Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2012, 07:52 PM   #15
tkrupinski
Hugger Orange
 
tkrupinski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Hugger Orange 2SS/ RS YSI/4l80
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Marysville Ohio
Posts: 534
Take the boost line off the blower and run a new line from blower to drivers side of car, then just use a T fitting and conect the boost line and the line you removed from the blower together. Thats how mine is set up.
tkrupinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:52 PM   #16
JLE58

 
Drives: CGM,twin turbo, cam 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ROCKMART, GA
Posts: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67motorcat View Post
Do you have a boost-a-pump PQ ?

Looks like a vacum reference switch.
Motor cat is Right. Its the Pressure switch for you Vacuum reference for your BAP.
JLE58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:53 PM   #17
MA2010SS
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Somerset MA
Posts: 667
It's a vacuum switch with a diaphram, it looks like it gets the vaccum/boost from the port that the rubber hose is connected to which is connected to the switch and the wiring goes to the boost guage just taking a wild guess at the picture shown
__________________
2010 Camaro SS Whipple SC, CAI Inc Intake, TSP 1 7/8" LT headers no cats, 3" magnaflow exhaust, HPT, RX Catch Can, LSR Toe Rods, LSR Trailing Arms, ALKY Control Meth, McLeod RXT Twin Disc, ZL1 fuel pump, 3.73 ZL1 Differential Kit, Tuned by SLOWHAWK Performance Bridgewater MA 577RWHP
MA2010SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:57 PM   #18
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,714
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkrupinski View Post
Take the boost line off the blower and run a new line from blower to drivers side of car, then just use a T fitting and conect the boost line and the line you removed from the blower together. Thats how mine is set up.
Boost line? You talking about a new tube and connect both the BAP device AND gauge with?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JLE58 View Post
Motor cat is Right. Its the Pressure switch for you Vacuum reference for your BAP.
Are we possitive? Makes sense to me but I didn't know the BAP would need a vacuum line?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MA2010SS View Post
It's a vacuum switch with a diaphram, it looks like it gets the vaccum/boost from the port that the rubber hose is connected to which is connected to the switch and the wiring goes to the boost guage just taking a wild guess at the picture shown
Never had a gauge on it.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:58 PM   #19
JLE58

 
Drives: CGM,twin turbo, cam 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ROCKMART, GA
Posts: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Are we possitive? Makes sense to me but I didn't know the BAP would need a vacuum line?
.
Yeah on a LS1 you would hook it up to the brake booster line at the back of the intake manifold just like that.
JLE58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:00 PM   #20
67motorcat
Blown Cool Breeze
 
67motorcat's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Black on Black 2SS M6
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pinehurst NC
Posts: 1,027
Yep.....just install a "Tee" before the switch as stated above and your golden
__________________
2011 Black on Black 2SS M6
Had a 2010 IBM 2SS M6
Enjoy life.Think of all the women on the Titanic who passed up dessert.
67motorcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:03 PM   #21
tkrupinski
Hugger Orange
 
tkrupinski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Hugger Orange 2SS/ RS YSI/4l80
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Marysville Ohio
Posts: 534
Yes. Connect your boost a pump and new gauge boost line together. If you run a new line from the blower to drivers side and make the T connections there you will have easy access for tuner boost hook up and also easy removal of gauge line or boost a pump line. The line on the blower should have a zip tie on it to keep it from blowing off. Hope this helps.
tkrupinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:08 PM   #22
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,714
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkrupinski View Post
Yes. Connect your boost a pump and new gauge boost line together. If you run a new line from the blower to drivers side and make the T connections there you will have easy access for tuner boost hook up and also easy removal of gauge line or boost a pump line. The line on the blower should have a zip tie on it to keep it from blowing off. Hope this helps.
Yup. Helps a ton. Thank you.

Where should I get power for my gauge? I don't want to get it from the BAP line.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:09 PM   #23
tkrupinski
Hugger Orange
 
tkrupinski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Hugger Orange 2SS/ RS YSI/4l80
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Marysville Ohio
Posts: 534
Fuse box on drivers side dash.
tkrupinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:13 PM   #24
67motorcat
Blown Cool Breeze
 
67motorcat's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Black on Black 2SS M6
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pinehurst NC
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkrupinski View Post
Fuse box on drivers side dash.

Yep....F17 or F18 with a add a fuse link.
__________________
2011 Black on Black 2SS M6
Had a 2010 IBM 2SS M6
Enjoy life.Think of all the women on the Titanic who passed up dessert.
67motorcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:16 PM   #25
JLE58

 
Drives: CGM,twin turbo, cam 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ROCKMART, GA
Posts: 2,189
I love it when A plan comes together!
JLE58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:16 PM   #26
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,714
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkrupinski View Post
Fuse box on drivers side dash.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67motorcat View Post
Yep....F17 or F18 with a add a fuse link.
Awesome.

I was going to tap the tapped blower coolant pump fuse.

The inside way will work better. Sweet.

You guys rock.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:17 PM   #27
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,714
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLE58 View Post
I love it when A plan comes together!
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:18 AM   #28
Jayrcr3

 
Jayrcr3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 757
Is f17, or f18 powered during engine crank? I just bought an Autometer boost gauge that needs power when the engine is cranking so it can reference current atmospheric pressure.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
__________________
American Racing 1 7/8" Headers and Hi-Flow Cats, CAI cold air intake, Flowmaster AT exhaust, Vengeance Racing Stage 2 cam, VMax ported throttle body, TEA valve springs and titanium retainers, Trick Flow hardened pushrods, 180* T-stat, Comp Trunion kit, ZL1 Fuel Pump, ADM Fuel Pump Control Module, 20% window tint, Whipple Supercharger. Tuned by Mike Norris Motorsports. 656rwhp/584rwtq @10 PSI.
Jayrcr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.