Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Gen5DIY
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2012, 01:17 PM   #1
erftbll81
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26
Alpine kit, No AM radio.

Just finished installing the Alpine kit, with the w910. Everything that i have tried works great. Ipod/gps/fm radio all work fine. The only problem i'm having is that if i go to AM radio its not picking up anything, its completely static. Any ideas?

heres the diagram for the harness, not sure which one powers the AM antenna/amp or w/e so i could directly check that.

http://postimage.org/image/bh838xyit/

Last edited by erftbll81; 05-15-2012 at 04:26 PM.
erftbll81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:57 PM   #2
Twilborne
 
Twilborne's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Blue Ray Blue 2LT
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orange Park, Fl.
Posts: 376
I have the same problem with the with my KENWOOD 9980 and the Scosche kit.
Twilborne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 05:12 PM   #3
erftbll81
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilborne View Post
I have the same problem with the with my KENWOOD 9980 and the Scosche kit.
yeah, its frustrating as hell. I took everything apart today and still having no luck. Everything is connected as the instructions say. Can it be a bad alpine head unit?
erftbll81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 07:20 AM   #4
Twilborne
 
Twilborne's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Blue Ray Blue 2LT
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orange Park, Fl.
Posts: 376
I don't think it the head unit. I think is has to do with the antenna.
Twilborne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 10:22 AM   #5
erftbll81
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilborne View Post
I don't think it the head unit. I think is has to do with the antenna.
Could it be the antenna adapter that came with the alpine kit? If i connect the stock radio everything works fine, but the new one i get nothing. :/
erftbll81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:15 PM   #6
Matic
 
Matic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White LS
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 338
With the scosche kit, u gotta buy the antenna separate. Is that not the case w the Alpine?
Matic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 07:36 AM   #7
Twilborne
 
Twilborne's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Blue Ray Blue 2LT
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orange Park, Fl.
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by erftbll81 View Post
Could it be the antenna adapter that came with the alpine kit? If i connect the stock radio everything works fine, but the new one i get nothing. :/
I kind of think it is the adapter also. Not sure never actually trouble shot the problem because I hardly ever go to AM.
Twilborne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 10:32 AM   #8
erftbll81
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matic View Post
With the scosche kit, u gotta buy the antenna separate. Is that not the case w the Alpine?
It comes with the Kit, its just an adapter that connects to your stock antenna. Should i try getting a separate antenna?? anyone know any antennas that can possibly work with this kit?
erftbll81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 10:47 AM   #9
RADAR
 
RADAR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SSRS/M6 SIM
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 426
AM? What is AM? LOL! Just kidding.
RADAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:35 AM   #10
Twilborne
 
Twilborne's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Blue Ray Blue 2LT
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orange Park, Fl.
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by erftbll81 View Post
It comes with the Kit, its just an adapter that connects to your stock antenna. Should i try getting a separate antenna?? anyone know any antennas that can possibly work with this kit?
You could try buying an antenna form Auto Zone or where ever and just plug it in to the Head Unit and try it out for trouble shooting. Just to see if it works.
Twilborne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:21 AM   #11
scuba264
 
scuba264's Avatar
 
Drives: Manual 2011 CGM LS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Steeler Country
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by nayrchris View Post
AM? What is AM? LOL! Just kidding.
haha I'm kinda with this one. I'm not trying to be a jerk I honestly am curious what you're using AM for? Sports radio or something?

Just seems that someone working on dash kits would be more the mp3/hd radio/satellite radio kinda person. Can't tell you the last time I checked out any AM haha.
__________________
scuba264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 12:29 PM   #12
erftbll81
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by nayrchris View Post
AM? What is AM? LOL! Just kidding.
ESPN radio.
erftbll81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 12:31 PM   #13
erftbll81
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilborne View Post
You could try buying an antenna form Auto Zone or where ever and just plug it in to the Head Unit and try it out for trouble shooting. Just to see if it works.
that was actually going to be my next step, I wonder if autozone would let me return it or exchange it for something else since i would have already opened it.
erftbll81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 03:57 PM   #14
Twilborne
 
Twilborne's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Blue Ray Blue 2LT
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orange Park, Fl.
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by erftbll81 View Post
that was actually going to be my next step, I wonder if autozone would let me return it or exchange it for something else since i would have already opened it.
Yes they are pretty good about that, they will let ya returnit.
Twilborne is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.