Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2012, 05:13 PM   #1
2L82RUN
 
2L82RUN's Avatar
 
Drives: ABM SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 587
Blinking CEL?

I've recently noticed I'm getting a blinking CEL at times while driving. It's not setting a code of any type and doesn't seem to affect performance at all. Does anyone have any idea what is going on? I'm running 8-9psi with a boost cam. Any ideas welcomed
__________________
2L82RUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:22 PM   #2
camslambam
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 SS, 06 SRT10 Ram
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: C. America
Posts: 1,658
Hmmm.....

So you have a CEL but no codes are showing up on your scanner/sct/whatever you use?

Might be the light malfunctioning...?
camslambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:22 PM   #3
xx_ED_xx

 
xx_ED_xx's Avatar
 
Drives: 04 Silverado
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Floriduh!
Posts: 1,114
code reader would be a smart investment
__________________
xx_ED_xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:23 PM   #4
camslambam
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 SS, 06 SRT10 Ram
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: C. America
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by xx_ED_xx View Post
code reader would be a smart investment
By saying it's not throwing codes I'd assume he means nothing is appearing on his scanner.

If he doesn't have a scanner...


lol
camslambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:27 PM   #5
2L82RUN
 
2L82RUN's Avatar
 
Drives: ABM SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 587
Yep. Have a scanner. No codes setting. CEL will blink for up to 30 secs or so and then go away. Hasn't stayed on to this point. Owners manual mentions a blinking CEL and refers to a misfire. If that's the case it may be the cam but I never noticed it blinking until the past week or so
__________________
2L82RUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:35 PM   #6
10aSSee D


 
10aSSee D's Avatar
 
Drives: Silver 2010 SS Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 2,433
I had a cel come on for a while then go off. When it was on I read the code and it was the o2 sensor. Then it would go away and come back on for a day or two and disappear. As of right now no cel....
__________________
MODS:

ADM built 417, 2.9L Whipple with 3.250 pulley, ADM ported and polished LSA heads,ADM stage3 cam,ADM LSA belt drive system,ADM CAI race scoop, ADM dual fuel pumps, ID 850's, BMR full suspension, Gforce 9 inch kit with 3.5 inch driveshaft, Street Slayer twin carbon clutch, Lingenfelter oil seperator. Tuned by built by ADM Performance, 763rwhp,705rwtq
10aSSee D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:37 PM   #7
xx_ED_xx

 
xx_ED_xx's Avatar
 
Drives: 04 Silverado
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Floriduh!
Posts: 1,114
If the CEL is flashing there is a code PERIOD. Get a scanner that can read it
__________________
xx_ED_xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:42 PM   #8
camslambam
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 SS, 06 SRT10 Ram
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: C. America
Posts: 1,658
What rpm do you idle at?

Does RPM drop sharply after you stop accelerating?
camslambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:49 PM   #9
jay@redline-motorsports
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 930
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: fl
Posts: 85
flashing cel is a p0300 random misfire
jay@redline-motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:49 PM   #10
MA2010SS
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Somerset MA
Posts: 667
Check your plugs, I worked on a silverado with a 5.3 had a small cam and a couple of other minor supporting mods with an occasional flashing cel without and codes, found 3 fouled plugs...just a thought, same engine family with similar problem as you are describing
__________________
2010 Camaro SS Whipple SC, CAI Inc Intake, TSP 1 7/8" LT headers no cats, 3" magnaflow exhaust, HPT, RX Catch Can, LSR Toe Rods, LSR Trailing Arms, ALKY Control Meth, McLeod RXT Twin Disc, ZL1 fuel pump, 3.73 ZL1 Differential Kit, Tuned by SLOWHAWK Performance Bridgewater MA 577RWHP
MA2010SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:52 PM   #11
2L82RUN
 
2L82RUN's Avatar
 
Drives: ABM SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay@redline-motorsports View Post
flashing cel is a p0300 random misfire
Thanks. That's what I was looking for. I was setting p0300 after cam install on occasion. Tuner advised it was due to the cam lope and computer throwing the code thinking it was a misfire. He tuned the code out so that's probably why I'm seeing it blink now without setting the code
__________________
2L82RUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:07 PM   #12
jay@redline-motorsports
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 930
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: fl
Posts: 85
there is a table in the ecm that is time between crankshaft targets vs rpm if the car takes to long between events it thinks there's a misfire. when the car lopes because of the cam it takes too long between targets and sees a misfire and since there's no rhyme or reason to the lope vs cyl # it thinks its random, not isolated to a cylinder. if the code is deleted then you loose that diag capability completely, rather those thresholds need to be raised in the idle region and left alone elsewhere so the code can still function.
jay@redline-motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:44 PM   #13
ducted
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS/LS3
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 20
I had the same error and was a ignition cable not properly connected to a spark plug.
ducted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 11:20 AM   #14
Miguelito
BAD TORO
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS black/iom
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: near Dortmund / Germany
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2L82RUN View Post
Thanks. That's what I was looking for. I was setting p0300 after cam install on occasion. Tuner advised it was due to the cam lope and computer throwing the code thinking it was a misfire. He tuned the code out so that's probably why I'm seeing it blink now without setting the code
I also have the same issues after installing cam... blinking CEL and after 30 seconds its gone.

What was your solution ? Did you change anything ?
__________________
"Bad Toro" 2SS RS, GFX black painted, KW V3, 10x22" ET35 SAT-Rims with 265/30 R22 and 295/25 R22 Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta, tinted windows, Kooks LT-Headers and Cats, Henriks Performance (CKP470) Cam, Hurst Short Shifter, LED Daytime Running Lights, Bowtie Delete, Volant CAI, Sidemarker clear, Black taillights and bezels, Braking steel flex lines with Dot4, Separation of circulation braking and clutch system, IdealG clutch master cylinder, Lingenfelter Clutch Pedal Return Kit...
Miguelito is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.