Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Redline Goods
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2012, 12:56 PM   #1
S-eatin-grin

 
S-eatin-grin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 VR LS3 2SS/RS white stripes
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WV
Posts: 1,018
USB quit working

My car has barely over 8000 miles and I rarely use the USB. I do have my wife's i-pod programmed on it as well as my cell-phone. So anyway...the other day I plugged in my phone charger to the USB and...nothing, I pressed auxillary on the radio and it said NO DEVICE FOUND. I tried it again later that day and NOTHING..its dead! Is it a fuse? how do I toubleshoot this? Need some help please.
__________________
DSS 1400HP axles, DSS driveshaft.
BMR driveshaft loop, 1" lowering springs, sways, trailing arms, toe rods, links, total suspension pro-version poly bushings.

1 7/8 ARH long tubes, 3" cat back, Dynomax VT axle-back.

Edelbrock E-force SC with 3.25" pulley, JRE e-force fuel rail mod, 850cc Dynamic injectors, LPE twin fuel pump, JRE rough idle blower cam kit, Roto-fab e-force intake, RX catch can.
Jannetty Racing Tuned: 622 rwhp / 582 rwtrq
S-eatin-grin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 01:38 PM   #2
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2LT/RS,'14 Caddy CTS Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 15,975
FIRST, I'd take it to the dealer.....and while your there, pirnt out and give them a copy of this TSB, get the part on the top and have them install it!

There was a TSB (Technical Service Bullitin) issued (PI0055B) that will address these issues. I have attached the TSB and at the top is the GM P/N that needs to be installed.

The following information was sent to me via:

Scott Settlemire - GM Global Headquarters
Cheryl Pilcher – Camaro Product Manager
Jeff Morris – GM Customer Service.

In the TSB PI0055B, you will find this info:

In the top in the CONDITION/CONCERN section......the 5th bullet, it states "intermittent device operation from one ignition cycle to the next" . This covers it and will solve other issues with the operation of the unit.

NEXT you need to determine the Hardware/Software version you have in your system and how you and the dealer will proceed.

In the next section down, the RECOMMENDATION/INSTRUCTIONS section gives you the inscructions on how to determine the HW/SW version. If your HW version is either a Cx (where the X stands for any of the C versions) or a DA you need to have them REPLACE the entire PDIM unit....hopefully this is where you are at. PRINT OUT THE TSB and take it with you when you go to your dealer.

PI0055B with GM PN#.pdf

There is a thread here that was started in 2009 and is still going....whe I had this same issue, I found the thread and it was 30 pages long, its up to 39 pages now, and still active....I read every page, and did my homework.....even the GM Service Rep was helping and was posting so that all the correct info was put out. I went to my dealer with this TSB, they ordered the part listed on the top of the TSB and my system has performed FLAWLESSLY ever since.

Here is a link to the thread: PDIM Softwear UPDATE

also attached is what your HW/SW window will look like when the proper PDIM is installed.

Name:  DB-DD.jpg
Views: 142
Size:  43.2 KB
__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 02:19 PM   #3
S-eatin-grin

 
S-eatin-grin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 VR LS3 2SS/RS white stripes
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WV
Posts: 1,018
thanks SirNuke...I actually did read that just couldn't tell if actually applied to my problem. I just dread taking the car to any dealer...as you can tell it is heavily modded and I don't want anyone f-ing with it. Is it something that can be done without me having to leave it there?
__________________
DSS 1400HP axles, DSS driveshaft.
BMR driveshaft loop, 1" lowering springs, sways, trailing arms, toe rods, links, total suspension pro-version poly bushings.

1 7/8 ARH long tubes, 3" cat back, Dynomax VT axle-back.

Edelbrock E-force SC with 3.25" pulley, JRE e-force fuel rail mod, 850cc Dynamic injectors, LPE twin fuel pump, JRE rough idle blower cam kit, Roto-fab e-force intake, RX catch can.
Jannetty Racing Tuned: 622 rwhp / 582 rwtrq
S-eatin-grin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 02:24 PM   #4
Sleez

 
Sleez's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010, 2LT, RS, 6M, ABM (#1893) SOLD
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Willits, CA
Posts: 1,457
mine did that, had to have the pdim replaced under warranty.
Sleez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 02:37 PM   #5
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2LT/RS,'14 Caddy CTS Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 15,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by S-eatin-grin View Post
thanks SirNuke...I actually did read that just couldn't tell if actually applied to my problem. I just dread taking the car to any dealer...as you can tell it is heavily modded and I don't want anyone f-ing with it. Is it something that can be done without me having to leave it there?
When I had mine done.....I had the tech VERIFY the problem and told the service manager the PDIM needed to be replaced, they ordered the part, and VERIFY yourself that they order the P/N thats on the top of that TSB.....when you get the call that its there.....then I made an appointment to get it installed.....I made mine FIRST THING so i would be the first in line....I was in and out in about an hour and a half....I sat there and watched TV and drank their coffee and ate donuts.
__________________

Last edited by Sir Nuke; 06-25-2012 at 04:26 PM.
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:21 PM   #6
S-eatin-grin

 
S-eatin-grin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 VR LS3 2SS/RS white stripes
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WV
Posts: 1,018
sounds like a plan...thanks again!
__________________
DSS 1400HP axles, DSS driveshaft.
BMR driveshaft loop, 1" lowering springs, sways, trailing arms, toe rods, links, total suspension pro-version poly bushings.

1 7/8 ARH long tubes, 3" cat back, Dynomax VT axle-back.

Edelbrock E-force SC with 3.25" pulley, JRE e-force fuel rail mod, 850cc Dynamic injectors, LPE twin fuel pump, JRE rough idle blower cam kit, Roto-fab e-force intake, RX catch can.
Jannetty Racing Tuned: 622 rwhp / 582 rwtrq
S-eatin-grin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:36 PM   #7
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,736
Mine quit working at one point. Took it to dealer and they found the USB had come loose inside the console. Easy fix and updated PDIM at the same time.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.