Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vector Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2012, 07:09 PM   #1
camaro104
 
camaro104's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Woodland Park, N.J.
Posts: 286
Send a message via AIM to camaro104
Single din radio install.....

Got bord so i had an extra radio laying aroun so i decited to come up with a single din radio with the original face plate, This is what i came up with.....
Attached Images
      
camaro104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 07:38 PM   #2
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,694


so does the screen just slide into the headunit? and more importantely, will it work?
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 11:13 PM   #3
Alfieboy
Madman
 
Alfieboy's Avatar
 
Drives: White 2014 ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: RICHMOND VA
Posts: 1,252
its a retractable screen that goes back into head unit.. now if it works..that I dunno..
Alfieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 11:18 PM   #4
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,694
If it works, can I buy it?
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 11:20 PM   #5
LandonB
 
LandonB's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LS M6
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 147
I'd buy one too
LandonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 02:37 AM   #6
Wuiquen


 
Wuiquen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,566
how did you cut the glass part? also what are you using to support the radio in place. This is actually a pretty smart idea.. congrats in this.. the only issue would be that unless you have strong support for the radio, it would make noises..
__________________
Wuiquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 03:46 PM   #7
camaro104
 
camaro104's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Woodland Park, N.J.
Posts: 286
Send a message via AIM to camaro104
Why wouldn't it work? The circuit board is not touch, All I cut into was plastic so all the knobs and switches are going to work. I cut the glass with a dremel cutting tool. The metel radio frame is nice a solid so it's not going anywhere. Now this is a radio i had laying around im sure it would look better with a different (nicer) head unit..... I install the Alpine system on my car and I wish I came up with this sooner.....
camaro104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 03:55 PM   #8
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,694
so does the single din screen display what was on the little OEM screen?
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 07:14 AM   #9
black12lt
 
Drives: black 1lt 2012
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: auburn alabama
Posts: 178
I remember when these were first out, a deal was 800 bucks. Double din came and made them prehistoric. However, as a few others mentioned, if it works, ill entertain the option

Last edited by black12lt; 06-16-2012 at 12:04 AM.
black12lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 11:52 PM   #10
jeffa
 
Drives: 2014 2LT/RS Ashen Gray Metallic
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 240
If I am not mistaken, you are going to need an interface module to connect the aftermarket radio to the factory radio harness. The turn on signal for the radio is a digital signal, and needs to be converted into a 12 volt signal that the radio can use to turn on and off.
jeffa is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.