Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
BeckyD@RodgersChevrolet
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2012, 08:31 PM   #1
Ponte
 
Ponte's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: -
Posts: 371
Tire PSI

After I had new rims/tires put on, My sensors do not work. In fact, I don't even think I still have them. The place that put my new wheels on still has my old ones. Where are the sensors located? And how could it be fixed?
Ponte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 08:51 PM   #2
JJPlace1
 
JJPlace1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT Victory Red
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ponte View Post
After I had new rims/tires put on, My sensors do not work. In fact, I don't even think I still have them. The place that put my new wheels on still has my old ones. Where are the sensors located? And how could it be fixed?
The tire pressure sensors were / are inside the original rims . Actually they are screwed to the inside of the valve stem and set flush on the rim ( inside the tire rim assy. ) You may want to call them and ask if they did transfer your pressure sensors to the new rims . They usually do it anyways but I would check as they are a little expensive to replace .
JJPlace1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 09:28 PM   #3
Ponte
 
Ponte's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: -
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJPlace1 View Post
The tire pressure sensors were / are inside the original rims . Actually they are screwed to the inside of the valve stem and set flush on the rim ( inside the tire rim assy. ) You may want to call them and ask if they did transfer your pressure sensors to the new rims . They usually do it anyways but I would check as they are a little expensive to replace .
Okay, About how much do you think it should be to get them re-installed?
__________________
Ponte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 09:32 PM   #4
mitchw
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro Convertible SS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 55
Tire Rack sells the sensors--not expensive there. Shop that put your tires on should install for free.
mitchw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 09:35 PM   #5
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ponte View Post
Okay, About how much do you think it should be to get them re-installed?
to install them they have to unmount and remount the tires.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 09:49 PM   #6
Ponte
 
Ponte's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: -
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by stieger View Post
to install them they have to unmount and remount the tires.
So, basically they have to take apart 8 wheels, transfer the sensors, then put them all back together?
__________________
Ponte is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.