Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vitesse Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2012, 10:19 AM   #1
Shu71

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS M6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 788
Subthump Large Drivers Side Stealth Enclosure Question

Is there room on this box to mount an amp? Maybe on the backside somewhere or on the end toward the rear seat? I can't tell from the pictures on the Subthump site.
__________________
Shu71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 10:37 AM   #2
Pur3vil
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 86
Depending on the size of your amp, there should be. I purchased the similar box that came with the 5 channel amp (not currently on the site) and it had a recess in the box for the amp (polk 5000.5) I believe that the standard large driver boxes are the same shape as the one that I got, just without the recess. I don't believe that there would be enough space on the back of the box due to how it fits in the wheel area, but there should be enough on the front of the box near the rear seat. Or they have the passenger side amp rack that should definitely work.
Pur3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 10:54 AM   #3
Shu71

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS M6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 788
Are you using the Subthump drivers side smaller sub box? I think is is only for a 10" sub??? I understand that one doesn't require you to remove or cut the carpeting in the trunk. I wonder if it has the same dimensions except not as deep into the wheelwell??

My amp measures: 11.4" x 8.1" x 2.1"
__________________

Last edited by Shu71; 06-27-2012 at 11:18 AM.
Shu71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 02:16 PM   #4
Steve@Subthump
 
Steve@Subthump's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS IOM Vert
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,088
The face of the box is the same on both.
Steve@Subthump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 02:36 PM   #5
Shu71

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS M6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 788
Thanks Steve. Do you think there is an area on the box to mount my amp which measures 11.4" x 8.1" x 2.1" other than on the face of the box. If the face is the only place, do you make a separate amp cover board for that? I hate having it mounted on teh face of the box and then the wires always exposed to crap I throw in my trunk.
__________________
Shu71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 03:02 PM   #6
Steve@Subthump
 
Steve@Subthump's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS IOM Vert
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,088
The face is the only surface large enough to mount an amp. I have seen some very clean installs with the amp mounted there.
Steve@Subthump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 03:10 PM   #7
Pur3vil
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 86
Mine has the 12" sub in it, and amazon lists the dimensions of my amp as being 13-5/16"L x 6-3/4"W x 1-13/16"H, but that may include the retail box for shipping. I do have the carpet out of mine too, since it wouldn't fit without removing or cutting it. I know that the kit that I have has the amp cover plate, but again, it was for a system that came with the cover and the recess for the amp. At the absolute worst case, if you can't get a cover board, you could probably use some flexible plastic wire conduit or something to protect the wires from the stuff in your trunk.
Pur3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:38 PM   #8
OHIOSS
Russ
 
Drives: Yukon Denali, Charger, CamaroSS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via AIM to OHIOSS
I just purchased the same box and I don't see any reason I can't put my amp inside of the box w/ the sub. It looks like there will be plenty of room inside.

Russ
OHIOSS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.