Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
PFYC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2012, 11:19 PM   #1
Pur3vil
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 86
iPod static with DB/DD PDIM

I am getting intermittent severe static on my iPod classic that goes away for a while if i pull the USB cable and re-insert it. The staic is so severe that it basically drowns out the song and is loud enough that I worry that I might blow a speaker from it. This severe staic didn't start until after I got the DB/DD PDIM. Is anyone else seeing this or have a suggestion as to how to fix it? It's so intermittant that I can't show the dealer reliably that it exists, and it took me several tries to get DB/DD that I don't want to just try to replace the PDIM again if there is something better to try.

I'm not sure if maybe my iPod cable is sketchy or if it could be my USB port or if it is just a bad PDIM. Help...
Pur3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 03:18 AM   #2
Cheetah
 
Drives: Camaro Rs
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mi
Posts: 85
im having the same problem and its pissing me off , i tried using a different cable and it be same thing . Plus than my car will be like the item is not found and it will just switch it to my FM OR AM radio .

Help ? plzz
Cheetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 04:21 AM   #3
ChriSS84
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati,Ohio
Posts: 854
Yea same problem here. It's been like that since I got the car. I just unplug it and plug it back in and it works fine for a while.
ChriSS84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:47 AM   #4
FNG
Tampa Bay Camaros
 
FNG's Avatar
 
Drives: Rally Yellow 2011
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 534
Same here. unplug, plug back in ... temporarily fixed 80% of the time.
FNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:50 AM   #5
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 737
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
Guys please visit this thread. Maybe it would be helpful to post there.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...=31235&page=37
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:54 AM   #6
Pur3vil
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 86
Yeah, I know that it fixes it temporarily, it's just a little awkward to do while driving. Plus if I have the system up and it starts, I'm worried that it will damage a speaker. It does suck that you can't just turn the radio off and back on. I haven't noticed it when I use my USB stick instead of my iPod, so it probably is something in the iPod code in the PDIM, or maybe a signal back feeding into the iPod itself. I guess if I get too tired of it, I can always go aftermarket and replace the whole system, but I'd rather it just work...
Pur3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:02 AM   #7
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 737
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
Definitely is something with the camaro hardware. I went aftermarket and absolutely no issues. On top of those issues already mentioned when I was factory it would also freeze my iPod. To the point I had to wait till battery drain so it could reboot. This happened once a week. That has not happened at all since I went aftermarket .
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:02 AM   #8
Pur3vil
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarograna2 View Post
Guys please visit this thread. Maybe it would be helpful to post there.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...=31235&page=37
I thought about using that thread, but it was all about older versions of the PDIM having the issue. I'm on the latest version and still have the issue, so I started my own thread to see if anyone else had the same problem. Believe me, I've been through most of the PDIM posts on the forum following the issues, which is what lead me to getting mine updated in the first place. It's just disappointing that I have worse problems after the update than I did before. I would occasionally get a little bit of static/crackling before the update, but now it over powers the entire song so that all I can hear is the static.

I did see a comment in that thread about using the apple cable instead of the belkin cable fixing the issue, but I've been using the apple cable from the beginning. In any case, thanks for pointing us back to the other thread. There is some useful information in there depending on what PDIM version you are on and how long you have been following the issue.
Pur3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:04 AM   #9
Pur3vil
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 86
I've had it freeze my iPod too, but was able to do a hard reset by holding the center button and menu for 5 seconds. I am on an iPod Classic, so if you have a different model, the reset sequence may be different.
Pur3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:30 AM   #10
Rangore

 
Rangore's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT Cyber Gray
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,033
Does it sometimes...2-3 times in 6 months with my iPhone 4.
__________________
Current: 2010 Camaro 2LT - Current Mods: EGA on left and right windows - Solo CAT Back - Black CAI - Black Carbon Fiber Bow-tie Vinyl - Switchback LED Turn Signal bulbs - HOD Headlight bulbs - Aqua interior LED bulb - Phoenix Gold iAMP-GM1 sub box w/amp, Lorenzo WL27 wheels
No longer owned: 1993 Camaro Z-28
Rangore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 12:40 PM   #11
Cheetah
 
Drives: Camaro Rs
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mi
Posts: 85
I dont think it has to do with camaro , because i tried to use the other option , audio cabel and i heard static noise in the back , it wasnt clear at all
Cheetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 03:37 PM   #12
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 737
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pur3vil View Post
I've had it freeze my iPod too, but was able to do a hard reset by holding the center button and menu for 5 seconds. I am on an iPod Classic, so if you have a different model, the reset sequence may be different.


Yeah I have the IPOD Classic. I would try to hold the center button but it would just stay frozen. I use to think the freezing problem was my old IPOD but since I went aftermarket it has not froze.

Also since I went aftermarket I've had 0 issues with the cracking popping noise.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheetah View Post
I dont think it has to do with camaro , because i tried to use the other option , audio cabel and i heard static noise in the back , it wasnt clear at all


Hmm well I dont think Pur3vil was talking about the audio cable (3.5 mm jack) but instead the USB Cable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pur3vil View Post
I did see a comment in that thread about using the apple cable instead of the belkin cable fixing the issue, but I've been using the apple cable from the beginning.


Pur3vil - Yeah I would use the apple cable as well so that wasnt the issue
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 04:22 PM   #13
Pur3vil
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 86
Looks like it's time to start saving up for an aftermarket system then...

camarograna2, how are you liking that 9990? It looks impressive. How restrictive is the visibility to the 4 pack with the scosche? and did you ever get the steering wheel controls to work?
Pur3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 04:54 PM   #14
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 737
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pur3vil View Post
how are you liking that 9990? It looks impressive.


love the 9990. Its faster than the 9980. My sound guy tuned it really good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pur3vil View Post
How restrictive is the visibility to the 4 pack with the scosche? and did you ever get the steering wheel controls to work?


restricts about 1/3 of the top gauges. Guess if you are taller you would see less.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pur3vil View Post
did you ever get the steering wheel controls to work?


The 9990 had a change in the steering wheel wire from the 9980. Guess my installer or someone else had already notified them cause they already working on the fix. They said hopefully by 1 -2 weeks. Note the latest firmware is IO:50 SW:68 which fixed the SWC issue for the 9980 radio. Price I pay for having the latest radio !
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 05:16 PM   #15
bzavala
Music is Ideas!
 
bzavala's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 32
I was having the same issue with my good old iPod Video; I tried several cables, and finally found this one and hasn't give any troubles:

Monster iCarCharger 1000

It's basically a car charger with a line out, with noise reduction in it. I use the the aux-in for my ipod, and the USB for my iphone, so this one worked great for me.
bzavala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 02:25 AM   #16
Cheetah
 
Drives: Camaro Rs
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mi
Posts: 85
if it i take it , to the dealer would they be able to fix it for me . since the car is only month old ?

man this is pissing me off , bought a brand new car and i have this shit problem
Cheetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 08:44 PM   #17
Fraxum


 
Fraxum's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 TT IOM 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South NJ
Posts: 3,117
Send a message via AIM to Fraxum
I have an Ipod in all the time.

I have static and lockup. I cannot listen to an audio file longer than 99 minutes. When listening to a long Audio file it locks up 50% of the time when restarting the car. Also charging is weird, sometimes the Ipod stays charged, other times the Ipod is drained when I start up the car. Sometimes when I start up the Ipod indexes. Other times if its not locked up the Ipod does index.

Using Ipod Classics and Nano. Using Apple cables.

I thought the problem was the first Ipod Classic so I bought another. The new one worked fine for a week then started acting up. Then I tried a Nano 5th gen. Same thing.

Your only reliable Ipod option is the audio plug. There might as well not be an Ipod controller.
__________________
Fraxum is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.