Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Redline Goods
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2012, 12:53 PM   #1
CooG
Never ******
 
CooG's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 Camaro SS/RS Convertible - RED
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 950
Help with wiring my 2ohm Sub

Another stereo noob installer question.....

I have a 5 ch. amp that puts out 2ohms to sub and a dual coil 2ohm sub. I thought I'd just be running one pair of wires to the sub and connecting to the amp.

Looking at this website - http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/wo...1&I=22#results - which wiring config do I want?

Parrallel for a 1ohm load or Series for a 4ohm load?

Thanks
CooG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 03:29 PM   #2
Decibel JJ
Car nut
 
Decibel JJ's Avatar
 
Drives: Tahoe Z71, Race cars
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 690
You want to wire it series at 4 ohms. If the amp only can handle a 2 ohm load, parralel wiring wont work.
__________________
Quote: Don't you just hate it when Satan steals your ride and does all these weird ass mods to it?

R.I.P. Evan .. A true Friend
Decibel JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 04:22 PM   #3
EDGE_
 
EDGE_'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS/RS SIM L99
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 155
Coogz, if I remember correctly you are running a XD700/5. On page 10 of the manual it says, "Subwoofer loads below 2 ohms nominal are not recommended and may cause the amplifier to initiate a protection mode which reduces power output." So you'll need to wire it in series (4 ohms). Just remember the XD700/5 subwoofer output is 200W@4ohms or 300W@2ohms.
EDGE_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 05:20 PM   #4
Myyu
 
Drives: 2012 1LT IBM
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Buford, Georgia
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by EDGE_ View Post
Coogz, if I remember correctly you are running a XD700/5. On page 10 of the manual it says, "Subwoofer loads below 2 ohms nominal are not recommended and may cause the amplifier to initiate a protection mode which reduces power output." So you'll need to wire it in series (4 ohms). Just remember the XD700/5 subwoofer output is 200W@4ohms or 300W@2ohms.
Was just fixin to ask if his amp was 1ohm stable. lol

Anyway, what Edge said is correct. wire it in series (4ohms).
Myyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 05:25 PM   #5
justa25thTA

 
justa25thTA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by CooG View Post
Another stereo noob installer question.....

I have a 5 ch. amp that puts out 2ohms to sub and a dual coil 2ohm sub. I thought I'd just be running one pair of wires to the sub and connecting to the amp.

Looking at this website - http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/wo...1&I=22#results - which wiring config do I want?

Parrallel for a 1ohm load or Series for a 4ohm load?

Thanks

no it doesn't an amp doesn't put out a resistance.
__________________
Yeah, I'll get around to it...
justa25thTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 05:50 PM   #6
CooG
Never ******
 
CooG's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 Camaro SS/RS Convertible - RED
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 950
Thanks guys.....
CooG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 05:54 PM   #7
CooG
Never ******
 
CooG's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 Camaro SS/RS Convertible - RED
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by EDGE_ View Post
Coogz, if I remember correctly you are running a XD700/5. On page 10 of the manual it says, "Subwoofer loads below 2 ohms nominal are not recommended and may cause the amplifier to initiate a protection mode which reduces power output." So you'll need to wire it in series (4 ohms). Just remember the XD700/5 subwoofer output is 200W@4ohms or 300W@2ohms.
Yes - I do have a JL XD700/5. When I bought it (since I only have one sub), I was looking at the specs for the amp and - as you mentioned above - it was 200w@4ohms and 300w@2ohms. So I bought a 2ohm sub hoping to get 300w.

I guess 200w will have to do.
CooG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 09:35 PM   #8
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,736
I did the same thing and sent the 4 ohm subs back and had the 2 ohm subs shipped not knowing that 2 ohm DVC subs run at 1 or 4, not 2 ohm net. Still haven't got an explanation as to why they call it a 2 ohm if it wont run both coils at 2 ohm net unless you use two of them in parallel.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 10:26 PM   #9
EDGE_
 
EDGE_'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS/RS SIM L99
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by CooG View Post
Yes - I do have a JL XD700/5. When I bought it (since I only have one sub), I was looking at the specs for the amp and - as you mentioned above - it was 200w@4ohms and 300w@2ohms. So I bought a 2ohm sub hoping to get 300w.

I guess 200w will have to do.
I suspected as much. I went with a JL 12W3v3-2 with the same amp but mine hasn't been delivered yet.
EDGE_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 12:57 AM   #10
DraggnFrameGMC

 
DraggnFrameGMC's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Synergy Green Camaro LT
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWIweldace View Post
I did the same thing and sent the 4 ohm subs back and had the 2 ohm subs shipped not knowing that 2 ohm DVC subs run at 1 or 4, not 2 ohm net. Still haven't got an explanation as to why they call it a 2 ohm if it wont run both coils at 2 ohm net unless you use two of them in parallel.
Because each voice coil is 2ohms. There are 2 voice coils on the sub and each one is 2 ohm. You can run voice coils individually to separate amps if you choose to, so it has to explain what the the impedance is for each individual coil.
DraggnFrameGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 02:05 AM   #11
SoTHavok
 
SoTHavok's Avatar
 
Drives: Inferno Orange SS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraggnFrameGMC View Post
Because each voice coil is 2ohms. There are 2 voice coils on the sub and each one is 2 ohm. You can run voice coils individually to separate amps if you choose to, so it has to explain what the the impedance is for each individual coil.
dont u mean series/parralel to get 2ohm dvc subs to push a 2ohm load?
__________________

2SS/RS L99 Inferno Orange,Flowmaster,CAI
SoTHavok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 07:27 AM   #12
DraggnFrameGMC

 
DraggnFrameGMC's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Synergy Green Camaro LT
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoTHavok View Post
dont u mean series/parralel to get 2ohm dvc subs to push a 2ohm load?
No, if you take a multimeter and test each set of poles on each voice coil separately, they will read 2ohm. Now if you series them or parallel them together you get 4ohm or 1 ohm. CWI is asking why they dont show a total impedance with both voice coils either series or parallel, but i'm saying is they dont do that because voice coils can be wired individually to their own amps and thats why if it says, 2ohm DVC(dual voice coil), it tells the impedance of each coil by themselves.
DraggnFrameGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 07:46 AM   #13
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraggnFrameGMC View Post
Because each voice coil is 2ohms. There are 2 voice coils on the sub and each one is 2 ohm. You can run voice coils individually to separate amps if you choose to, so it has to explain what the the impedance is for each individual coil.
I know a 2ohm DVC has two voice coils, 2 ohms each. My point is if you power both coils, it has to run 1 ohm 0R 4 ohm. If they weren't meant to be run together they wouldn't build them that way. No point in buying a speaker and only using half of it. Therefore you have NOT explained why they call it 2 ohm. I don't know anyone that will only use half of the capacity of such a sub.

I will rephrase the question. Why is a DVC 2 ohm sub called a 2 ohm sub if you can not use it as a whole powering both coils with a 2 ohm amp. Same with a 4 ohm DVC sub. Why call it 4 ohm if it has to run at either 2 or 8 ohm on a single amp. I don't want to hear "it will run at that ohm rating if you power just one coil. I want to know why it is sold as that when it wont run at full capacity at that rating. I don't buy a bottle of whiskey and water it down by mixing it with 50 % water. I'm not going to limit a speaker at half it's potential either.
I know it's the way it is. I have 2 12" subs, 2 0hm DVC, and a 1000 watt amp for each, 2 or 4 ohm. I have to run them at 4 ohm to run a single amp to each. An "expert" explanation will do. I asked this question before and no one has expalain it accurately. If you are not knowledgable, don't try to answer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoTHavok View Post
dont u mean series/parralel to get 2ohm dvc subs to push a 2ohm load?
I thought we went through this. Not using both coils. Not on a single amp.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 07:56 AM   #14
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraggnFrameGMC View Post
No, if you take a multimeter and test each set of poles on each voice coil separately, they will read 2ohm. Now if you series them or parallel them together you get 4ohm or 1 ohm. CWI is asking why they dont show a total impedance with both voice coils either series or parallel, but i'm saying is they dont do that because voice coils can be wired individually to their own amps and thats why if it says, 2ohm DVC(dual voice coil), it tells the impedance of each coil by themselves.
It should be call 2/2 or 2+2 in that case, not just 2 ohm. If it is marketed as a 2 ohm speaker, it should have one voice coil. A 2 ohm DVC should be marketed as a 1 or 4 ohm or 2+2. Not just 2. I'm just asking why they do it this way. And again, an "expert" would be appreciated.
It simply says 2 ohm DVC on it's title. This would lead someone that does not know how DVC subs are made or utilized to think it would be a fully functioning unit capable of running on a single 2 ohm amp.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:43 AM   #15
EATIT
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2LT/Rally Yellow
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 78
If you have 1 2 ohm dual voice coil sub that can be wired for 1 or 4 ohms, however if you are running 2 2 ohm dual voice coils together, that can be wired in series parrallel and would give you two ohms .
EATIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:18 AM   #16
SoTHavok
 
SoTHavok's Avatar
 
Drives: Inferno Orange SS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by EATIT View Post
If you have 1 2 ohm dual voice coil sub that can be wired for 1 or 4 ohms, however if you are running 2 2 ohm dual voice coils together, that can be wired in series parrallel and would give you two ohms .
+1 forgot it was one sub, i have 2 and this is what i did
__________________

2SS/RS L99 Inferno Orange,Flowmaster,CAI
SoTHavok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:31 PM   #17
DraggnFrameGMC

 
DraggnFrameGMC's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Synergy Green Camaro LT
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 830
Well if you have a 2 channel amp, you can run each voice coil on each channel, which would be a 2ohm load.....on a single amp. Like I said, they tell the impedance of each individual voice coil, because not everyone runs their voice coils in parallel and series bridge. But nevermind, i'm not a "knowledgeable expert", haha
DraggnFrameGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 07:39 AM   #18
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraggnFrameGMC View Post
Well if you have a 2 channel amp, you can run each voice coil on each channel, which would be a 2ohm load.....on a single amp. Like I said, they tell the impedance of each individual voice coil, because not everyone runs their voice coils in parallel and series bridge. But nevermind, i'm not a "knowledgeable expert", haha
I fully understand HOW they work AND how to wire them AND the NET results. I don't think you fully understand my question.

Manufacturers are calling a DVC sub with two, 2ohm coils a 2 ohm sub but it is impossible to get a NET 2 ohm load running both coils unless it is wired to a single amp with a like sub. The box they come in clearly says 2 ohm as if the net load is 2 ohm, why?

Maybe you didn't understand the question. I don't need people telling me it has 2 coils at 2 ohm each and that is why they call it a 2 ohm sub. That is not answering the question.

I am fully aware of all the options to get different load results. Running both coils on a single amp, it should be 1 ohm or 4. Why is the question that hard to understand? Like I said, who is going to buy what is called a 2 ohm sub and just run one of the coils with a 2 ohm amp. I have 2, 2ohm DVC subs and one amp for each but have to run them at 4 ohm or run both subs on one amp. I know I should have kept the two 4 ohm DVC subs that were actually in my living room before I knew about how DVCs work. My bad.

I didn't want to have to go through shipping them again after realizing my mistake. They only cost a little over $100 each, I make that in a couple hrs work, so I kept them as temporaries till I upgrade in a couple months, so I am running one at 4 ohms. I will give someone a hell of a deal on two 12" Type R's at that time. I haven't had time to find out why the other one isn't working on the other amp that has power to it. Maybe the amp, maybe the sub, don't have time to troubleshoot it right now. I will get the right stuff when I upgrade. This is far from my first car stereo build. My first was 8 track and indoor box speakers, (in a '68 Camaro) , betterthan the single speaker AM only stock radio. There wasn't much of a car stereo market back when most of you were in diapers or still in a sack. I've had most everything between then and now.

My career certifications are equal to a BS technical degree. Not the BS you may be thinking either. I am not stupid, I am just asking why they are marketed that way. It's like calling whiskey 100 proof, but only if you dilute it or add alcohol to it.

I would have thought that Steve or Zach would have chimed in on this.

Not trying to jack the thread either, just chimed in when the topic was there. Sorry OP
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"

Last edited by CWI; 03-13-2012 at 08:04 AM.
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 04:57 PM   #19
Vaux96
 
Vaux96's Avatar
 
Drives: 45th 2SS LS3, 05 Ram 1500 SLT
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Minneapolis/Pittsburgh
Posts: 390
Who says because the box says 2ohm on it that the net load has to be 2ohms? You are making that assumption.

Perhaps they call it a 2ohm speaker because they put 2ohm voice coils in it. A 4ohm speaker is called a 4ohm because it contains a 4ohm voice coil. It has nothing to do with the net load, which can be different depending on how you run it. But what is not different and will not change, is the 4ohm voice coil. Why is this so hard for you to figure out?

Last edited by Vaux96; 03-13-2012 at 05:16 PM.
Vaux96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 07:28 PM   #20
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,736
I understand that completely. If you go to Walmart or any other store, and by a quart jar that is in a box clearly labeled quart jar, would you expect to find a quart jar in the box? Or two pint jars?
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:14 PM   #21
Vaux96
 
Vaux96's Avatar
 
Drives: 45th 2SS LS3, 05 Ram 1500 SLT
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Minneapolis/Pittsburgh
Posts: 390
That's a bad analogy. You bought a DVC 2 ohm speaker. What they gave you was a DVC 2 ohm speaker.

The problem was, you didn't understand what you were buying and how to use it for what you wanted.

Last edited by Vaux96; 03-13-2012 at 08:42 PM.
Vaux96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:43 PM   #22
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,736
But what if I want all hot salsa, not two jars of mild? It works the way it is, I can handle it. My amp puts out the same power whether at 2 ohm or 4.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:51 PM   #23
CooG
Never ******
 
CooG's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 Camaro SS/RS Convertible - RED
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWIweldace View Post
But what if I want all hot salsa, not two jars of mild? It works the way it is, I can handle it. My amp puts out the same power whether at 2 ohm or 4.
He's from Minnesota. Mild IS hot to him!
CooG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:06 AM   #24
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by CooG View Post
He's from Minnesota. Mild IS hot to him!
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:58 AM   #25
newb

 
newb's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1LE
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: hawaii
Posts: 1,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraggnFrameGMC View Post
Well if you have a 2 channel amp, you can run each voice coil on each channel, which would be a 2ohm load.....on a single amp.
This is the correct answer. You cannot get 2 ohms on 2 voice coils from channel. But 2 ohms from 1 amp using 2 channels is easy. All depends on your setup. There is more than 1 way to skin a cat.

Either use 2 channels from 1 amp or buy a 4 ohm DVC sub.

BTW, I am new here so hello. And I hope this helps it make sense.
__________________
Delivered 21 Jan 2013

newb is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Color Halos with Flush LED Switch Wiring (AAC) Saint Alban Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 27 08-07-2014 09:04 PM
Need wiring diagram for onstar module mike.nite Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 1 02-26-2014 09:20 PM
BCM wiring HaZe_X 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 4 11-03-2012 05:57 PM
DIY AAC Dual Color Halo/Flush LED Switch Wiring Saint Alban Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 8 01-10-2012 10:27 PM
How to unplug ABL wiring harness MMX RS Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 2 02-27-2011 01:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.