Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
Dtrimpi87
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS A6 & 2011 1LT/RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,853
Quick service question

This probably belongs in a different section but this section gets more traffic. I have to take my camaro to the dealer tomorrow for a CEL. The light went off today but I read the stored codes and I had 1 for a misfire in cylinder 4 and 1 for the 2nd bank running lean. The only engine mod I have is a K&N Typhoon intake. Should I put the stock intake on before going to the dealer? I have the card that comes with the K&N that says the product WILL NOT void your warranty.
Dtrimpi87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:07 PM   #2
jd10013


 
Drives: 2012 camaro
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: central VA
Posts: 2,877
I was always under the impression that a misfire would cause the CEL to blink, as opposed to steady on.
jd10013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:24 PM   #3
Stealthpanda

 
Stealthpanda's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 858
Intake shouldnt throw a code, but putting it back stock shouldnt be too much of a hassle and may make things easier in the long run. Cheers.
Stealthpanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:33 PM   #4
Sterling


 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 5,903
It's been quite a while, but I thought I remembered a thread about the K&N's causing a CEL... was that just the V6 though?
Sterling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:37 PM   #5
Stealthpanda

 
Stealthpanda's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 858
I mean... I was told some do. Random cars MAFs didnt like it or whatever. Dealer told me to be careful on what Cai I used and that there example was the Cobalts didnt like certain intakes and some threw codes... Id have to assume that this isnt intake related. Who knows though, certainly not me. Cheers.
Stealthpanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:43 PM   #6
menendez1293
Emerald Coast Camaros
 
menendez1293's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tallahassee FL
Posts: 9,259
It won't hurt to but I was told by my delear that a CAI won't void anything unless maybe the oil from the filter damaged the mass air flow sensor
__________________
Proud owner of litho #179 Click Picture for Build Thread
menendez1293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:44 PM   #7
Dtrimpi87
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS A6 & 2011 1LT/RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,853
It came on yesterday when I was driving the car moderately hard. No overheating issues, all fluids are good. It was a steady CEL, no flashing. After letting the car sit for an hour last night I restarted it and the light was gone. Its stayed off all day today too. It does seem to run a little rough on idle but everything sounds normal and it doesn't skip a beat when on the throttle. I'm taking it to the dealer to get checked out but I was just wondering if theyre going to give me a hard time for the K&N and be able to deny any warranty repairs if needed.

Sent from the rocket in my pocket, my all powerful DROID BIONIC.
Dtrimpi87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 08:11 AM   #9
clg_98ta


 
clg_98ta's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,701
Well, they will almost certainly blame the intake for the codes... so the problem won't be covered by your warranty. The only question is will they go so far as to void parts of your warranty...

It it were me, I would replace the stock intake and drive around for a few weeks. If the code comes back, take it in for warranty service. If it does not come back, you can reinstall the K&N and see if the code comes back. If it does, you'll probably need a tune (voiding powertrain warranty).
__________________
Black 2SS ordered 1/4/2010, received 2/19/2010



clg_98ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 12:19 PM   #10
merlin803
 
merlin803's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Ashen Gray Camaro 2SS RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 344
Did you check your MAFs to see if it is "weak" one? I know that I saw some threads on here about certain ones not being able to handle aftermarket CAI's.

I believe that you want one that has a two digit ID on it as opposed to a one digit one.
merlin803 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 02:47 AM   #11
Dtrimpi87
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS A6 & 2011 1LT/RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,853
Well the dealer said they didn't see anything wrong. The tech pulled the codes and monitored the ECM and says everything is well within spec. No misfires detected and fuel trims are fine. Checked all the wiring for cuts, burns, and abrasions and said everything looks good. Cleared the codes and said to bring it back if it happens again.

The only thing they said about the K&N was that it wouldn't be the first time they've seen a K&N throw codes on a Camaro. My service writer said that if it happens again to look at getting a different brand intake lol completely the opposite of what I thought they'd say.

Sent from the rocket in my pocket, my all powerful DROID BIONIC.
Dtrimpi87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 02:49 AM   #12
Dtrimpi87
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS A6 & 2011 1LT/RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin803 View Post
Did you check your MAFs to see if it is "weak" one? I know that I saw some threads on here about certain ones not being able to handle aftermarket CAI's.

I believe that you want one that has a two digit ID on it as opposed to a one digit one.
Now that you mention it, I do remember reading something about that. Ill check my MAF sensor out tomorrow.

Sent from the rocket in my pocket, my all powerful DROID BIONIC.
Dtrimpi87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 06:46 PM   #13
Stealthpanda

 
Stealthpanda's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtrimpi87 View Post
Well the dealer said they didn't see anything wrong. The tech pulled the codes and monitored the ECM and says everything is well within spec. No misfires detected and fuel trims are fine. Checked all the wiring for cuts, burns, and abrasions and said everything looks good. Cleared the codes and said to bring it back if it happens again.

The only thing they said about the K&N was that it wouldn't be the first time they've seen a K&N throw codes on a Camaro. My service writer said that if it happens again to look at getting a different brand intake lol completely the opposite of what I thought they'd say.

Sent from the rocket in my pocket, my all powerful DROID BIONIC.
Yeah, every dealer is different. I know Elkins did say there wouldnt be an issue, unless they could prove the modification caused whatever issue that might have risen. Cheers!
Stealthpanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 08:30 PM   #14
TooCool5
Resident Gearhead
 
TooCool5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LS 3.6 LLT V6 325 HP
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central CT
Posts: 3,619
Fuel injector cleaner.
__________________
2010 Camaro Auto, Inferno Orange, Titanium Interior, Gearhead Wheels AIRAID CAI
TooCool5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 08:43 PM   #15
GaBoy25


 
GaBoy25's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS M6/2500HD Lmm LTZ
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Georgia
Posts: 2,551
our diesel trucks cant handle the k&n oiled filters either. wreaks havoc with the maf
__________________
FASTER than my SS....for now

2500HD (with a couple parts)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyotekiller View Post
I wonder if this could be why my car idles like its retarded...
GaBoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.