Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2012, 09:51 AM   #1
orangejuice
H1 OFCR
 
orangejuice's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 Blue Ray Metallic
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Shelby Twp., Michigan
Posts: 1,342
L99 to LS3 Conversion Question

Hey guys, I have ran across guys converting there L99 to LS3's and read about all the parts needed and stuff. But why exactly are guys doing it and what is the big difference? Sounds like a newbie question but im really curious
__________________
Corsa
Rotofab
BBK
ZL1 Hood/Fascia
AAC Afterburners/Sidemarkers
Havoc Black Chrome
5% Tint/20% Smoked Taillights


orangejuice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 10:03 AM   #2
ron10


 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: LOUISVILLE,KY..
Posts: 7,403
most people do if they are changeing the cam.due to afm the L99 lifters,rocker arms,etc. will not take the higher lift.so you basicly change to a LS3 or better set up.which means you also have to pull the heads.
ron10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 11:52 AM   #3
JDP Tech

 
JDP Tech's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM Camaro 2SS/RS 429 LSX/F1X
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sandy, UT
Posts: 427
Exactly, the only real reason to convert is to change the cam out to a bigger better cam. You could do it just to get rid of Active Fuel Management and its associated lifters which are seemingly prone to failure, but putting a stock LS3 cam back in it would not be worth the labor spent in the conversion.
I converted mine and am super happy with it. More power, more dependable, no more AFM drone that most people complain about (even though I never had a problem with it on my car).

Feel free to call, email, or PM us anytime!
- Jeremy
JDP Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 03:17 PM   #4
mgoodbar
White 2ss, LT, CAI, Tune
 
Drives: 2010 L99
Join Date: May 2011
Location: memphis
Posts: 656
Ok, So I have AFM turned off on my L99, Would it hurt anything for me to go ahead and remove the heads and just replace all the lifters with LS7 lifters for now??

I will have a little bit of extra money after i get my headders next month and was planing to just go ahead and get the lifters, buckets, and head gaskets + ARP bolts.. Would I need anything else to go ahead and do the top??????

I am not really sure I want to cam the car, but I do want to ditch the lifters..
mgoodbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 03:18 PM   #5
mgoodbar
White 2ss, LT, CAI, Tune
 
Drives: 2010 L99
Join Date: May 2011
Location: memphis
Posts: 656
oops sorry for tread jacking...
mgoodbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 03:24 PM   #6
camslambam
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 SS, 06 SRT10 Ram
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: C. America
Posts: 1,658
The l99 lifters are what you would call the little girl in the car. Bigger cams require higher revs, and the l99 lifters fail at high rpm.

An LS3 conversion gives you much more reliability.
camslambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 03:25 PM   #7
camslambam
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 SS, 06 SRT10 Ram
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: C. America
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoodbar View Post
Ok, So I have AFM turned off on my L99, Would it hurt anything for me to go ahead and remove the heads and just replace all the lifters with LS7 lifters for now??

I will have a little bit of extra money after i get my headders next month and was planing to just go ahead and get the lifters, buckets, and head gaskets + ARP bolts.. Would I need anything else to go ahead and do the top??????

I am not really sure I want to cam the car, but I do want to ditch the lifters..
Like I mentioned before, why do you want to ditch lifters?

The only reason lifters fail is due to rpm increase, and you won't be revving to 7k+ unless you put a bigger cam in. My car shifts at 7100 and I can get it to 7200-7300 in paddle shift. That's why I ls3 conversion. If I hadn't gotten my cam, no reason to switch lifters.
camslambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 03:54 PM   #8
mgoodbar
White 2ss, LT, CAI, Tune
 
Drives: 2010 L99
Join Date: May 2011
Location: memphis
Posts: 656
Well I was just thinking safty, my shift point right now is 6200.. moved up from the 6000. and If I did do a cam later it would be less for me to do at one time.. I was just wondering if it would hurt anything for me to do it..

Im not the original poster of this fourm.. I was looking at a VVT2 cam maybe next year... If I went ahead and did the lifters, that would only leave the can/oil pump. timing set/ later on ... ??? Do you just think i should wait , being no need unless i do change the cam? or if a lifter fales change them then?? I do know if I do a cam wile i have the heads off they will get ported...
mgoodbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 03:55 PM   #9
mgoodbar
White 2ss, LT, CAI, Tune
 
Drives: 2010 L99
Join Date: May 2011
Location: memphis
Posts: 656
7100 oowwww bet that sounds killer...
mgoodbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 04:06 PM   #10
Jekyll-N-Hyde
I put the FU back in FUN
 
Jekyll-N-Hyde's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 SS 396 , 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Between Weatherford and Azle TX hway730
Posts: 2,138
I decided to have ADM performance take care of my conversion. I wanted a more reliable engine with a chompy idling Cam with the power.
Andy removed the L99 BS ( lifters converted to LS7 lifters ) no more DOD and all that crap. We also milled my heads to raise the compression so now my compression is higher and im running a larger cam with a lift I couldnt have gotten with a L99 setup.

Most will say I did my conversion to get a larger lopey sounding cam.

To me a LS3 is proven and its been around for a while. I Yes I know VVT and all of that is showing power but I'm thinking down the road and for what my plans were/are and may even go further a LS3 was right for me
Jekyll-N-Hyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 04:19 PM   #11
mgoodbar
White 2ss, LT, CAI, Tune
 
Drives: 2010 L99
Join Date: May 2011
Location: memphis
Posts: 656
Kinda figured I could save me some money if I did the top end and had someone later do the other.. IDK, I was just wondering about it...

I was trying to stick with the VVT to keep cost down...
mgoodbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 06:10 PM   #12
camslambam
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 SS, 06 SRT10 Ram
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: C. America
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoodbar View Post
Well I was just thinking safty, my shift point right now is 6200.. moved up from the 6000. and If I did do a cam later it would be less for me to do at one time.. I was just wondering if it would hurt anything for me to do it..

Im not the original poster of this fourm.. I was looking at a VVT2 cam maybe next year... If I went ahead and did the lifters, that would only leave the can/oil pump. timing set/ later on ... ??? Do you just think i should wait , being no need unless i do change the cam? or if a lifter fales change them then?? I do know if I do a cam wile i have the heads off they will get ported...
Failure point for lifters has been pinpointed when shifting over 6200. You're right at that cut off point.
camslambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 07:51 PM   #13
mgoodbar
White 2ss, LT, CAI, Tune
 
Drives: 2010 L99
Join Date: May 2011
Location: memphis
Posts: 656
Hmmm... well I have actuall went over a couple times at the track. this was using the tap shift. If I shift at 5,800 /// 6,000 exactly I am ok. but if I wait to 6,100 it will hit 6,500 and fall on its face then shift. It was kinda scary dong that ... I think I would be safe to say I just need to change them... That way I dont have to worry about a woops. BANG, CLICK CLICK CLICK.... that would suck... If I remember right I think I can change them out for about 4 or 5 hundred bucks... Ok done deal...... thanks..
mgoodbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 08:24 PM   #14
blackswan

 
blackswan's Avatar
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nearby
Posts: 1,195
NOOB: Can an auto be ordered with LS3 or only with L99?
blackswan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:39 PM   #15
silver ice 2011
 
silver ice 2011's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 camaro tsp stage 3 vvt
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: lake jackson tx
Posts: 24
i have the tsp vvt stage 3 cam in my car and love it even if you do the conversion you still have a l99 with headers cold air full 3" exaust and a 2800 stall i made 430 hp and 429 tq
__________________
LS3KLR
silver ice 2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:44 AM   #16
Tampa Tuning
Like us on Facebook!

 
Tampa Tuning's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Corvette/ 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 2,707
The heads on these cars flow very well, but if you are going to pull them off to replace the lifters, spend the couple extra bucks and have them ported. Your labor is already paid for to remove them, so you might as well get the extra 20 + HP from porting the heads and not wish you did later.

Shift points are important when you determine where the power of your cam drops off. If the power curve of the motor drops off at 5800 RPMs, why would you want to shift at 6800 RPMs.

With a larger cam and more power at the top of the RPM band, you'd want to move your shift points up. Another factor on moving them up is your valve springs and if they are single or dual spring. Again, spend the extra couple bucks on good dual springs and it could save you a couple grand from valve float.
__________________

Read these testimonials :
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...20#post7838320
Follow us on INSTAGRAM #TAMPATUNING
www.TampaTuning.com
Camaro Corvette CTS GTO Tuner Tampa Orlando Bradenton
Tampa Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:55 AM   #17
SGOS252382


 
SGOS252382's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: S.W. Florida
Posts: 6,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackswan View Post
NOOB: Can an auto be ordered with LS3 or only with L99?
The SS auto only comes with the L99.
But the ZL1 also comes in an auto for the guys with deep pockets.
__________________
SGOS252382 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rx catch can install question on L99 to LS3 conversion Agent WD-40 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 17 10-16-2012 07:45 PM
L99 to LS3 conversion VALOR Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 57 04-15-2012 08:27 PM
When is a L99 no longer considered a L99 danhr 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 24 04-05-2011 09:51 PM
l99 ls3 conversion and some other questions.. metallicide Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 7 10-10-2010 11:08 PM
SS A6 or M6 faster?????? MY2010SS 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 275 05-20-2010 05:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.