Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JUICEDMOTORSPORTS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2012, 05:44 PM   #1
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
Lightbulb New System

Ok, so maybe not a complete system but this will be the first time I have installed my own stuff.

What I have so far.

JL Audio 900/5
JL Audio Stealthbox with the 12w6 sub.
Quite a bit of Dynamat for the rumble
******** FARK here in a few days or when they arrive. I will do the complete amp replacement.

Could someone give me a hand on what else I need. I'm thinking a capacitor and looked at the Phoenix Gold one but not sure if I need a specific type or even really need one at 900 watts. This amp is a monster though.

For now I'm going to see what it sounds like with the BA speakers minus the stupid center speaker. Looking to get some Hybrid Audio's from Steve or the Focal K2 powers if I don't like the factory stuff.

I guess I could use some help from someone(s) who used Steve's FARK and did their own thing.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 06:12 PM   #2
Kevinshawnm
Biggz
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS L99 Rally Yellow
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, Indiana
Posts: 568
You wont need a cap for 900 watts. Your gonna need 4 guage power, ground, atleast and 80 amp fuse, and holder, RCA's
Kevinshawnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 06:17 PM   #3
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
I didn't think I would. Good, every bit saved is a win. lol

Holder being an amp rack? I should get the RCA'd with the FARK kit right?

Thanks Kevin!
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 06:47 PM   #4
Kevinshawnm
Biggz
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS L99 Rally Yellow
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, Indiana
Posts: 568
Fuse holder, you will need rca's to go from the fark harness to your amp.
Kevinshawnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:08 PM   #5
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
Oh, ok. I will probably just get a kit for amp installation then. Thanks so much!

I hope I can mount that amp where the factory one is but I think it's bigger. We'll see.
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 08:30 PM   #6
CrutchfieldBrooke
 
CrutchfieldBrooke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 1968 Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Norton, VA
Posts: 333
Although that amp is a bit bigger than the stock amp, I'm pretty sure I saw a picture from someone on here that got it back in the stock location. I'll let you know if I come accross it. Great amp and sub btw!
CrutchfieldBrooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 08:36 PM   #7
jeepguy_1980

 
jeepguy_1980's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrutchfieldBrooke View Post
Although that amp is a bit bigger than the stock amp, I'm pretty sure I saw a picture from someone on here that got it back in the stock location. I'll let you know if I come accross it. Great amp and sub btw!
Not saying it will or won't fit, but here are the specs:

The HD900/5 is .24"x.54" too big.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********.com
2010 & Up Camaro Factory Fit Amp Mount
Effective mounting area: 7.75" x 10.5"
Amps larger than this will not fit
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLAudio.com
HD900/5: 5 Ch. Class D System Amplifier, 900 W
Height (H) 1.93 in / 49 mm
Width (W) 10.74 in / 273 mm
Depth (D) 8.29 in / 211 mm
Net Weight 6.85 lb / 3.11 kg
jeepguy_1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 08:46 PM   #8
CrutchfieldBrooke
 
CrutchfieldBrooke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 1968 Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Norton, VA
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepguy_1980 View Post
Not saying it will or won't fit, but here are the specs:

The HD900/5 is .24"x.54" too big.
Ahhh, yours is the picture I remember seeing.
CrutchfieldBrooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:18 PM   #9
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
New install

Thanks Brooke! Yeah, I think I'll like that combo. I'm not opposed to getting a rack either because I think I'm going to add a processor too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrutchfieldBrooke View Post
Although that amp is a bit bigger than the stock amp, I'm pretty sure I saw a picture from someone on here that got it back in the stock location. I'll let you know if I come accross it. Great amp and sub btw!
Thanks alot Jeep! Man that's close.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepguy_1980 View Post
Not saying it will or won't fit, but here are the specs:

The HD900/5 is .24"x.54" too big.
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:26 PM   #10
midnighter
Account Suspended
 
Drives: nothing
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: a hole
Posts: 17,910
JL Audio was always my favorite audio brand. Good choice.
midnighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:29 PM   #11
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
Mine too. It's what I had in my last car although this one will be even nicer. My car is the same color as yours. Plain blue. I do like those stripes. Nice looking!
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:33 PM   #12
midnighter
Account Suspended
 
Drives: nothing
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: a hole
Posts: 17,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Storm T View Post
Mine too. It's what I had in my last car although this one will be even nicer. My car is the same color as yours. Plain blue. I do like those stripes. Nice looking!
Mine is plain IBM too. The stripes are photoshopped. I will be getting them painted on like this after I get a couple of other things out of the way.
midnighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:44 PM   #13
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
Ohhhhh! lol Yep, cosmetics is my last choice. Sound first, then exhaust. Wait, that's sound too.
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 11:01 AM   #14
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 325
So, I got a hell of a deal on a pair of JLAudio Evolution ZR 650's So, today the whole thing is being professionally installed. I decided I just didn't want to wait any longer and they made me a good deal on installation and they're doing the sound deadening. I opted out of the rear deck speakers. With what I have I don't think I'll need them. I figure it's going to be 6 hours or so on the install. They say they can get the amp in the factory position so I said go for it. Just make sure and have it all tuned and sounding good. I'm getting kind of giddy. lol
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.