Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics

Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics Camaro ZL1 specific topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2013, 12:15 AM   #101
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 857
Complete failure - going in for service tomorrow.
Anybody ever figure out where the effen fuse is? (CTOF)
It's either disguised in the Engine bay fuse box or
'conveniently' placed in the trunk.
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 01:32 AM   #102
ZL1Dave
 
ZL1Dave's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL-1 #1442
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phila. Pa
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricamaro View Post
Complete failure - going in for service tomorrow.
Anybody ever figure out where the effen fuse is? (CTOF)
It's either disguised in the Engine bay fuse box or
'conveniently' placed in the trunk.
Good luck please let us know what gets done to your car. The fuse for the EPS is apparently embedded inside the power cable for the unit and is not serviceable. They are to check voltage on both ends of the cable to verify the fuse is ok as part of chasing the ESP issues down.
ZL1Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 12:10 PM   #103
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZL1Dave View Post
Good luck please let us know what gets done to your car. The fuse for the EPS is apparently embedded inside the power cable for the unit and is not serviceable. They are to check voltage on both ends of the cable to verify the fuse is ok as part of chasing the ESP issues down.

So, a fusible link in the cable...?
Fortunately, I have only a few turns to make - mostly a straight run -
on the road to the dealer. Slow speed turning this beast with out PSA requires a lot of muscle.

My service guy tells me there is a recall to reprogram the radio for the voice recognition software, BTW
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 12:47 PM   #104
ZL1Dave
 
ZL1Dave's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL-1 #1442
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phila. Pa
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricamaro View Post
So, a fusible link in the cable...?
Fortunately, I have only a few turns to make - mostly a straight run -
on the road to the dealer. Slow speed turning this beast with out PSA requires a lot of muscle.

My service guy tells me there is a recall to reprogram the radio for the voice recognition software, BTW
Yeah basically if there is a problem with the fuse it sounds like the whole cable gets replaced. Is you car modified at all or completely stock?
ZL1Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 01:16 PM   #105
mattammo
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 Convertible
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6
So I have a 2013 ZL1 Vert Black 6M Black #4428 delivered to me on 1-29-13. On about March 20th it starts throwing the service PS warning along with intermittent stabilitrack and park assist warnings. Each time they would clear once it was brought up to temp and the car was left to sit for at least 10 minutes.

On 3-25, it threw the warnings, left the key on when I got to service shop, so it would not clear the codes. They pulled the codes (11 of them) and looked into it. They found a connector (X104) that showed moisture intrusion. Cleaned and put di-electric grease and resealed. Checked harness for any other wear, drove the car, and I picked it up the next day.

Two days later, same story. Each morning warnings come on, car gets hot, ECM clears the warnings after 10 to 15 minutes of being shut down. After four days, I take it back to the dealer.... but I turn it off when I get there. DUMMY!

No codes shown/No codes stored.... nothing. They keep the car for two days. Drive it in the rain, wet it down under the hood ..... nothing.

Pick the car up, head home, no problems. Get in it on Saturday morning to go the store. Codes come on again, drive it to the store, come out, and the codes are clear.

Being the weekend and with a family issue going on I decided to wait until this morning to call service. I go get in the car this morning..... Wait for it.......

THE FREAKING THING WON'T EVEN TURN OVER.

Nothing, Nada, Zippo.

Grab the battery charger to see if the battery is down... NOPE.

Check all of the connections in the trunk and at the post up front... ALL GOOD

It is showing all three warnings: Steering, Park, and Stabilitrak sequentially at each attempt to start it.



Called 1-800-CHEVUSA and they are coming to get it. I hate to say it, because I love this car, but I may be seeing some "lemon" in my future if they can't get it figured out.

Mattammo
mattammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 05:34 PM   #106
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 857
Update from my Service Writer:

"There is no communication with the power steering module from the sensor. The sensor is part of the electronic power steering gear assembly. The part is on restriction as most parts for this new of a specialty vehicle is. Gm has authorized us to replace the part and is shipping us a new one. "


Technology is great! - when it works
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 06:10 PM   #107
29er

 
29er's Avatar
 
Drives: 14 1LE Garage King
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MTL
Posts: 1,357
nowadays there's too much electronic gizmos,cars have 5 computers, or more.. and all are very sensible to temperature.. technology isn't so good when it's not working.. i really hope fo 2016 when gen6 goes out it will be a much simpler car will less computer back to basics.scrap all that electric steering is a pure fail from gm. just put back the hydraulic system that WORKS.

it really hurt to read all your complaints. i hate reading that,your are stuck with stupid check /warning lights in dash and you can't drive the damn thing ,that you paid so much for it.

if in a better world we had to choose computer car or not the choice would be simple.
29er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 01:47 PM   #108
mattammo
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 Convertible
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6
So here is my update.

Tow truck driver, who told me was a pro about ten times, broke the suspension ride height sensors when he was pulling it onto the roll back. He almost dropped it on the splitter at the dealer, the service techs came running out and stopped him.

Car started when it got to the dealer! Right now the service manager is going to drive it for a few days to see if he can replicate the issue, once they fix the ride height sensors.

Getting very leery of the outcome on this one.
mattammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 01:52 PM   #109
ZL1-V

 
ZL1-V's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,645
Have a little faith and don't be too negative in your thoughts regarding the whole issue. The tow truck driver has nothing to do with the dealer, and yes I would have been pissed also. You have to warn them about the sensors as they don't own the car or know much about them. We all know it will get sorted out eventually.
ZL1-V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 02:07 PM   #110
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 857
Update:

"The part just got here. Overnight priority arrived just a few minutes ago. We will get it installed today. I will contact you this afternoon."


Fortunately. I was close enough to drive because I didn't want to mess with towing it.
(glad I didn't after reading post # 108)
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 06:29 PM   #111
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,214
Almost sounds like a loose ground wire.
HDRDTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 06:42 PM   #112
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDRDTD View Post
Almost sounds like a loose ground wire.

Me or the car?
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:34 PM   #113
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 857
Update from the Dealer:

"So, the parts of course are installed, during the programming process the new module lost communication and has not yet re-gained communication. The tech is calling the technical assistance advisors back. I will keep you posted as I get updates."


Software bug??
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:47 PM   #114
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricamaro View Post
Update from the Dealer:

"So, the parts of course are installed, during the programming process the new module lost communication and has not yet re-gained communication. The tech is calling the technical assistance advisors back. I will keep you posted as I get updates."


Software bug??
Not neccessarily. Just what did the new module lose communication with?
It could be an intermittant physical connection between the module wand whatever it's communicating with.
HDRDTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 04:15 PM   #115
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDRDTD View Post
Almost sounds like a loose ground wire.

BINGO!!

"We found the “bug”, the advisor asked if there are any modifications to the vehicle, we told them no. After troubleshooting some power and ground circuits we noticed when the cold air intake we installed, the ground was moved. The location chosen was not sufficient ground for the steering circuit. Tech assist advised us that in some cases with grounds that were moved, would have intermittent loss of communication. When we re-ground the circuit, the communication comes back and everything works perfectly… your car will be done as soon as we put everything back together."





Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 04:46 PM   #116
jbotta

 
jbotta's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dyer, IN
Posts: 1,100
I just did my cai, glade i left ground alone, wow good info to know
jbotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:04 PM   #117
Whos_Drivin
Ski-U-Mah
 
Drives: '12 Camaro ZL1, '13 Silverado Z71
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 695
I think moving the ground for a cai and losing power steering is a recurring issue. Just means you really need to completely understand what you're doing when you mod...even the "simple" stuff. Glad they found the issue!
Whos_Drivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:44 PM   #118
hognutz


 
hognutz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: tangent or
Posts: 2,739
this system is completely electrical. Meaning power and ground. So it is just different to troubleshoot. mine has been not had any issue to have to look at yet.

this is the second story I have seen where a simple mod has disrupted the electroics cause the steering to be intermitten. the other was power cable just not being completely tight.

So some of these things are not GM's fault at all. When I did my CAI I purposely left my ground right in the factroy location. It looks nicer relocated but if you ground path is not good enough issues will pop up.
__________________
2013 ZL1 10%lower,rotfab,90mmtb,SP headers
(president of the tangent oregon trophy husband association, founding and only member)
2013 Dart
2013 Megacab 8" lift 38"mt's
hognutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:46 PM   #119
ZL1Dave
 
ZL1Dave's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL-1 #1442
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phila. Pa
Posts: 201
What CAI kit are you using? And was the ground installed somewhere not advised by the CAI manufacture. I have one I'm about to install but all this steering stuff makes me wonder if I'll regret it
ZL1Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:48 PM   #120
tmandoug1
Deep Sea
 
tmandoug1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, Fl.
Posts: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDRDTD View Post
Almost sounds like a loose ground wire.
Agree, when something doesn't work and you jiggle it and it does, 99 times out of a 100 it is loose wiring.
tmandoug1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:51 PM   #121
ZL1Dave
 
ZL1Dave's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL-1 #1442
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phila. Pa
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by hognutz View Post
this system is completely electrical. Meaning power and ground. So it is just different to troubleshoot. mine has been not had any issue to have to look at yet.

this is the second story I have seen where a simple mod has disrupted the electroics cause the steering to be intermitten. the other was power cable just not being completely tight.

So some of these things are not GM's fault at all. When I did my CAI I purposely left my ground right in the factroy location. It looks nicer relocated but if you ground path is not good enough issues will pop up.
Can I ask what CAI kit you have and what you did to retain the factory ground location?
ZL1Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:55 PM   #122
hognutz


 
hognutz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: tangent or
Posts: 2,739
I have the rotofab.

on the rotofab they actaully tell you to just re-route and put in the factory location but the cable is tad short to put the retainer for the wire back to stock by the power distribution blk.

so poeople relocate it on there own. I almost did because it would look cleaner. I have worked in electronics I knew I would have to get a good ground and just said f' it and put it in the stock location out of being lazy at that time.
__________________
2013 ZL1 10%lower,rotfab,90mmtb,SP headers
(president of the tangent oregon trophy husband association, founding and only member)
2013 Dart
2013 Megacab 8" lift 38"mt's
hognutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 08:19 PM   #123
Donovanl1685
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: santa clarita, CA
Posts: 37
Well add me to the list, mine has 1800 miles on it and did it for the 2nd time, this time I wasn't as lucky.. I was driving in a parking lot going between 5-10 mph made a left hand turn and the steering went. I ran over a curb knocking the crap out of my alignment and scared my rear wheel pretty bad. I started the car it felt like a million times and finally my steering returned.. I took it to the dealer this morning and they are keeping it over the weekend so they put me up in a rental... The thing that bothers me is of course when I took it in, it's not doing the problem.. I understand that things happen, especially to first year cars.. I just hope Chevy takes care of my car.. It's frustrating as this is my baby... Kinda at a loss.

I don't really feel unsafe driving it, all though when I drove it there this morning it was in the back of my head that what if it goes out.. Or even what if there would have been a person on the curb?? It's really un-safe.
Donovanl1685 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 08:46 PM   #124
Whos_Drivin
Ski-U-Mah
 
Drives: '12 Camaro ZL1, '13 Silverado Z71
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donovanl1685 View Post
Well add me to the list, mine has 1800 miles on it and did it for the 2nd time, this time I wasn't as lucky.. I was driving in a parking lot going between 5-10 mph made a left hand turn and the steering went. I ran over a curb knocking the crap out of my alignment and scared my rear wheel pretty bad. I started the car it felt like a million times and finally my steering returned.. I took it to the dealer this morning and they are keeping it over the weekend so they put me up in a rental... The thing that bothers me is of course when I took it in, it's not doing the problem.. I understand that things happen, especially to first year cars.. I just hope Chevy takes care of my car.. It's frustrating as this is my baby... Kinda at a loss.

I don't really feel unsafe driving it, all though when I drove it there this morning it was in the back of my head that what if it goes out.. Or even what if there would have been a person on the curb?? It's really un-safe.
Out of curiosity, do you have any mods? I'm wondering of this is happening to 100% stock cars too.
Whos_Drivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 08:54 PM   #125
dcosta
 
dcosta's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 ss/rs camaro
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: peoria,az
Posts: 157
No Mods!!!

I have lost p/s twice and I only have 600 miles on the car..
Not sure that this is fixed by just a ground but who knows.
We will see if it does it again.
No mods have been done and have checked and rechecked all grounds and connections.
__________________

DCosta9
dcosta is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.