX series. Most amps are rated using peak power, not he PDX. I have two PDX 1.1000 amps, they both bench tested to a true RMS in excess of 1140 watts. Very clean, very efficient. They will run all day on a long trip and never get hot and they are stackable with other PDX amps. They are by far the best amps i've ever used.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 03:00 PM   #9
RS/SS
The wait is over!!
 
RS/SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro RS/SS IOM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildBeast15 View Post
a optima is useless it really is... its just one step up from the stock... yes doing the big 3 will help but it all relys on the best batt... get a good batt and watch your car succeed from the start.. and have fun getting a h/o alt right now if anyone makes one yet....
Good info! I'm running two HC1400 Kinetik batteries in my Dakota. Granted it's overkill for the amps I'm using, but I wanted to always have juice in the lanes during SQ competitions. I also run a Kinetik power supply to keep the batteries charged during shows.

I ran Optimas before I knew better.
RS/SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 05:36 PM   #10
Nexus6
More human than human
 
Nexus6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The mouth of hell
Posts: 1,901
1 farad capacitors will also help with the load
__________________

1100 - 10/22/2008
3000 - 05/27/2009
3300 - 06/06/2009
3800 - 06/29/2009
4B00 - 06/29/2009

Warehouse 13 survivor

Blood stains,speed kills,fast cars,cheap thrills,rich women,fine wine,i lost my sense i lost control i lost my
mind.
Nexus6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 06:20 PM   #11
2010SSRS

 
2010SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Silverado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southern WI
Posts: 1,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus6 View Post
1 farad capacitors will also help with the load
__________________
IOM 2SSRS LS3 R6P - VIN 7553 Delivered 5/22/2009 Kooks, Corsa and Roto-Fab - SOLD 9/2010

VR 2SSRS LS3 - Borla, SLP CAI
2010SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 01:20 PM   #12
Gentry78
HOOK'EM
 
Gentry78's Avatar
 
Drives: 97 c1500/92 olds
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus6 View Post
1 farad capacitors will also help with the load
true they will help balance the load(very briefly) but you really need a alt powerfull enough to supply the power needed to feed the amp,accesseries,battery,and recharge the cap to keep playing without lack of current needed to maintain performance. so yes a cap will help but if the current aint there that cap is going to cause bigger problems down the road,and you would have wasted your money on something you nolonger need with the proper alt
Gentry78 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery Questions UA488Fitter 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 31 02-26-2012 09:26 PM
Taking the charge out of Chevy's Volt bigralph General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 33 03-05-2009 12:57 AM
GM To Build Battery Plant Mr. Wyndham General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 5 01-13-2009 01:03 PM
changing a battery in the wintertime is FUN Dave McFly General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 10 11-20-2008 05:37 PM
Dealer Installed Options - Extra to Install?? Speed74SS Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 16 11-18-2008 11:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.