Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
ChrisMikes
 
Drives: 2010 SIM Camaro 2SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yorba linda
Posts: 107
Diablo Void warranty?!?

I have automatic 2010 Camaro ss
Only thing I have in my car is Diablo predator programmer and exhaust
Here's the story: the other day I was driving my car in manual mode, gas peddle to the floor, and when I shifted, it kinda felt like....the clutch was held in too long or.something, I can't explain it, but I'm worried my transmission is going bad, it.only has 17,000 miles

Does anyone know if I can take it to the dealer without them putting a big stamp on my name that ssays WARRANTY VOIDED!!!
if they do say my warranty is voided, does that go out for all dealers or only that one?
ChrisMikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 08:54 PM   #2
Apex Motorsports
 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 25,211
If you have a drivetrain failure the tech is supposed to check if the ECM has been reflashed. If so, the drivetrain warranty is void and they will attach a note to the VIN. Any dealer you take it to will see that it has been voided.

GM 09-06-04-026A
Apex Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 09:50 PM   #3
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apex Chase View Post
If you have a drivetrain failure the tech is supposed to check if the ECM has been reflashed. If so, the drivetrain warranty is void and they will attach a note to the VIN. Any dealer you take it to will see that it has been voided.

GM 09-06-04-026A


It's not up to a dealer, it's up to GM. If your powertrain warranty has been "voided", then your car will be on the black list and all dealers will be able to see it.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 09:51 PM   #4
ChrisMikes
 
Drives: 2010 SIM Camaro 2SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yorba linda
Posts: 107
Yeah but some dealers just wont check it
ChrisMikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 10:24 PM   #5
Milk 1027
Camaro➎ moderator
 
Milk 1027's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 BLK 1LE
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 13,527
It's the risk you take
__________________
Milk 1027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 10:27 PM   #6
strych9
Gone Euro!
 
strych9's Avatar
 
Drives: 6spd Manual Mercedes, Daytona 955i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 3,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMikes View Post
Yeah but some dealers just wont check it
In order for the dealer to get payment from GM for the warranty repair, they are required to send in a screenshot of the calibration codes to GM to verify that the calibration is factory, and always has been. Since the dealer isn't gonna work for free, GM will find out about the programming. No getting around it.
__________________
Bye bye, Bumblebee!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
strych9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 01:19 AM   #7
LimaCharlie


 
LimaCharlie's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS/RS - 2004 Silverado
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,837
I'm certain it's standard procedure for the technician to check the ECM for an aftermarket reflash if there is a powertrain issue. I'm also certain GM will automatically void your powertrain warranty if a change is found in the ECM. You gotta pay to play when modifying a new car with a warranty.
__________________
2011 Summit White Camaro 1SS/RS
-6.2 LS3, TR6060, 3.45, G80

2004 Black Silverado 1500 2WD Regular Cab, Short Bed
-5.3 LM7, 4L60E, 3.42, G80
LimaCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 01:31 AM   #8
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,713
Flash is back to stock and try it. I spoke to Diablo about this and they claim the dealer can't tell. Let us know what they say. I could be wrong but I don't think anyone has reported being denied.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 02:42 AM   #9
BlaqWhole

 
BlaqWhole's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,824
OP, PLEASE let us know what happens. Flash it back to stock and take it in and report back on what happens. According to DS, their Trinity and Intune tuners cannot be detected or traced once removed from the ECU. You have a Predator tune so that is a totally different tuner. But I think we'd all be interested in what happens...I'll personally be watching since my Predator tune is arriving on Monday. I wanna know where I will stand officially. Keep us all posted...and good luck.
__________________
Nadia (2010 Camaro 2SS/RS LS3) - Vararam CAI - SLP Underdrive Pulley - V-Max TB and Power Wedge - OBX 1-7/8 LTs with HF Cats - OBX 3" Cat-Back - Custom Predator Tune - BER Ported Intake Manifold!!

Esmeralda (03 GT) - UDP, CAI, PP intake manifold/upper plenum/75mm TB, 4.10s, fully rebuilt/upgraded trans w/ Transpak, 2400 stall converter, full O/R exhaust, 04 Cobra tank/dual 255 LPH pumps, Sniper Tune!!

Saving the world...1 hp at a time!!
BlaqWhole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 06:50 AM   #10
Apex Motorsports
 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 25,211
I don't see how it could go undetected. The ECM keeps count of how many times it has been reflashed. If your VIN does not indicate that they (a Chevy service department) did it then you are busted.
Apex Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 06:53 AM   #11
The_Blur
Rock Chalk
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: Demon Super Sport
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 14,689
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Quote:
Originally Posted by strych9 View Post
In order for the dealer to get payment from GM for the warranty repair, they are required to send in a screenshot of the calibration codes to GM to verify that the calibration is factory, and always has been. Since the dealer isn't gonna work for free, GM will find out about the programming. No getting around it.
We all need to get paid to survive. GM is going to ask the dealer to verify that money is due by setting a standard for warranty work. That standard includes sending a screenshot of your ECM.

Keep in mind that a bad tune can turn your car into a useless hunk of metal. GM places a warranty on basically everything that makes your car move. Without that computer, there is only a pretty model in your garage, not a working Camaro.
The_Blur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 08:57 AM   #12
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apex Chase View Post
I don't see how it could go undetected. The ECM keeps count of how many times it has been reflashed. If your VIN does not indicate that they (a Chevy service department) did it then you are busted.


Plus the ECU stores the last 10 tunes. Even if you flash back to stock, your previous tune is still stored in the ECU and GM will still be able to see it.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 12:25 PM   #13
Fiveg56

 
Drives: -
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MN
Posts: 1,654
VOID
Fiveg56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 01:34 PM   #14
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,713
Hey OP I notice your from Yorba Linda. Which dealer are you planning on taking it to? Don't take no shit from them, if they say your car has been tuned remember they have to PROVE that a tune caused the damage. If they can't then take them to small claims court.

BTW, I doubt your tranny is bad. Did it throw a code? Have you checked your fluild level? Did this only happen once? If you can't duplicate it then the dealer won't be able to either.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.