Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2014, 05:05 PM   #1
Bigtime53

 
Drives: 2015 Black Z/28 #61- 2013 Black ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,179
How Many Use The DashLogic on there ZL1?

I have been wanting a dashlogic for my Z and want to know if any of you have it and give me the pros and cons of it. Looks like it gives you lots of info that is really crucial to make sure your car is running correctly especially if you have modified it. Chime in please and let me know what you think.
Bigtime53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:06 PM   #2
PhelanZL1
 
PhelanZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Land O Lakes
Posts: 49
I use torque pro that you can download from the Android play store, it cost like 5.00 then you need to get a Bluetooth adapter , you can get them from Amazon I have the ELM 225 I believe. This app gives you all Dash Logic does but don't cost a couple hundred bucks.
PhelanZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:11 PM   #3
jon6.0
Going for Plaid
 
jon6.0's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 C6
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 886
I use it. It's awesome. I can control the NPP exhaust also. I monitor total timing, knock retard, IAT2, and RPM. Then I have a warning that says SHIFT! at 6000rpm that pops up on the HUD. I also have a couple of screens for 1/8, 1/4, and 1/2 mile times.
__________________
2014 ZL1, manual trans, carbon hood insert, Rotofab, Pacesetter 1 7/8" headers, 1" drop BMR springs, stock pulleys, 91 octane tune, 545rwhp & 515rwtq

Serviced and modded by Cordes Performance.

2011 C6, 750rwhp, forged LS3, ported LSA heads, Vortech Ti-trim, 227/243 115+4 Lunati cam, ported LS3 intake, Alky Control methanol, Pfadt sways/shocks/trans mounts, Pfadt tri-y headers(Sold 6/28/14)
jon6.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:15 PM   #4
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 3,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhelanZL1 View Post
I use torque pro that you can download from the Android play store, it cost like 5.00 then you need to get a Bluetooth adapter , you can get them from Amazon I have the ELM 225 I believe. This app gives you all Dash Logic does but don't cost a couple hundred bucks.
No it does not. Not even in the same ballpark, and I've used both.

If you want to look at a few things on your phone/tablet then that is an ok option, but the dashlogic controls the NPP, displays on the HUD, displays on the dash, has analog inputs to display stuff like fuel pressure/afr, allows you to program warnings, interfaces with the car to use the cars chimes/sounds as warnings. The torque app does not do any of that.
__________________
Nick
Corvette Z06 -1200ish rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:24 PM   #5
jon6.0
Going for Plaid
 
jon6.0's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 C6
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 886
I've used Torque as well. Not even in the same league.
__________________
2014 ZL1, manual trans, carbon hood insert, Rotofab, Pacesetter 1 7/8" headers, 1" drop BMR springs, stock pulleys, 91 octane tune, 545rwhp & 515rwtq

Serviced and modded by Cordes Performance.

2011 C6, 750rwhp, forged LS3, ported LSA heads, Vortech Ti-trim, 227/243 115+4 Lunati cam, ported LS3 intake, Alky Control methanol, Pfadt sways/shocks/trans mounts, Pfadt tri-y headers(Sold 6/28/14)
jon6.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:30 PM   #6
Sven59
HAMMER PILOT
 
Sven59's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1 #182, 85 AMC Jeep CJ7
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon6.0 View Post
I've used Torque as well. Not even in the same league.
I use the torque pro, can't complain for the price!
__________________
"DO YOU WANT ME TO PUT THE HAMMER DOWN?"
Sven59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:37 PM   #7
jon6.0
Going for Plaid
 
jon6.0's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 C6
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 886
Torque is definitely a good value. The DashLogic is on sale right now too. I just paid $250 for mine. When you factor in that it also controls the exhaust and that's usually $80 by itself for a Mild to Wild controller, DashLogic really is a good value. Since you can use your HUD to see stuff as you drive rather than trying to look down at a phone running Torque.
__________________
2014 ZL1, manual trans, carbon hood insert, Rotofab, Pacesetter 1 7/8" headers, 1" drop BMR springs, stock pulleys, 91 octane tune, 545rwhp & 515rwtq

Serviced and modded by Cordes Performance.

2011 C6, 750rwhp, forged LS3, ported LSA heads, Vortech Ti-trim, 227/243 115+4 Lunati cam, ported LS3 intake, Alky Control methanol, Pfadt sways/shocks/trans mounts, Pfadt tri-y headers(Sold 6/28/14)
jon6.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 07:20 PM   #8
Camero5
Hide! My wife's coming!
 
Camero5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Las Colinas, TX
Posts: 1,439
I use it and love it. Only complaint is I cannot use my navi while using dash logic. Conflicts due to the way it functions.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2013 Camaro ZL1 Convertible CRT - 630 RWHP / 620 RWTQ - ADM Performance Built/Tuned - ZL-700 Package - LS9 CAM - Lingenfelter CNC Ported Heads - Stainless Power Headers
Camero5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 08:06 PM   #9
NZZL1
 
NZZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 BRM ZL1 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 81
Spend more but get a more functional tool.

http://www.efilive.com/flashscan/fla...-tuning-option
NZZL1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 09:31 PM   #10
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 3,931
That isn't even remotely the same thing.

One is a basically a gauge package that uses the HUD/DIC to display data. The other is a tuning suite with a handheld logger. Might as well say just buy HP tuners.
__________________
Nick
Corvette Z06 -1200ish rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 09:35 PM   #11
Emvici
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1 White Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: St Pete Fl
Posts: 625
I bought mine 3 weeks ago, it does not work flawlessly on the 2014 models. Hense I am not 100% happy with it. Would you like to buy mine for a small discount?. I will also throw in the connector adapter that allows you to relocate it.
Emvici is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 09:52 PM   #12
Bigtime53

 
Drives: 2015 Black Z/28 #61- 2013 Black ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by NZZL1 View Post
Spend more but get a more functional tool.

http://www.efilive.com/flashscan/fla...-tuning-option
OUCH!!!!! That price I saw makes me need oxygen!!!
Bigtime53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 09:58 PM   #13
Bigtime53

 
Drives: 2015 Black Z/28 #61- 2013 Black ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emvici View Post
I bought mine 3 weeks ago, it does not work flawlessly on the 2014 models. Hense I am not 100% happy with it. Would you like to buy mine for a small discount?. I will also throw in the connector adapter that allows you to relocate it.
Well why does it not work good on the 14model? 13 and 14 are the same,are they not?
Bigtime53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 10:27 PM   #14
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 3,931
Jon has a 14 and no issues. What doesn't work? Have to asked Palmer? They are great at fixing any bugs really quick.
__________________
Nick
Corvette Z06 -1200ish rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 10:30 PM   #15
jessrayo
Speed Freak
 
jessrayo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 Camaro, 2014 Stingray
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ardmore, OK
Posts: 2,140
I have used torque and my phone, I have about $700 in an aeroforce dual gauge system, and I bought the Palmer Dashlogic device recently. I actually have not used the dashlogic device yet and probably could sell mine but it has a lot of functions for a lot less money than anything else and it will control your NPP exhaust so you don't need to buy any other type of controller, it is hard plugged to the OSB port on your car so you don't have to worry about Bluetooth or memory or ram capacity of your phone. You can set different critical parameters into different locations on the cars existing displays. It is a very clever device. If I had not already bought the aeroforce gauge pack I would use the dashlogic device.
__________________
ADM - 434 ERL block. Trickflow 6 bolt heads, ADM cam, valves, springs. Heartbeat 2300 blower, twin PT6466 turbos. RPM custom manual trans, RPS triple carbon clutch, 9" Hendrix rear diff & axles. LPE pulley upgrades, 1400 injectors. ADM/squash fuel system, ADM trunk intercooler reservoir & EMP pump, Ron Davis S/C heat ex, and radiator, Spal fans, AGP air to air intercooler, turbo plumbing. LPE oil cooler, rear bushing upgrade, roll bar, Hurst line lock, braided brake & clutch lines, Motul 660 and Porterfield R4 pads, racingbrake rotors. LPE nitrous controller. 1436 rwhp.
jessrayo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 11:49 PM   #16
jon6.0
Going for Plaid
 
jon6.0's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 C6
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emvici View Post
I bought mine 3 weeks ago, it does not work flawlessly on the 2014 models. Hense I am not 100% happy with it. Would you like to buy mine for a small discount?. I will also throw in the connector adapter that allows you to relocate it.
Weird. Have you contacted them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigtime53 View Post
Well why does it not work good on the 14model? 13 and 14 are the same,are they not?
Works fine on my 2014.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unreal View Post
Jon has a 14 and no issues.
Yup.
__________________
2014 ZL1, manual trans, carbon hood insert, Rotofab, Pacesetter 1 7/8" headers, 1" drop BMR springs, stock pulleys, 91 octane tune, 545rwhp & 515rwtq

Serviced and modded by Cordes Performance.

2011 C6, 750rwhp, forged LS3, ported LSA heads, Vortech Ti-trim, 227/243 115+4 Lunati cam, ported LS3 intake, Alky Control methanol, Pfadt sways/shocks/trans mounts, Pfadt tri-y headers(Sold 6/28/14)
jon6.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 06:20 AM   #17
PhelanZL1
 
PhelanZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Land O Lakes
Posts: 49
I stand corrected I thought he wanted to just read values not adjust them. Ps remove fuse 8 for the NPP to stay open all the time. Dash logic is good but I'll leave the tuning to the pros
PhelanZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 09:31 AM   #18
Bigtime53

 
Drives: 2015 Black Z/28 #61- 2013 Black ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhelanZL1 View Post
I stand corrected I thought he wanted to just read values not adjust them. Ps remove fuse 8 for the NPP to stay open all the time. Dash logic is good but I'll leave the tuning to the pros
I want to know what my car is doing at all times as far as the tune goes and I am told the dashlogic is the tool to have. I am like you I will leave the tuning to the pros.
Bigtime53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 09:35 AM   #19
Highland Ranger
 
Highland Ranger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 CRT Convertible ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NW NJ
Posts: 327
I used a Bluetooth transmitter with android torque pro. It made the car go nuts. Did some research - apparently a known issue with some of the devices that plug into the odb ii port. So no more plugging into the port.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Highland Ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:26 AM   #20
drs4life
DRS4Life
 
drs4life's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 A6, Blue Ray Metallic
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SE ATL
Posts: 38
I do and love it. I monitor IAT, IAT2, KR & LTFTB1 & 2.
__________________
2013 ZL1 Blue Ray Metallic
drs4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 12:35 PM   #21
jessrayo
Speed Freak
 
jessrayo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 Camaro, 2014 Stingray
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ardmore, OK
Posts: 2,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhelanZL1 View Post
I stand corrected I thought he wanted to just read values not adjust them. Ps remove fuse 8 for the NPP to stay open all the time. Dash logic is good but I'll leave the tuning to the pros
The dash logic device is not a tuning device, it will read all of the parameters that used to only be readable with tuner software but it does not allow you to change parameters in the tune. I does allow control of the NPP exhaust but this does not affect the tune at all. Torque can read real time car data with your smart phone but as has been mentioned in a previous post and in my first hand experience, it can be glitchy. Aeroforce gauges display whatever you want but they are comparatively expensive.

All of these devices use the OBD port, all the tuning software uses the OBD port. You must use the OBD port if you want to see real time data on your car. The phone software is the only OBD device that I know of that has "messed with" the car. I would not be afraid to use the dashlogic or other gauges that plug into the port. This information is very valuable if you are trying to optimize your car performance.
__________________
ADM - 434 ERL block. Trickflow 6 bolt heads, ADM cam, valves, springs. Heartbeat 2300 blower, twin PT6466 turbos. RPM custom manual trans, RPS triple carbon clutch, 9" Hendrix rear diff & axles. LPE pulley upgrades, 1400 injectors. ADM/squash fuel system, ADM trunk intercooler reservoir & EMP pump, Ron Davis S/C heat ex, and radiator, Spal fans, AGP air to air intercooler, turbo plumbing. LPE oil cooler, rear bushing upgrade, roll bar, Hurst line lock, braided brake & clutch lines, Motul 660 and Porterfield R4 pads, racingbrake rotors. LPE nitrous controller. 1436 rwhp.
jessrayo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 01:16 PM   #22
JacobC1983
 
JacobC1983's Avatar
 
Drives: ZL1 & Avalanche
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Missouri
Posts: 245
What is the adapter most people purchase with the dashlogic to hide it better? I have read some people hit it with there foot or leg (or something of the sort)?
JacobC1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 01:47 PM   #23
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 3,931
Just search for low profile obd2 cable on amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...profile%20obd2
__________________
Nick
Corvette Z06 -1200ish rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 01:50 PM   #24
JacobC1983
 
JacobC1983's Avatar
 
Drives: ZL1 & Avalanche
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Missouri
Posts: 245
Thanks!
JacobC1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 02:39 PM   #25
camguynj

 
camguynj's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS/RS LS3 NPP BRM
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigtime53 View Post
Well why does it not work good on the 14model? 13 and 14 are the same,are they not?
fyi... excerpt from a PM I got from Palmer in reply to problem I was having only with the latest Dashlogic version v1.17 whereas v1.15 worked.
(ie. there is a difference between the '13 & '14 HUD)

" think we are going to release 2 firmware versions for the Camaro. We had to change the HUD from Radio text to NAV text because the 2014s don't work correctly with Radio text. Then on 2010-2013 the NAV text causes the issue you see because we have no way to actually make the HUD go into OEM mode with the DIC in NAV mode"
camguynj is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.