Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Nickey Chicago
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > Off-topic Discussions > Gaming Lounge

Gaming Lounge For all the gamers out there - consoles, PC, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2012, 09:31 AM   #1
sasquash1984
502 RWHP N/A
 
sasquash1984's Avatar
 
Drives: The yeti
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Saginaw/ Ft Worth TX
Posts: 3,076
Minecraft for xbox

Is addicting
__________________
sasquash1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 07:40 PM   #2
mastertypodemon
Late Night Crew
 
mastertypodemon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 1LT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Stafford, VA [Formerly Dallas, TX]
Posts: 1,089
More addicting on the PC where we get mods and texture packs.

But yeah, I've wasted whole days in that game. Just to delete and start over.
mastertypodemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 11:45 AM   #3
Brokinarrow


 
Brokinarrow's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Honda NC700x
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indianola, IA
Posts: 5,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastertypodemon View Post
More addicting on the PC where we get mods and texture packs.

But yeah, I've wasted whole days in that game. Just to delete and start over.
__________________
Brokinarrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:27 PM   #4
mastertypodemon
Late Night Crew
 
mastertypodemon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 1LT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Stafford, VA [Formerly Dallas, TX]
Posts: 1,089
Here's a few of the various world's that I've built. Of course, I always end up not liking something, delete the world and start over.
Attached Images
    
mastertypodemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 01:11 PM   #5
DarkFox1
 
DarkFox1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS A6
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Douglasville GA
Posts: 647
I've been playing minecraft since alpha.

I'm not a console gamer, and don't really game much at all besides minecraft.

I'm one of many admins on a private server.

this is my current project:



This is the GLSL shader mod with Coteire texture pack.

I made my own texture pack, vulpescraft, that you can get from planetminecraft if you want it.

some of my other work:









DarkFox1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 02:24 PM   #6
mastertypodemon
Late Night Crew
 
mastertypodemon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 1LT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Stafford, VA [Formerly Dallas, TX]
Posts: 1,089
Holy crap. I'm deleting my pathetic post now. :(
mastertypodemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 03:32 PM   #7
irocnroll


 
irocnroll's Avatar
 
Drives: '91 RS Vert, '11 Grand Cherokee
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,329
Dark those are some amazing creations. How long did it take you to put those together? Was everything used to create them mined or are you using addons to create the materials needed.
__________________
irocnroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 04:15 PM   #8
CamaroKid300
ace5.org
 
CamaroKid300's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: McDonough, Georgia--Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,956
Someone should start an online PC server for us to play on with PC....I've been itching to play....but hated the xbox controls after being use to PC.
__________________
NightOwl RGB Halos, Kooks 1-7/8 LT Headers, Catless Midpipes, Borla ATAK Catback, 35% Tint, Vinyl Gill Blackouts, RX Catch Can, Skip Shift Eliminator, Devil Tail Side Stripes, Front Lip Blackout, Dual Color Bowties, Ghosted Sidemarkers,
Exhaust Video (Manifolds) Exhaust Video (Headers) White Lightning
A.C.E.5.
420 RWHP/422 RWTQ
CamaroKid300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 04:49 PM   #9
DarkFox1
 
DarkFox1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS A6
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Douglasville GA
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by irocnroll View Post
Dark those are some amazing creations. How long did it take you to put those together? Was everything used to create them mined or are you using addons to create the materials needed.
The only thing not in creative mode in those shots is the small house on the island. I had some trouble with my internet lately and wanted to do something survival in the meantime. I find it helps give the work meaning to "build to purpose."

Everything else was built in creative mode. The server I use has a mod called worldedit that can rapidly increase build rates, and provides a builder with protection from greifing and other nonsense.

I have no life at all, so this is what I do. It's my one trick.

The white wool city (I'm calling it atlantis because it's a large disc in the ocean, and has an undercity with waste management n whatnot..) has taken me since 1.2 came out, I don't remember how long that's been.

Before that the ship took about a week to frame, but isn't entirely done, so I'd say a couple months on it. It was SUPPOSED to be a 1:1 of the titanic, but I failed miserably at that.. so I would more say it's an olympic class turn of the century ocean liner. (It's too short, and too narrow to be a 1:1 scale of the titanic.)

The one with computer screens is a "space ship" I built in the end. It's not so impressive on the outside, so I've abandoned it. Took about a week to make.

The castle is part of an "adventure map" I made with some of the other builders on the server. They got bored of their projects so it was canned, but I held onto the map, and have included it in a map with a lot of other builds, ships, cities etc. It was supposed to use noppe's npc mod to actuall give the player a single player experience. But I haven't touched it in a while now.

The last picture is part of a "plantation" I built on our 1.1 server. The houses were empty except for mobs that liked to spawn in them. There was a large brick mansion at the end of the road. To the right you can see other structures which were "plants" that used pistons to mash cows and things to death.

This is the mansion at the end of the walkway:



oh, and this is one of the meat processing plants. It could kill up to 16 cows at once lol.

DarkFox1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 04:58 PM   #10
irocnroll


 
irocnroll's Avatar
 
Drives: '91 RS Vert, '11 Grand Cherokee
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroKid300 View Post
Someone should start an online PC server for us to play on with PC....I've been itching to play....but hated the xbox controls after being use to PC.
I'd love to play on a server with people that wont grief. I have an account but havent been into in a while as I couldnt find a decent group of people to play with. And I am not much for solo play in the game.
__________________
irocnroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 05:02 PM   #11
DarkFox1
 
DarkFox1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS A6
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Douglasville GA
Posts: 647
Sorry to pic spam..



But I just LOVE this screen.

this was before Mojang fully implemented AI for the egg placed mobs. NPCs would just stand there after being placed.

So naturally.. I made a squidward army.
DarkFox1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 05:12 PM   #12
Mr. Unassailable
 
Mr. Unassailable's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS MT, 2010 SHO, 2004 S60R
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 569
I downloaded it at Monday at 9 pm. Played until 10. The played from 9am to 8pm Tuesday. NONSTOP.
My fathers new girlfriends child showed me this game. At first I was skeptical, but damn it's pretty fun.


Sent from my iPhone
__________________
Garage: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6, 2010 Taurus SHO, 2004 S60R GT, 2008 F250
Mr. Unassailable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 05:36 PM   #13
CamaroKid300
ace5.org
 
CamaroKid300's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: McDonough, Georgia--Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by irocnroll View Post
I'd love to play on a server with people that wont grief. I have an account but havent been into in a while as I couldnt find a decent group of people to play with. And I am not much for solo play in the game.
Does anyone know how to set up an online server? This past year at college all my roommates played so we had a desktop computer that's sole purpose was to run our server 24/7 and we could access it all over campus as long as we were on Auburns WI-FI but we couldn't ever figure out how to get it online where we could access it elsewhere.

I don't grief...just like to build shit (no where as good as those above...just give me some stone brick and let me make a square house with a wooden plank roof )

and yes, it gets very addicting....I play in spurts...I'll play for a week consistently, but then take a two week break then get back on it.
__________________
NightOwl RGB Halos, Kooks 1-7/8 LT Headers, Catless Midpipes, Borla ATAK Catback, 35% Tint, Vinyl Gill Blackouts, RX Catch Can, Skip Shift Eliminator, Devil Tail Side Stripes, Front Lip Blackout, Dual Color Bowties, Ghosted Sidemarkers,
Exhaust Video (Manifolds) Exhaust Video (Headers) White Lightning
A.C.E.5.
420 RWHP/422 RWTQ
CamaroKid300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 05:41 PM   #14
Mr. Unassailable
 
Mr. Unassailable's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS MT, 2010 SHO, 2004 S60R
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 569
I'd play on the pc. I mined 30~ diamonds and like 50~ golds yesterday and let my possible much younger step brother and his friends make armor and a portal with it all. I have a mining technique that is second to none. I'd be the guy stocking chests full of stuff for anyone to use.


Sent from my iPhone
__________________
Garage: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6, 2010 Taurus SHO, 2004 S60R GT, 2008 F250
Mr. Unassailable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 05:56 PM   #15
DarkFox1
 
DarkFox1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS A6
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Douglasville GA
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroKid300 View Post
Does anyone know how to set up an online server? This past year at college all my roommates played so we had a desktop computer that's sole purpose was to run our server 24/7 and we could access it all over campus as long as we were on Auburns WI-FI but we couldn't ever figure out how to get it online where we could access it elsewhere.

I don't grief...just like to build shit (no where as good as those above...just give me some stone brick and let me make a square house with a wooden plank roof )

and yes, it gets very addicting....I play in spurts...I'll play for a week consistently, but then take a two week break then get back on it.

server setup is very easy.

Step 1. go to bukkit.org

download craftbukkit.

step 2. copy the bat file instructions on the website and open the port you establish. (25590 I think it is.. that's without looking it up tho so I may be off by the last 2 digits.)

step 3. open your firewall port and direct people to your ip.

I'll be happy to login to test it with you if you'd like.

To add mods like worldedit, just make a folder in your server folder called plugins, and drop the zip files into it.

I'm not sure if xboxes can connect to these kinds of servers.
DarkFox1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 06:19 PM   #16
CamaroKid300
ace5.org
 
CamaroKid300's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: McDonough, Georgia--Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,956
I don't have a fast enough internet connection to host servers, nor do I have a computer that runs 24/7 to run the server. But we used bukkit and the essentials package on our server in the dorm. Loved being able to teleport places and set homes in caves and stuff.

I'd like to see how you mine if you found that many diamonds in a day!
__________________
NightOwl RGB Halos, Kooks 1-7/8 LT Headers, Catless Midpipes, Borla ATAK Catback, 35% Tint, Vinyl Gill Blackouts, RX Catch Can, Skip Shift Eliminator, Devil Tail Side Stripes, Front Lip Blackout, Dual Color Bowties, Ghosted Sidemarkers,
Exhaust Video (Manifolds) Exhaust Video (Headers) White Lightning
A.C.E.5.
420 RWHP/422 RWTQ
CamaroKid300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 07:02 PM   #17
Mr. Unassailable
 
Mr. Unassailable's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS MT, 2010 SHO, 2004 S60R
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 569
I'll autocad something up in a day or two. But basically, I dug down to bedrock then into the corner of the map. Typically diamond and gold are atleast 2 wide so I run rows about 250 blocks long then over 3 and straight back where I started. I run across 5 or so blocks in each end so I know when I hit the end. If I hit lava I go over 3 and head back. Once I clear a squarish area (250x250) I move up 3 and repeat on the next level. If I hit a cave I build bridges with the cobbles I have collected. I also fill in all my blanks with cobble when I pull diamond, gold, red stone, blue stuff, Ect. I put some storage boxes, furnaces, and a craft bench down in the mine. It takes like 3 minutes to get out so I save 6 minutes by doing alot of tool making and cobblestone dropping down in the mine. When I come up its to drop good stuff up stairs or just break from digging.




Sent from my iPhone
__________________
Garage: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6, 2010 Taurus SHO, 2004 S60R GT, 2008 F250
Mr. Unassailable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 07:20 PM   #18
CamaroKid300
ace5.org
 
CamaroKid300's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: McDonough, Georgia--Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,956
So you're doing this on xbox or PC?

I didn't think there were boundaries on PC.

But sounds like a nice plan....i might try that.
__________________
NightOwl RGB Halos, Kooks 1-7/8 LT Headers, Catless Midpipes, Borla ATAK Catback, 35% Tint, Vinyl Gill Blackouts, RX Catch Can, Skip Shift Eliminator, Devil Tail Side Stripes, Front Lip Blackout, Dual Color Bowties, Ghosted Sidemarkers,
Exhaust Video (Manifolds) Exhaust Video (Headers) White Lightning
A.C.E.5.
420 RWHP/422 RWTQ
CamaroKid300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 07:42 PM   #19
DarkFox1
 
DarkFox1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS A6
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Douglasville GA
Posts: 647
Yea.. no such thing as a "corner of the map" in minecraft PC.

There's several ways to mine, some are more effective than others.

What I've seen most often is to tunnel in near bedrock, then tunnel every other block between 2 shafts, that way you get maximum coverage.

There's also the method I use which proves to be almost entirely ineffective.

which would be a 2x2 tunnel in random directions near lava.

Dunno the xbox limitations, but for pc we have nearly unlimited world size, and 256 height. The ground is ~64.
DarkFox1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 09:39 PM   #20
Mr. Unassailable
 
Mr. Unassailable's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS MT, 2010 SHO, 2004 S60R
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 569
Corner of the map being the key word, sugar cane, paper, map, gives you a "map" area, I work within that area. I have not tried to go forever, but I'm sure there is an end of some kind, though it would be sweet if it was a round world and you eventually got back to where you started. I like using the map because it's easy to get mixed up and lost in the mine tunnels. 2x2 blocks is close to what I'm doing only I do 3 x 250~ based on the geometry of every thing I've found I think 2x is overkill. I'd even venture to say 4x would be sufficient.


Sent from my iPhone
__________________
Garage: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6, 2010 Taurus SHO, 2004 S60R GT, 2008 F250
Mr. Unassailable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 06:44 AM   #21
mastertypodemon
Late Night Crew
 
mastertypodemon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 1LT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Stafford, VA [Formerly Dallas, TX]
Posts: 1,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Unassailable View Post
I have not tried to go forever, but I'm sure there is an end of some kind, though it would be sweet if it was a round world and you eventually got back to where you started.
Nope. It literally goes on until the game crashes. Using mods, you can transport from 0,0,0 (center) to 12,550,820, 0, 0 and still be able to go on. Though after about 12,550,820 the chunk spawner starts weirding out. You get terrain that you can walk through, huge lines missing, etc. If your computer can handle it and you can navigate it, you can continue to keep going.
Attached Images
 
mastertypodemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 07:11 AM   #22
Mr. Unassailable
 
Mr. Unassailable's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS MT, 2010 SHO, 2004 S60R
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastertypodemon View Post
Nope. It literally goes on until the game crashes. Using mods, you can transport from 0,0,0 (center) to 12,550,820, 0, 0 and still be able to go on. Though after about 12,550,820 the chunk spawner starts weirding out. You get terrain that you can walk through, huge lines missing, etc. If your computer can handle it and you can navigate it, you can continue to keep going.
I wonder if it's the same for Xbox. I did got lost once and wondered around from mountain top to mountain top for an hour before giving up and reloading from a save.


Sent from my iPhone
__________________
Garage: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6, 2010 Taurus SHO, 2004 S60R GT, 2008 F250
Mr. Unassailable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 09:01 AM   #23
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,285
I read that when you first start a new world for the first time, the chunk spawner spawns an area equal to 8 times the size of the earth and if you go beyond that it will spawn another area of the same size. So it is pretty easy to get lost.

Oh and I just want to say, I hate you sasquash1984 for pointing me to this very addicting game lmao.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 09:11 AM   #24
DarkFox1
 
DarkFox1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS A6
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Douglasville GA
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastertypodemon View Post
Nope. It literally goes on until the game crashes. Using mods, you can transport from 0,0,0 (center) to 12,550,820, 0, 0 and still be able to go on. Though after about 12,550,820 the chunk spawner starts weirding out. You get terrain that you can walk through, huge lines missing, etc. If your computer can handle it and you can navigate it, you can continue to keep going.
yup.. the farlands.

I've never been there, but I hear it's.. unpleasent... on your computer.
DarkFox1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 02:12 PM   #25
sasquash1984
502 RWHP N/A
 
sasquash1984's Avatar
 
Drives: The yeti
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Saginaw/ Ft Worth TX
Posts: 3,076
Those are some nice builds there...FYI the Xbox version is like 4 or 5 updates behind pc
__________________
sasquash1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.