Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Solo Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2012, 08:11 PM   #1
flyer08
Tri-County Camaros
 
flyer08's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: St Pete
Posts: 2,433
Upgrade speakers

First off Ill say Im a newb and need help. Ive looked around and found high remarks on this amp, JL audio 9005. I plan on running one 10" or possibly two 10" subs. Either one JL Audio 10W7-3 or two Rockford Fosgate P2D210 Punch 10". Would this amp be beneficial if I ran 500watts to sub and 400 watts to stock BA speakers? Or is this even possible? Am I getting to much? I want something that will hit when I have songs with bass but I dont need something so big/loud that I cant hear the lyrics.

Thanks
flyer08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 08:15 PM   #2
jeepguy_1980

 
jeepguy_1980's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,311
I have the non-BA system in my car. I added the HD900/5 and upgraded the front door speakers at the same time. I powered the stock rears, which are a lot worse than yours, off of the amp for a month or so, without any issues. It absolutely improved their sound.

The HD900/5 manual tells you what output voltage to use, based on the impedance of the speakers being used. I set it accordingly, and believe it would have lasted indefinitely.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...7&postcount=32
jeepguy_1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:07 AM   #3
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,832
I ran the Arc Audio 900.6 to my factory door speakers and as long as you don't turn the gain up too high they don't sound that bad.

I'm running a single 10" sub that has plenty of bass for most days. It isn't going to break any SPL records, but it give the music the right touch it is missing from the factory.

If you don't like the way it sounds, you may want to look into Hybrid Audio Technology. They make a great product.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Powered by Cunningham MotorSports
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 09:45 PM   #4
flyer08
Tri-County Camaros
 
flyer08's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: St Pete
Posts: 2,433
Taking out the stock amp and upgrading to a different 5 channel amp so I can add a sub, will the current wiring be able to be used or will I need to rewire things? Ive never changed stuff out like this before
flyer08 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.