Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Hines Performance (HPE)
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Old 05-22-2012, 03:14 AM   #1
Noviathan

Drives: 2012 2LT RS Camaro Coupe
Factory Amp & Subwoofers

Hey guys, I just bought my first car ever a 2012 2LT RS Camaro coupe and I am loving it. Everything is good but I just have a few questions about the sound. I have the BA premium sound system package and I was wondering if I can just use that factory amp to hookup subwoofers to. I plan on getting a subwoofer from subthump. How bad would the sound be if I didn't use another amp? Also I have no prior knowledge of installing subs or amps to any car. So any advice would be much appreciated!

P.S Can anyone of you guys who have installed subs and amps before list some tools/parts I should buy to make this installation idiot proof for a newbie? Thanks alot fellas
Noviathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 04:17 AM   #2
Bildo

Drives: 2012 2SS/RS LS3
You have to use and aftermarket amp, subs won't work without em. With the Subthump X3 harness all you really need is some exviromental splices, a crimper, heat gun, and wire strippers. You will need an amp install kit with the correct gauge wire and fuse setup for whatever amp / sub combo you are using. If you have never done it before I would reccommend having a friend who has done it before show you, or get busy watching videos online from car audio sites.
Bildo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 04:58 AM   #3
Noviathan

Drives: 2012 2LT RS Camaro Coupe
do you think its a good idea if i purchase the dual sub package from subthump? just to get me started and ill tweak/change amps/subs later.