Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Grabiak Performance Center
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2012, 10:28 PM   #1
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,674
TPMS not showing tire pressure.

I guess I hit the emergency lights flasher this afternoon when I was loading a new background to my radio. My neighbor came over and said that the lights are on. Everything was dim it would not try to crank over. I charged the battery for about an hour. It started up ok. Now the TPMS on the DIC only has dashes on all 4 wheels. Will the TPMS reset them after awhile or will I have to manually reset them.
__________________
Caddy
Caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:25 AM   #2
DJ_BigC
Rockin' Steady
 
DJ_BigC's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS, Z06 Vette, ATS Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Timmins
Posts: 154
You'll have to do a TPM learn OR if it happended because the battery died since no sensors ID's changed they may/will show readings again in a short period of time, go drive it and check it and you should be OK.
__________________
Eric Carrier, proud GM Technician for over 5 yrs.

2013 Cadillac ATS, Black, 2.0L Turbo, Luxury package, 20" Strada's, Pirelli Pzeros, 5% tint.

2010 Camaro 2SS Black, L99, SLP headers, GMPP axle back, K&N CAI, JRE tune, 22" Boss 337's, Nitto Invos 5% tint.

2011 Z06 Corvette Black, LS7, Borla Cat Back, 5% tint.
DJ_BigC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 09:51 AM   #3
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,604
Hello Caddyroger,

You may want to do the TPMS Sensor Matching Process located on page 10-63 in your owners manual. It states: Each TPMS sensor has a uniqueidentification code. The identificationcode needs to be matched to a newtire/wheel position after rotating thevehicle’s tires or replacing one or more of the TPMS sensors. Also,the TPMS sensor matching processshould be performed after replacing a spare tire with a road tire containing the TPMS sensor. The malfunction light and the DIC message should go off at the next ignition cycle. The sensors are matched to the tire/wheel positions, using a TPMS relearn tool, in the following order: driver side front tire, passenger side front tire, passenger side rear tire, and driver side rear. See your dealer for service or to
purchase a relearn tool. There are two minutes to match the first tire/wheel position, and five minutes overall to match all four tire/wheel positions. If it takes longer, the matching process stops and must be restarted. The TPMS matching process is:
1. Set the parking brake.
2. Turn the ignition to ON/RUN with
the engine off.
3. Go to the TPM vehicle
information screen on the DIC.
See Driver Information Center
(DIC) on page 5‑25. Press set to
relearn the sensors. The horn
sounds twice to signal the
receiver is in relearn mode and
TIRE LEARNING ACTIVE
message displays on the DIC
screen.
4. Start with the driver side
front tire.
5. Place the relearn tool against
the tire sidewall, near the valve
stem. Then press the button to
activate the TPMS sensor.
A horn chirp confirms that the
sensor identification code has
been matched to this tire and
wheel position.
6. Proceed to the passenger side
front tire, and repeat the
procedure in Step 5.
7. Proceed to the passenger side
rear tire, and repeat the
procedure in Step 5.
8. Proceed to the driver side rear
tire, and repeat the procedure in
Step 5.
9. After hearing the confirming horn
chirp for the driver side rear tire,
the horn sounds two more times
to signal the tire learning mode
is no longer active. Turn the
ignition to LOCK/OFF.
10. Set all four tires to the
recommended air pressure
level as indicated on the Tire
and Loading Information label.
The tires air pressure will not
appear on the screen until driving
begins.

Hope this helped!

Brandon
Chevrolet Customer Service
Chevrolet Customer Svc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.