Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SDPC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2016, 10:57 PM   #1
PyroLT
 
PyroLT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 AGM 1LT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Panama City, Florida
Posts: 84
Overkill TB and VTC

Hey guys. I've been out of the loop for a while and it looks like I missed a ton. Been reading the Overkill thread to catch up on everything. I noticed no one seems to have mentioned anything about running a Overkill TB with the VTC and if so how well they work together.

In my case I had to take my VTC off after i put the Vmax on as it threw so many codes the car wasn't driveable. I was wondering if the this new throttle body could give those of us who have issues with the Vmax a way to run both the controller and a better throttle body.
PyroLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 10:34 PM   #2
rozarioorlan
 
rozarioorlan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2LS
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 138
I ran the 80mm throttle body with the VTC for two weeks (on stock tune) while waiting for other parts and had no problems. super fun to drive!
__________________
2013 2LS - K&N CAI, Overkill 80mm Throttle Body, Overkill E85 Kit and Overkill Tune, Jacfab Ported Intake Manifold and Spacer, Vitesse TC, Magnaflow Resonated X Pipe, Flowmaster 40 Mufflers, BMR 1.2" Lowering Springs, Elite Engineering Catch Can and Clean Side Seperator
rozarioorlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 11:12 PM   #3
Docker
 
Docker's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 vicious animal with 217 cu i
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 134
I noticed that everyone tries to ditch the VTC before even testing it with other mods.

"Well I'm adding a ________ , time to sell my Vitesse, even though ____ has nothing to do with throttle response...hur dur"
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1LEJNG View Post
Says the guy who refers to his V6 as "vicious animal"
Docker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 05:27 AM   #4
IneedAZ


 
IneedAZ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2LT RS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tampa
Posts: 2,553
I use the VTC all the time. Usually setting 5 or 6.
__________________
2012: e85, 80mm TBody, CAI w/scoop, Solo HFC, ZL1 FP, Magnaflow TruX, Dynomax VT, Elite catch can, HP Tune, Throttle Contoller, BMR; Springs, Sways, Trailing Arms, Toe Ends, & Safety Loop, Koni str.t, Pioneer Z150bh, Phoenix Gold Sub, Hertz speakers & 5ch Amp, SS rear with 3.91 gears w/Eaton TrueTrac, and BMR bushings, Baer Decela Rotors, Goodridge brake lines, Brembo(GM) 4 piston calipers, Hawk Ceramic pads, N.O. Nitrous, JacFab 3/4" intake spacer, and ported intake, Circle D 5c. 12.3@112 old setup
IneedAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 05:38 AM   #5
Redhotls1
 
Redhotls1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 camaro 1LS
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 201
I have the 80mm tb with ipf tune and no codes to date. I run the Vtc on 2. I don't plan on removing it unless I get overkill tune and I find it has no affect either way, but for now it sure helps. I also have intake port matched and extender. I probably need to get the overkill tune but it seems to run great as is.
Now if you want to talk issues, how about the tpms system.
Redhotls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 07:32 AM   #6
Shawno72
Burnin' corn
 
Shawno72's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Black 2LT RS M6
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by IneedAZ View Post
I use the VTC all the time. Usually setting 5 or 6.
This. I leave mine on 5 unless I feel the need to just have a little fun. Since day I have never had a single problem with it and it works perfectly with all my mods
__________________
Overkill tune/E85/80mm•CAI cold air intake w/my custom maf tube•Apex air scoop•JacFab ported intake/Extendolater•Vitesse•EE EX2 catch can•Innovate wideband•ARH HFC's•NPP exhaust•11386 xpipe•Brembos/cross drilled/slotted rotors•SS M/C•Pfadt 1.25 springs•1LE struts/sways/strut tower brace•BMR diff bush, trail arms/bush, adj toe links•My custom Tunnel brace•Hurst short throw shifter•JDP stage 1 clutch res•1LE steering wheel, shift boot•ZL1 rear diffuser/splash guards•GM splitter•Z/28 grille/flowtie/spoiler/wheels•GM performance pedals•"Chevrolet" door sills•10" Kicker sub•BigWorm overlays
Shawno72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 11:19 PM   #7
PyroLT
 
PyroLT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 AGM 1LT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Panama City, Florida
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Docker View Post
I noticed that everyone tries to ditch the VTC before even testing it with other mods.

"Well I'm adding a ________ , time to sell my Vitesse, even though ____ has nothing to do with throttle response...hur dur"

I can say that I have done some testing on mine. I had my VTC on for about 6 months with no issues but about 1 month after install of the VMAX I started getting throttle codes. I took the VTC off and the car would run fine, put it back and back to codes being thrown. I gave up when it got so bad that the car would go into limp mode just by backing up.

It seems like there hasn't been any issues using the 80mm one so I might grab it to see if I can run it. I know it need s a different intake tube but does it require getting a tune since its larger or is it just plug and play still?
PyroLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 03:07 AM   #8
Kenny Camaro

 
Kenny Camaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1LT RS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 1,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by PyroLT View Post
I can say that I have done some testing on mine. I had my VTC on for about 6 months with no issues but about 1 month after install of the VMAX I started getting throttle codes. I took the VTC off and the car would run fine, put it back and back to codes being thrown. I gave up when it got so bad that the car would go into limp mode just by backing up.

It seems like there hasn't been any issues using the 80mm one so I might grab it to see if I can run it. I know it need s a different intake tube but does it require getting a tune since its larger or is it just plug and play still?
No tune needed, I haven't had any issues with the 80, just fun and increased throttle response and better take offs.
__________________
Overkill 80mm TB K+N Typhoon cai, Dynomax Valvetech axle back exhaust, Jet stage two performance modual
Kenny Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 09:51 AM   #9
Turranv6
 
Drives: Black 2015 Camaro 2LS
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: houston
Posts: 96
Does the VTC throw a check engine?
__________________
Magnaflow axle back with custom j-pipes, K&N intake, VTC, 20inch matte black SS rims,245/45ZR20W tires, z28 spoiler, black bow ties and tint.
Turranv6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 11:13 AM   #10
PyroLT
 
PyroLT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 AGM 1LT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Panama City, Florida
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turranv6 View Post
Does the VTC throw a check engine?
Under normal cases no. There are a few people who have had issues running a VTC and a VMAX ported throttle body, sadly I'm now one of them. In these cases it will throw codes relating to the throttle position sensor IIRC.
PyroLT is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.