Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > Off-topic Discussions

Off-topic Discussions Discuss any off-topic subjects with other members.

Old 04-14-2012, 04:10 PM   #1
driyac

Drives: 2012 45th Anniversary 2SS
Running my first half marathon

So guys on may 6th ill be running my first half marathon, Flying pig in cincinnati.

Any advice? Should i be packing water/ gel packets for carbs

Also mentally there is a large difference between treadmill and concrete, anything to prepare me?

I have about 3 weeks left and am capable of running it easily but its my first time running one.

thanks!
driyac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 04:46 PM   #2
Scalded Dog

Drives: 2011 1LT
Find out first if the marathon organizers are going to provide the gel packs/ water/ supplements en route: Many have tables set up every mile or two, with anything and everything you might need laid out on a table... you run by, grab whatcha want, and chow down. There will be trash cans a little further away... aim for them with your trash, but if you miss, don't sweat it: There are trash monitors standing by to get the misses... that's their job!

If the organizers are not providing that stuff, bring a couple of gel packs (they're small and easy to carry, no biggie), but more importantly, have water available. Either carry a couple of small bottles, have some stashed along the route ahead of time, or have a friend in a car (preferably a Camaro!) or on a bike carry some water for you.

As you've trained for it, if you regularly do four or five miles, and CAN do eight, you will be able to complete the half marathon... even if you need to walk partway, that's okay... many do. Not a disqualifier, not a scarlet letter of shame. Walk for a spell, then resume running!