Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2012, 09:11 PM   #1
david6509
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Send a message via MSN to david6509
Camaro won't start PLEASE Help

Hey guys i am from Australia i posted on here a while ago that i was going to be getting a camaro. Have just run into a problem with my 2010 2ss camaro. I was hoping someone might know what could be wrong with it. I was driving home about ten minutes after filling up with 95 unleaded the engine just cut out, since then I have not been able to start it. The engine turns over but doesnt start, I am getting two error codes P023F and P069e. I tried to clear them and they come back as soon as I try to start the engine. It was tuned via hp tuner. My mods are below, car has done about 2000miles. The only work that was done on it earlier that day was the xforce header.

Edelbrock Supercharger running the smaller 3.5inch pulley and belt
JRE LS3 Smooth Idle Blower Cam Package
L99 to LS3 Conversion Kit
Rotofab E-force Cold Air Intake
Dual Fuel Pump (ASE Turbo, Australian company)
1 Kooks and 1 xforce headers ( changed due to hitting steering collum for right hand drive)
Borla Stinger Catback

Any help would be greatly appreciated?

Video Link of when it worked
Attached Images
   
david6509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:16 PM   #2
Parag

 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2SS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,335
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=173650


looks like bad fuel pump

i highly recommend not having two different brands of headers on. they need to be equal length, especially because you are boosted
Parag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:21 PM   #3
david6509
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Send a message via MSN to david6509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parag View Post
Looks like a tow back to the mechanic :/ replaced under warranty i hope. There was no spark either so i thought it may of been something simple. Has anyone one else had similar problems?

Last edited by david6509; 01-16-2012 at 09:41 PM.
david6509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:55 PM   #4
camslambam
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 SS, 06 SRT10 Ram
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: C. America
Posts: 1,658
Fuel pump.

Different headers = bad idea since you're boosted bud.
camslambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:00 PM   #5
david6509
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Send a message via MSN to david6509
Quote:
Originally Posted by camslambam View Post
Fuel pump.

Different headers = bad idea since you're boosted bud.
You think stick another x-force header on the otherside? what problems could it cause?
david6509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:00 PM   #6
The Shadoww
Black on Black on Black
 
The Shadoww's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 1LS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 894
Send a message via Skype™ to The Shadoww
Not to mention, you steering wheel is on the wrong side.
__________________
The Shadoww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:04 PM   #7
camslambam
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 SS, 06 SRT10 Ram
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: C. America
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by david6509 View Post
You think stick another x-force header on the otherside? what problems could it cause?
I would 100% buy matching sets of headers.

Do you have any boost gauges? Or fuel pressure gauges?
camslambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:04 PM   #8
david6509
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Send a message via MSN to david6509
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Shadoww View Post
Not to mention, you steering wheel is on the wrong side.
This car was designed in Australia then they decided not to release this car here, they are very rare with a price tag of over $100,000.
david6509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:05 PM   #9
david6509
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Send a message via MSN to david6509
Quote:
Originally Posted by camslambam View Post
I would 100% buy matching sets of headers.

Do you have any boost gauges? Or fuel pressure gauges?
Yer i have my Iphone as a boost guage, it is also my scan tool. I would buy a Pillar boost guage but there made for the WRONG side for me.
david6509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:13 PM   #10
camslambam
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 SS, 06 SRT10 Ram
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: C. America
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by david6509 View Post
Yer i have my Iphone as a boost guage, it is also my scan tool. I would buy a Pillar boost guage but there made for the WRONG side for me.

Get a real boost gauge, and AFR gauge and possibly a fuel pressure gauge.

Your car is clearly not very cheap and you have substantial amount of money invested. They're like --- $120-150 a piece and they're invaluable.

Your cars fuel pump seems to have crapped out or something. The codes it's throwing are fuel pump related. How much are you boosting?
camslambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:14 PM   #11
Chevrole+
 
Chevrole+'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by david6509 View Post
Yer i have my Iphone as a boost guage, it is also my scan tool. I would buy a Pillar boost guage but there made for the WRONG side for me.
Where did u get the cable? Need one for my iPad. Also. Agree with the fuel pump. Possibility of bad gas but doesn't usually happen with 95 octane
Chevrole+ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:19 PM   #12
camslambam
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 SS, 06 SRT10 Ram
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: C. America
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevrole+ View Post
Where did u get the cable? Need one for my iPad. Also. Agree with the fuel pump. Possibility of bad gas but doesn't usually happen with 95 octane
95 octane is roughly 91~ outside the US.


OP I'd recommend water meth or octane booster every fill up. Here we have 95 octane and its roughly a 89-91 (think of a crappy US 91 octane)... Pretty much a death trap if you're running a blower without using octane booster or water meth. I'm ordering a stage 3 water meth this week before my blower goes on. We use a simple 50% liquor (40% alc) / 50% pure 98% alcohol mix. Gives you an octane of about 106ish.
camslambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:30 PM   #13
david6509
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Send a message via MSN to david6509
Quote:
Originally Posted by camslambam View Post
Get a real boost gauge, and AFR gauge and possibly a fuel pressure gauge.

Your car is clearly not very cheap and you have substantial amount of money invested. They're like --- $120-150 a piece and they're invaluable.

Your cars fuel pump seems to have crapped out or something. The codes it's throwing are fuel pump related. How much are you boosting?
Could i get away with just using 98?

Will do have my eyes set on adm one which sits above the steering wheel. From memory on the dyno it was around 8 psi. Havent had a chance to see if the kiwi wifi reads boost yet (works on my colorado) I have pretty much had the car for a week before it died. Here is a picture of the old girl
Attached Images
 
david6509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:39 PM   #14
camslambam
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 SS, 06 SRT10 Ram
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: C. America
Posts: 1,658
I just wouldn't trust pump gas man. Boosting with bad gas = bad. Invest $400 in a stage 2 water meth kit or start using octane booster.

My buddy just blew up 4 pistons in his Cobra because he was boosting 13psi with bad gas. Detonation detonation detonation. If he would've had water meth it would've never happened.
camslambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:34 AM   #15
DuhKoDuh

 
DuhKoDuh's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS (Black) L99
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pilot Point, Texas
Posts: 2,062
its weird seeing the wheel on the other side lol
__________________

Follow me on Instagram @C7Corvettes
DuhKoDuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 10:35 AM   #16
BLACK10

 
BLACK10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO. 10.04@133mph, 1.4 60'
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
Posts: 5,011
Check the fuel pump fuse in the trunk. it should still be on your drivers side behind the side panel
BLACK10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 12:26 PM   #17
Parag

 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2SS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,335
There should be a pressure lease on the fuel rail you can release pressure then try to start and if there is no pressure you know for sure. And there wont be spark because the engine is knowing there is no fuel
Parag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:00 PM   #18
Chevrole+
 
Chevrole+'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parag View Post
There should be a pressure lease on the fuel rail you can release pressure then try to start and if there is no pressure you know for sure. And there wont be spark because the engine is knowing there is no fuel
old fashioned!
Chevrole+ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:02 PM   #19
2010SLVRBULIT


 
2010SLVRBULIT's Avatar
 
Drives: G5 & C6
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MARS
Posts: 6,746
your steering wheel is on the wrong side, lol..
2010SLVRBULIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:08 PM   #20
SinisterEcho


 
SinisterEcho's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS M6/LS3
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Arvada, Co
Posts: 9,974
Hope you get this resolved OP.

on a side note:
I miss my old RHD car.... it was awesome!
__________________
My Mod Journal <-- Its updated... again!
SinisterEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:25 PM   #21
Slo_LNine9
 
Slo_LNine9's Avatar
 
Drives: Vroom and more Vroom
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 25
sounds like wat happened to me before. when i had car painted, the painter took my engine cover off also to have it painted. when he replaced it somehow he jammed it it there and caused it to hit my fusebox. SO PISSED when i couldnt start my car outside of walmart
__________________
  • Drive it like you stole it!
Slo_LNine9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 03:19 PM   #22
JDP Tech

 
JDP Tech's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM Camaro 2SS/RS 429 LSX/F1X
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sandy, UT
Posts: 427
Do you have a boost-a-pump? Those fuses sometimes blow, which cuts your fuel pump off. Usually really easy to check that fuse, if you have a boost-a-pump.

- Jeremy
JDP Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:16 PM   #23
david6509
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Send a message via MSN to david6509
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDP Tech View Post
Do you have a boost-a-pump? Those fuses sometimes blow, which cuts your fuel pump off. Usually really easy to check that fuse, if you have a boost-a-pump.

- Jeremy
i was thinking about getting a boost a pump, but instead went down the route of the dual fuel pump system made for the holden ve commodore, its suprising how much is common between the camaro and the ve commodore. I wish i had waited a bit longer and just gone with the ZR1 fuel pump.
david6509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 04:53 PM   #24
tony1
 
tony1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Vortech/L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 473
Happened in Texas

http://news.yahoo.com/video/us-15749...-27916332.html
__________________
tony1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:33 PM   #25
david6509
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Send a message via MSN to david6509
The camaro is alive again. Aparently they rewired it, i also went through the tune file log and they turned the FPCM off, is this what they should have done in the first place?
david6509 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transcript of Camaro ZL1 Q&A Webchat with Chevrolet Tran Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics 38 02-17-2012 12:45 AM
Automobile Reviews 2011 Chevrolet Camaro Convertible 2SS Tran Camaro Convertible Forum 33 07-28-2011 07:36 PM
Im sure this has been asked before.. But forgive my innocence :) gmag21 Suspension / Brakes / Chassis 23 02-21-2010 10:29 PM
Official Camaro Convertible CONCEPT Press Release Tran Camaro Convertible Forum 12 11-18-2009 07:05 PM
Ambient lighting (ABL) - the FINAL update = LIMITED TO DOOR PANELS CamaroScotty 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 338 04-15-2009 05:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.