Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Night Owl LED
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2014, 10:21 PM   #1
RobertRS

 
RobertRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS L99
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posts: 1,275
2014 L99 Camaro 2SS Range device users

Any 2014 2SS L99 Camaro members out there using the Range with no ill effects? Range technology site has a link that asserts that they are still working some glitches out of the device for 2014-2015 models GM cars to include 2SS AFM Camaros equipped with a host of electronic features such as navigation and multiple power features. Range asserts that anyone that experiences CEL's on these later units will be provided a free upgrade/reflash of unit as soon as one becomes available. To me ,in layman terms, that would mean to maybe hold off on purchasing one until Range Technologies can work the potential bugs out. Can anyone reflect on this?
RobertRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 10:26 PM   #2
Blue Thunder
 
Blue Thunder's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Chevy Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicagoland, Illinois
Posts: 208
No issues with me. 2014 1SS with nav etc. Maybe a little battery drain if I ride my motorcycle a few days in a row and not the car. But no ill side effects whatsoever.

Sent from my Galaxy S4
__________________
2014 Chevy Camaro 1SS/RS L99
377rwhp/396rwtq

Stainless Power 1-7/8 headers, HF cats
Magnaflow 3" tru-x cat back exhaust
NicKey Dyno tune
Bo White ported throttle body
Elite Engineering Catch Can
CAI air intake
GM Strut Brace Bar
JL Audio 12w3 sub, JX1000/1d amp
CFD Carbon Fiber pistol grip TapShift shifter
6000k HID head and fog lights


Blue Thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 10:30 PM   #3
RobertRS

 
RobertRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS L99
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posts: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Thunder View Post
No issues with me. 2014 1SS with nav etc. Maybe a little battery drain if I ride my motorcycle a few days in a row and not the car. But no ill side effects whatsoever.

Sent from my Galaxy S4
How long have you been using yours? Miles..etc.?

Range Technologies states that in most cases of these later model units experiencing issues is due to the engine not being started right away ,as in turning the key to the "on" position for 15-20 seconds before cranking and starting engine. I'm wondering how they arrived at that conclusion? Who turns their ignition on for that long before cranking engine over??
RobertRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 12:29 AM   #4
axis
Search Ninja
 
axis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Ark
Posts: 7,191
Listening to the radio?
__________________
2010 Black 2SS/RS A6
Halltech CF 102 fed
GPI modded intake manifold
Bo (knows) White ported TB
Kooks LT's/ Dynomax VT
Pfadted (springs/sways)
Dyno tuned by Rhino and GPI

I once parallel parked a train.
axis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 10:36 AM   #5
RobertRS

 
RobertRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS L99
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posts: 1,275
Curious as to how many 2014 SS owners are experiencing trouble free operation using the Range. Also would like to hear from any 2014 owners that experienced issues with it installed.

Here is a product description paragraph from Amazon site on the Range unit:

" The Range AFM Disable Device keeps your truck in 8 cylinder mode 100% of the time, preventing the Active Fuel Management system from dropping cylinders. This is the only product that will disable Active Fuel Management WITHOUT REPROGRAMMING THE FACTORY ECU. Full power delivery all the time without factory warranty concerns. This works for all GM AFM equipped cars, trucks, and SUVs up to 2013 model year. It will work with 2014/15s but there may be some bugs (we are working on them and will offer a free update to any that purchased this item for the 14s/15s when it is released). "

Last edited by RobertRS; 06-23-2014 at 10:47 AM.
RobertRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 12:02 PM   #6
tekteq
HT5 in the 626
 
tekteq's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: 626, California
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertRS View Post
Any 2014 2SS L99 Camaro members out there using the Range with no ill effects? Range technology site has a link that asserts that they are still working some glitches out of the device for 2014-2015 models GM cars to include 2SS AFM Camaros equipped with a host of electronic features such as navigation and multiple power features. Range asserts that anyone that experiences CEL's on these later units will be provided a free upgrade/reflash of unit as soon as one becomes available. To me ,in layman terms, that would mean to maybe hold off on purchasing one until Range Technologies can work the potential bugs out. Can anyone reflect on this?
My mylink completely shut off while I was driving with it twice. I strongly suggest a remote or dyno tune.
__________________

2014 L99 Camaro 2SS/RS ~ Flowmaster American Thunder Catback ~ Cold Air Inductions CAI ~ VMAX Ported TB ~ ARH Catted LTs ~ Tuned by Ted @ JRE

A wise man once said, he who eats crackers in bed get crummy sleep.
tekteq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 12:20 PM   #7
Grant
Emerald Coast Camaros
 
Grant's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS AGM A6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 147
I have issues with my Range on my 2013 so I stopped using it. It got to the point where I couldn't even start the car unless I took it out and waited a good 5 minutes.
__________________
Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 02:16 PM   #8
RobertRS

 
RobertRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS L99
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posts: 1,275
I appreciate the input on this topic so far. One question to those in the know though, ..It is my understanding that AFM will not initiate in M or manual shift mode. Is this a fact? If one were to place the shifter and paddle up to M5 I assume the tranny will still downshift and upshift up through 5th gear automatically. What I don't know is that whether this locks out AFM from initiating or not. My second question would be that if the shifter is in M6 mode ,will the AFM initiate in that gear selection position? Any clarity on this is much appreciated.

I do know for a fact that the Chevy trucks thru 2013 MY so equipped with AFM will not go into cylinder deactivation in M5 shift mode but will if in M6. Just not clear on the Camaros.

Last edited by RobertRS; 06-23-2014 at 02:30 PM.
RobertRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 06:06 PM   #9
tekteq
HT5 in the 626
 
tekteq's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: 626, California
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertRS View Post
I appreciate the input on this topic so far. One question to those in the know though, ..It is my understanding that AFM will not initiate in M or manual shift mode. Is this a fact? If one were to place the shifter and paddle up to M5 I assume the tranny will still downshift and upshift up through 5th gear automatically. What I don't know is that whether this locks out AFM from initiating or not. My second question would be that if the shifter is in M6 mode ,will the AFM initiate in that gear selection position? Any clarity on this is much appreciated.

I do know for a fact that the Chevy trucks thru 2013 MY so equipped with AFM will not go into cylinder deactivation in M5 shift mode but will if in M6. Just not clear on the Camaros.
when you are cruising you would leave your car at a gear where you are at around 3000rpm which would prevent AFM from activating. Not very fuel efficient though.
__________________

2014 L99 Camaro 2SS/RS ~ Flowmaster American Thunder Catback ~ Cold Air Inductions CAI ~ VMAX Ported TB ~ ARH Catted LTs ~ Tuned by Ted @ JRE

A wise man once said, he who eats crackers in bed get crummy sleep.
tekteq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 06:42 PM   #10
RobertRS

 
RobertRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS L99
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posts: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekteq View Post
when you are cruising you would leave your car at a gear where you are at around 3000rpm which would prevent AFM from activating. Not very fuel efficient though.
So you are saying that AFM will still initiate in M mode unless a lower gear and higher rpms are maintained? Or is that speculation? The GM trucks up to the 2013 MY,I mentioned above, will not go into AFM in M5 mode regardless of rpms or speed maintained. This is fact as the DIC in the trucks have a feature that lets you know if it is in 4 cylinder mode.
RobertRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 08:26 PM   #11
Shoefly22
 
Shoefly22's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Orlando
Posts: 31
Had no issues for 3 weeks. Until this weekend when I started the car 3 time within 10 minutes it wouldn't crank. So I shut the key off/pulled it out for 10 secs and then tried restarting it again. Probably a read error. Never happened again. I started it about another 5 times that day with no prob. It doesn't bother me that it did it. I'd rather have the range than run high rpm/down a gear.
Shoefly22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 01:09 AM   #12
tekteq
HT5 in the 626
 
tekteq's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: 626, California
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertRS View Post
So you are saying that AFM will still initiate in M mode unless a lower gear and higher rpms are maintained? Or is that speculation? The GM trucks up to the 2013 MY,I mentioned above, will not go into AFM in M5 mode regardless of rpms or speed maintained. This is fact as the DIC in the trucks have a feature that lets you know if it is in 4 cylinder mode.
Well its been claimed both ways. Try for yourself when you get your L99, I have mine tuned out so I forget lol
__________________

2014 L99 Camaro 2SS/RS ~ Flowmaster American Thunder Catback ~ Cold Air Inductions CAI ~ VMAX Ported TB ~ ARH Catted LTs ~ Tuned by Ted @ JRE

A wise man once said, he who eats crackers in bed get crummy sleep.
tekteq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 01:36 AM   #13
RobertRS

 
RobertRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS L99
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posts: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekteq View Post
Well its been claimed both ways. Try for yourself when you get your L99, I have mine tuned out so I forget lol

I've already got the L99. Picked it up this past Saturday. Just haven't had enough time behind the wheel to sort out whether M5 will prevent AFM from kicking in or not.
RobertRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 03:09 AM   #14
jr2014ss
 
Drives: 2014 SS l99
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 80
Got one for sale on me
jr2014ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 08:58 PM   #15
parkfam
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2 SS
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: syracuse, new york
Posts: 21
I've got a 2013 SS. Been running a Range for 4 months without any problems. I have read enough to know I have to pull the unit if the car sits for a couple of days. The car runs like it should have without the darn AFM.
parkfam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 09:03 PM   #16
ToolFan66


 
ToolFan66's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS 6.2L W/RS package
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,866
Put the money towards a tune..
__________________


KooKs LT Headers, Borla S-Type cat back, RotoFab CAI, Bo White PTB, RMCR tune...
ToolFan66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 01:46 PM   #17
Cyber Gray
Wind Rider
 
Cyber Gray's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS/RS 2014; JK Wrangler 2011
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Muscat
Posts: 2,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekteq View Post
My mylink completely shut off while I was driving with it twice. I strongly suggest a remote or dyno tune.
The device triggered your FM instead AFM
__________________
Im not Gray any more !!
Cyber Gray is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 04:31 PM   #18
luv_freedom
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS RS auto conv.
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 15
Range AFM disable issue on 2014 camaro 2SS L99

I installed the disable devise last week and today I drove the car over to my sister's house for Easter dinner. When I left and drove off the transmission didn't feel like it was starting off in 1st gear. I drove for sometime before I realized that the car was not shifting at all. It seemed to be stuck in one gear and the check engine light was on. At 50 mph the tachometer was reading near 3k rpm. I pulled the car over put it in park and shut it off and started it up again. Still the same problem. I pulled over to a side street and stopped the car put it in park and shut the engine off. Pulled the key out of the ignition, unplugged the device for a minute then plugged it back in and started the car and the check engine light cleared after about 10 seconds or so and the transmission shifted normally again. I just got this car about 3 weeks ago. I hope I didn't hurt the transmission! Has anyone had this happen? This is the latest version 7 that I bought directly from Ranger Technology. I submitted a request on their website asking if they have heard of this issue. Waiting for an answer. If this happens very often I'll buy a tuner and tune the AFM off instead of using this device. I'm not happy with what happened to my transmission.

UPDATE 4/7/15
Ranger Technology followed up on my issue and are sending me a new device in exchange for the one I have. They were very good at following through on their support. KUDOS TO RANGER TECHNOLOGY! Thank you! Hope this takes care of the problem I had.

Last edited by luv_freedom; 04-07-2015 at 02:18 PM.
luv_freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 08:22 PM   #19
CLOTAGAMES
 
CLOTAGAMES's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 VERT SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 41
Had check engine light today with range device in. Shut off and pulled device, Restarted and light gone. Ran ok with light on. Not sure what was going on.
CLOTAGAMES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 11:15 AM   #20
DesertCamaro
 
DesertCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Fast
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 725
Other than the usual battery drain, it's only caused my car not to start on one occasion. Simple removal of the device and reinstall fixed it. I like it but wish all of the bugs were worked out.
__________________
2014 SS
DesertCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 11:52 AM   #21
14AGMSS
 
Drives: 2014 AGM 2SS/L99
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 48
I had a problem with the first device I purchased from Range.
See my posts in this thread http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385199

You should not be having any issues with this device. If you are you may have either outdated software or a defective device. The best advice I can give is to contact the manufacturer. They have a tech support number and email. They are in business to sell a product and will continue to support them so they can sell more. I had an issue with one of the devices and they replaced it. Since November I have had no issues with the device. It is a great product that totally changes the driving experience.
14AGMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 07:25 PM   #22
CamaroJim56
Obsessed
 
CamaroJim56's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Crystal Red Metallic 2SS RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 2,186
2013 here, no real issues. Before the update, once or twice it acted up, but unplugged for a minute, replaced it, and all fine.

For the pre-2014's, there is a free update from Range on their site, you have to send yours back to get it updated, and yes I did.
__________________

2013 CRT 2SS RS – Heritage Grille, CAI, ZL1 Style Splitter, Chrome OEM Wheels.
CamaroJim56 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.