Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Dynomax Exhaust
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2012, 08:11 PM   #1
midnightz/28
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS, 1981 Z/28,
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: street near you!
Posts: 137
No a/c

My ac is not working an this is not the time of the for it not to be. I am not sure what the problem is but it is acting like an electrical issue. The flip side to this bad news is that my wife will not drive a car the windows down. So she is forced to drive the yukon. Has anybody had issues the ac?
midnightz/28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:15 PM   #2
two_wheel_mayhem
Would rather be riding
 
two_wheel_mayhem's Avatar
 
Drives: No car no more
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,751
Seeing how you have a 2010, it may or may not still be under warranty.

If it is under warranty get Chevy to fix it right away.
two_wheel_mayhem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:36 PM   #3
Kiowa88
Out Front!
 
Kiowa88's Avatar
 
Drives: OH-58D (R)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 139
Does your car give any error messages in the DIC when you turn the AC on?
Is your engine over heating?
Is the AC Compressor working?
Does the AC not work at all, or does it kick on after you've been driving around for a minute?


I'd start looking at those things if you plan to figure it out yourself, other wise take her to the dealership.
__________________
B Troop, 3-17CAV - Out Front
Kiowa88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 12:07 AM   #4
midnightz/28
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS, 1981 Z/28,
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: street near you!
Posts: 137
Nope all is good no messages no high temps. Compressor is not on it is charged with freon. I suspect that it is something electrical. I will check it in a couple of days.
midnightz/28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:12 AM   #5
EMB135Driver
Jedi Master
 
EMB135Driver's Avatar
 
Drives: Boeing 757/767+2010 IBM 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangor, ME and Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightz/28 View Post
Nope all is good no messages no high temps. Compressor is not on it is charged with freon. I suspect that it is something electrical. I will check it in a couple of days.
Just to cover the obvious, can we assume that the little "snowflake" button light is illuminated indicating that the compressor is selected, or do you press the button and nothing happens?
__________________
EMB135Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:35 AM   #6
midnightz/28
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS, 1981 Z/28,
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: street near you!
Posts: 137
Trust me in south texas the snow flake light would never go off. It is already 82 degrees @7:30 this morning.
midnightz/28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 08:43 AM   #7
Camaro21


 
Camaro21's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M6 ZL1
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 5,043
I had several issues with the A/C Belt coming off until I switched to the cheap Duralast Belt from Autozone. I haven't had an issue since. Check to make sure that your A/C Belt is still on.
__________________
Camaro21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:04 AM   #8
midnightz/28
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS, 1981 Z/28,
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: street near you!
Posts: 137
Yep it is on, when i checked to see if had freon i also looked at the belt, plug at the compressor, searched for obvious signs of damage. Everything is in order.
midnightz/28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:16 AM   #9
dianeokie
Going places
 
dianeokie's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2LT/RS Victory Red
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,878
Please check post #3 in this thread. Mine was repaired 3 times before they got it right last year. It was the compressor.........
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=221496
__________________



"just stay with traffic, you'll be fine". = famous last words
dianeokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:18 AM   #10
midnightz/28
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS, 1981 Z/28,
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: street near you!
Posts: 137
Well the chevy dealer will not warranty it. they think i put a stroker crank in the compressor bc i put a cam in the engine.
midnightz/28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:28 AM   #11
1954 Belair-man

 
1954 Belair-man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro IOM 1SS M6
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 889
Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightz/28 View Post
Well the chevy dealer will not warranty it. they think i put a stroker crank in the compressor bc i put a cam in the engine.
Not sure what a compressor stroker crank is but take it to another dealer if possible and see what they say. Dealers are different in reguards to whats covered and not covered under warrantry. Would'nt hurt to try.
1954 Belair-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:38 AM   #12
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 9,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightz/28 View Post
My ac is not working an this is not the time of the for it not to be. I am not sure what the problem is but it is acting like an electrical issue. The flip side to this bad news is that my wife will not drive a car the windows down. So she is forced to drive the yukon. Has anybody had issues the ac?

I can understand the inconvenience this issue may be causing you and your wife. If you want, please send me your VIN via PM and I will be able to check to see if there are any open recalls, programs, and any applicable warranties related to this issue.

I look forward to your response.

Brandon
Chevrolet Customer Service
Chevrolet Customer Svc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 12:31 PM   #13
midnightz/28
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS, 1981 Z/28,
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: street near you!
Posts: 137
Crank

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1954 Belair-man View Post
Not sure what a compressor stroker crank is but take it to another dealer if possible and see what they say. Dealers are different in reguards to whats covered and not covered under warrantry. Would'nt hurt to try.
I was kidding about a stroker crank for my ac. That was meant to be sarcastic. But bc i modded the engine they said warranty is voided. I do not understand why bc i did not really fool with the ac other than take it off the bracket and did not discharge the system. I dont mind fixing the problem my self i could diagnose it but i just wanted to find out if there are some obvious problems.
midnightz/28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 12:35 PM   #14
woodstock
 
woodstock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Corvette Grand Sport
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: martinez Ga.
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightz/28 View Post
Well the chevy dealer will not warranty it. they think i put a stroker crank in the compressor bc i put a cam in the engine.
What does that have to do with A/C?
woodstock is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.