Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
PFYC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions General 5th generation Camaro topics not covered by other subforums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2012, 04:22 PM   #1
simes007us
 
Drives: Black 2SS/RS Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 42
5 20 Fuse Pull

Hi Folks,
Either I've been driving like a grandma or doing the 5-20 fuse pull with 91 octane results in less power...
My car didn't seem to be as hostile as it normally is.

and of course I have no way to test this.

Anyone have some info on 91 octane?
simes007us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:23 PM   #2
SSGUNNER
Chu no guat a hasa is?
 
SSGUNNER's Avatar
 
Drives: 14 Jeep G Cherokee Overland HEMI
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Some where in So Cal
Posts: 4,266
Thats all i run and after pull i did notice quite a difference. Throttle response was much better.
__________________
11 2SS/RSL99No Longer Stock (Sold) 6/19/14:AAC Plasma DRL's | Plug n play harness | Elite CC | Tint: 35% & 5% | LED Dome light | Show-N-Go Plate Holder | Flowmaster AT | C.A.I. Intake | VMAX CNC Spiral Ported TB | Husky Splash Guards
SSGUNNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:37 PM   #3
Earl
Account Suspended
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 278
I don't follow.
Earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:42 PM   #4
M3NTA7
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS Transformer Edition
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seattle, Washington USA
Posts: 227
Did you fill it up with High Octane before the pull?

You need to make sure that the tank has been depleted of most of the Low Octane first, then fill it up with High, then do the fuse pull.

I did the fuse pull and it worked out great for me.
M3NTA7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:53 PM   #5
swizlstik

 
swizlstik's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 Blue Ray Metallic
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3NTA7 View Post
Did you fill it up with High Octane before the pull?

You need to make sure that the tank has been depleted of most of the Low Octane first, then fill it up with High, then do the fuse pull.

I did the fuse pull and it worked out great for me.
Me too!!

swizlstik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:57 PM   #6
simes007us
 
Drives: Black 2SS/RS Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 42
I'm guessing it had some small amount of 87 in it from the dealer >.>

I shall attempt this after my next fill up with 91 and see what happens...
Thanks for the help
simes007us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:13 PM   #7
GunnyG
Da WHALE
 
GunnyG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Stingray, 2014 BMW Gran Coupe'
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oceanside, Ca - Originally from KCMO
Posts: 8,874
Did you put the fuses back in?
__________________
Project MantaRay...Underway
GunnyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:18 PM   #8
blackflag
 
blackflag's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS 45th
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South
Posts: 378
So my understanding of the Low/Octane tables in based on knock. This is how is works with EFI live on my 98 LS car.

You would think that the ECM would switch back to the high spark/octane tables if no knock was detected after a certain amount of time and load without having to reset the fuse.

So the fuse pull is just a instant way to reset the ECM so it will use the high spark/octane tables vs letting it correct on its own?

Havent tried it yet on my car, but was gonna log some with EFIlive to see whats its doing.
__________________
#1 2012 NMCA/LSX Challenge Series
2012 2SS 45th A6

Thanks to our Sponsors:
coldairinductions.com (Cold Air Inductions)
loughengines.com (Mike Lough Race Engines)
granatellimotorsports.com (Granatelli Motorsports)

blackflag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:44 AM   #9
nitrorcr1787
 
nitrorcr1787's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 240
Had a problem with my 2012, and posted, was told about the 5 20 fuse pull, and it worked great. Just remember to WAIT at least 2 hours before you put them back in...
nitrorcr1787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:27 AM   #10
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackflag View Post
You would think that the ECM would switch back to the high spark/octane tables if no knock was detected after a certain amount of time and load without having to reset the fuse.

So the fuse pull is just a instant way to reset the ECM so it will use the high spark/octane tables vs letting it correct on its own?
Unfortunately the V8 will not automatically switch back to the high octane table so you'll have to pull the fuses if you want to reset it.
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:32 AM   #11
platinum ss
Brandon Gilpin
 
platinum ss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS / 2014 Fiesta ST
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville ON Canada
Posts: 280
will this fuse pull work with a tuned car?
__________________
2011 Camaro 1SS Platinum ed. ls3 k&n CAI, BBK LT's, MBRP Cat Back, Vengeance Racing Kaotic Camshaft, Melling oil pump, Norris Catch Can, dyno tuned By AGP Speed & Custom, msd coils, taylor cables, Vmax ported throttle body, strut brace, eibach springs, hurst ST shifter.

Black on black, Private forged wheels, Oracle side marker lights, black tail light bezels, 3D Carbon body kit
platinum ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:44 AM   #12
garcmol


 
garcmol's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 1LT SIM; 91 B4C sleeper Z
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft. Mitchell, Alabama
Posts: 7,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by simes007us View Post
I'm guessing it had some small amount of 87 in it from the dealer >.>

I shall attempt this after my next fill up with 91 and see what happens...
Thanks for the help
And remember, the car needs to sit for a while with the fuses out. Best time to do this is when you come home for the night, then install them the next morning. The longer they're out, the better!
__________________
Pedders Pace Car Package, Injen CAI, Flowmaster AT, AAC Lighting, ZL1 fascia/skirts, RKSport Ram Air hood, vented fenders, painted stripes (Gary's Customz), Honor and Valor badged (Thank you, John)
garcmol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:50 AM   #13
Nessal


 
Drives: Lotus Exige
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 2,283
When I got my car from the dealer, I knew for sure they filled up with 87. So what I did was fill it up with 91 for TWO tanks without doing the fuse pull. Then on my third fill up, I did the fuse pull. The car pulls much harder than off the lot.
Nessal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:51 AM   #14
Nessal


 
Drives: Lotus Exige
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 2,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by GunnyG View Post
Did you put the fuses back in?


Dude....NOOOO WAYYYY.....
Nessal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:56 AM   #15
hunter1660
 
hunter1660's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011ss/rs camaro
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: florida
Posts: 559
How many miles on car...is motor broke in...you might look up hard breakin in the forum search ....just a thought
hunter1660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 12:13 PM   #16
garcmol


 
garcmol's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 1LT SIM; 91 B4C sleeper Z
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft. Mitchell, Alabama
Posts: 7,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nessal View Post
When I got my car from the dealer, I knew for sure they filled up with 87. So what I did was fill it up with 91 for TWO tanks without doing the fuse pull. Then on my third fill up, I did the fuse pull. The car pulls much harder than off the lot.
__________________
Pedders Pace Car Package, Injen CAI, Flowmaster AT, AAC Lighting, ZL1 fascia/skirts, RKSport Ram Air hood, vented fenders, painted stripes (Gary's Customz), Honor and Valor badged (Thank you, John)
garcmol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 12:17 PM   #17
MyIBMssRS

 
Drives: 10 IBM SS RS/12 RAV4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 1,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by platinum ss View Post
will this fuse pull work with a tuned car?
A good tune should already be optimized for 91 or 93 octane, the fuse pull would counteract the work of the tune.
MyIBMssRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 02:43 PM   #18
jtfire006
 
jtfire006's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 v-6 vert
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: biloxi, ms
Posts: 141
is this fuse pull for the v-8 only or does it do the same with the v-6?
jtfire006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 02:54 PM   #19
TSSUNAMI
It was ninety nine cents!
 
TSSUNAMI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Jeep Wrangler
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,721
Don't forget to run your tank next to empty, and then maybe a tank or two of high octane before doing the fuse pull.
__________________
TSSUNAMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:20 PM   #20
hightower
LS3 Black Widow
 
hightower's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 45th 2SS LS3 and 1968 Mustang
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Madison, GA
Posts: 4,561
I honestly didn't notice much of a difference.

And my father had put a tank of 87 octane in it as well. I drove almost all the 87 out, filled it with 91, and drove it home from school (230 miles). Then I filled it again with 91, pulled the fuses overnight (12 hours or more actually) and then drove it the next day. I didn't really notice anything. But then again my camaro never felt sluggish or anything in the first place.

OP I wouldn't worry about it if I were you.
__________________
hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:57 PM   #21
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtfire006 View Post
is this fuse pull for the v-8 only or does it do the same with the v-6?
V8 only
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:16 PM   #22
Supersport2011L99
Yellowbird
 
Supersport2011L99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS/ L99
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by garcmol View Post
And remember, the car needs to sit for a while with the fuses out. Best time to do this is when you come home for the night, then install them the next morning. The longer they're out, the better!
Wtf? Once you pull a fuse the circuit breaks and it reset's why would you have to wait?
Supersport2011L99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:20 PM   #23
1camaro70
 
1camaro70's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS L99
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: BUTLER, PA
Posts: 531
Mine was 87 from dealer well before the fuse pull was known about, lack of performance made me have a tune done, it added 27 HP and 50 torque, then did the fuse pull...WOW what a difference, I always used 93, but computer never resets itself, put at least three tanks thru then do pull, one hour worked for me.
1camaro70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:33 PM   #24
E.T.


 
E.T.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supersport2011L99 View Post
Wtf? Once you pull a fuse the circuit breaks and it reset's why would you have to wait?
Yeah, that seems a little odd to me, too. I would think it would be instantaneous. Maybe there is a capacitor or something that holds charge for a short period of time?
__________________

E.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:35 PM   #25
garcmol


 
garcmol's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 1LT SIM; 91 B4C sleeper Z
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft. Mitchell, Alabama
Posts: 7,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supersport2011L99 View Post
Wtf? Once you pull a fuse the circuit breaks and it reset's why would you have to wait?
Quote:
Originally Posted by E.T. View Post
Yeah, that seems a little odd to me, too. I would think it would be instantaneous. Maybe there is a capacitor or something that holds charge for a short period of time?
I don't know all the magic of it, but the folks that discovered this state "several hours".

I'll see if I can find the post.
__________________
Pedders Pace Car Package, Injen CAI, Flowmaster AT, AAC Lighting, ZL1 fascia/skirts, RKSport Ram Air hood, vented fenders, painted stripes (Gary's Customz), Honor and Valor badged (Thank you, John)
garcmol is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012 SS L99 fuse pull 95birdible 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 18 08-18-2011 04:30 PM
Need to know..help me clear the air...fuse pull BaddSS Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 3 07-21-2011 11:50 PM
Fuse Pull on LS3 Still Necessary? TheHorse13 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 5 07-20-2011 09:41 PM
FUSE PULL NUMBER montreal2010yellow Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 9 04-10-2011 04:13 PM
FUSE PULL CJ Offshoredude Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 1 11-26-2009 02:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.