Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2012, 02:49 AM   #1
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 479
4 gauge cluster

Quick question . I have the chance to get the 4 gauge cluster out of a 2012 camaro and put it in my 1SS for 100 dollars. Ok now my question Can i just disconnect it from the 2012 and plug it right into my 2010 or do I need a special harness?. Here is a pic of the harness coming off the gauge cluster. Is this all that I would need

Thanks guys!
__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 03:29 AM   #2
Tipper69
ICE Member
 
Tipper69's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tama,IA
Posts: 259
I wouldnt think so.Then again mine already came with um.
__________________
Keep your eyes open.
Tipper69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 04:23 AM   #3
5cents
Dave
 
5cents's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS - Black/CGM Stripes
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 437
I've always been told that all the wiring for various options is in each Camaro, that makes it easier going down the line. If the vehicle being built calls for a gauge package, then they plug it in, if it doesn't call for a gauge package then the wires are just left hanging.

Maybe one of our Oshawa members that works at the plant can verify this. If the wiring harness is not in your Camaro, you better make sure the gauge package you are buying comes with all the necessary wiring. Most of that stuff is just "plug-n-play"
Attached Images
 
5cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 06:04 AM   #4
djmikehop
 
djmikehop's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2ss/ RS Victory Red
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bucks County PA
Posts: 134
Take the under dash off your current car and take a look. I know that in BMW's all wiring harness are there and ready to be used. Good luck. let us know
__________________
djmikehop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 06:09 AM   #5
TheHorse13

 
TheHorse13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Black SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Harpers Ferry, WV
Posts: 1,118
Yes. The wiring harness is the same in all of the cars. Many people have added the gauge cluster and there is a DIY/HOWTO on this site along with pictures.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...+gauge+install
TheHorse13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 06:26 AM   #6
1954 Belair-man

 
1954 Belair-man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro IOM 1SS M6
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 889
Easy install, plug n play!
1954 Belair-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:01 AM   #7
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 479
yeah i was looking at that link last night and there seem to me another harness piece that connets between the gauge harness and the main harness down on the right side of the consul
__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:52 AM   #8
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 479
cant get the link to work
__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:44 AM   #9
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS King View Post
yeah i was looking at that link last night and there seem to me another harness piece that connets between the gauge harness and the main harness down on the right side of the consul
Yes, there is an additional harness that you'll need if you're using gauges taken from another Camaro.
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:49 AM   #10
06_warrior

 
06_warrior's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1SS LS3 M6 black on black :)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: SD
Posts: 1,327
Not all guages will work with all cars. V6 & V8 automatics use the same. V6 manual is different from V8 manual. So there are 3 different guages.
06_warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:50 AM   #11
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 479
Thanks does anyone know that part number?

If do any help on that would be a lifesaver
__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:51 AM   #12
06_warrior

 
06_warrior's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1SS LS3 M6 black on black :)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: SD
Posts: 1,327
Here are the part #'s for the gauges:

Automatic V6 or V8 - 92247189
Manual V6 - 92247187
Manual V8 - 92247188
06_warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:53 AM   #13
sycraft
COTW 5/06/2013
 
sycraft's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Corvette Stingray Z51-Ho-Vette
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 3,160
If it is coming from a 6cly 6 spd car and will not work with yours, I will buy it from you for a little profit to you.
sycraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:53 AM   #14
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 479
Just need the extra harness part number.
not the whole gauge kit
Thanks again
__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.