Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 03-23-2012, 09:53 AM   #1
572HP
ACE5 (Atlanta Group)

Drives: "Black Ice"
Alternator/Generator Pulleys

I'm going to try to keep this as short as I can. Why am I bringing up this topic? Because I did a lot of research educating myself on this subject, and I feel that there is a lot of mis-information going around. I want to give you what I have learned, so that you'll be informed. I am not an expert, so I will point you to some materials for you to educate yourself. I don't want to debate the need, because I am not an expert. If you are thinking of replacing your pulley with a nice billet one, please educate yourself first.

Our cars use generators instead of alternators. From what I read, the generators have built-in AC to DC conversion and regulation. Don't quote me on this as the difference, go research it yourself if you really want to know the difference. Anyway, I only bring this up because I couldn't even find the word "alternator" in our repair manuals.

Our automatics (at least the V8 models) include a different type of pulley on the generator. Replacing these pulleys with solid pulleys should be avoided. These pulleys are designed to lessen wear on belts, tensioners, and bearings throughout the entire accessory system. Why chevrolet isn't using these on manual transmission cars is a mystery to me. I would think that those cars would benefit as well. These pulleys should really help on forced-induction engines, to keep belts from jumping off and breaking.

What does this pulley look like?