Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Fabberge
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2012, 12:36 PM   #1
meltyface
 
meltyface's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS CGM LS3 w/ blk rally
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: san diego, CA area
Posts: 258
Metra kit issue to be aware of!

Well for the past couple days my Metra Dash kit display has been flickering and after troubleshooting it with no solution I called Metra Tech Support and they informed me that once the display starts flickering it isn't because of a wiring issue it is because the display is about to go out. So since I have had my kit for a little over 20 months I now have to buy a new one!

*Another note make sure your installer updates the kit, apparently there is a firmware update that has to be done before installing.
__________________
Installed mods:
Kooks 1 7/8" headers w/ high flow cats, Borla x-pipe, Borla Stinger exhaust, Cold Air Inductions CAI, markers, tail and reverse lights plus parking light blackouts, body colored bowties, body colored SS emblems, Passport 9500 radar detector (a must have), Kenwood DNX9960 radio w/ metra kit. Matte Black Giovanna Dalar 5V: 20x8.5 & 20x10 wheels

Mods in the future:
Relocating guts of "shark fin" and removing it, cam, super charge/turbo?...unsure what after that...

Gotta have MORE power!!
meltyface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 02:41 PM   #2
kalimus

 
kalimus's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 Z51 3LT Stingray and '13 Cruze
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: US of A
Posts: 1,265
Yep. Mine did the same thing. The LCD is completely out now, and I've had the kit for about the same amount of time. I'll be trying the Pioneer one next. The Metra was great for awhile (only one available when I got mine), but it just looks and feels cheap. The buttons stick, the fitment could be better, and the LCD was the final problem.
kalimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:06 PM   #3
SS Drifter
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 561
Same here. This makes you think twice about buying another. Did you ask if they will sell a replacement display?
SS Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 05:49 PM   #4
y2k king

 
y2k king's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 ss camaro
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: spring hill, fl
Posts: 1,712
mine went out and they sent a new one over night.
__________________
10/28/2010 got it
y2k king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 06:07 PM   #5
Sarah

 
Sarah's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro LLT ABM
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 777
Same. :(
__________________
Sarah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 06:32 PM   #6
DJ UNKNOWN
 
DJ UNKNOWN's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Red Jewel RS
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Indpls, IN
Posts: 560
Been through about 4 or 5 kits for this same problem, lucky for me mine was still under warranty so it hasn't cost me anything other than time.....but definently buyer beware
Attached Images
  
DJ UNKNOWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 11:52 PM   #7
SS Drifter
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 561
Y2k and Sarah,
Were yor Metra units still under warranty when they failed? I would rather get a free replace than shell out a bunch of coin.

Either way, it's kind of a hassle to remove and reinstall. I don't think I want to repeat the exercise every 18 months or so.
SS Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:46 AM   #8
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalimus View Post
Yep. Mine did the same thing. The LCD is completely out now, and I've had the kit for about the same amount of time. I'll be trying the Pioneer one next. The Metra was great for awhile (only one available when I got mine), but it just looks and feels cheap. The buttons stick, the fitment could be better, and the LCD was the final problem.
Pioneer? I've only heard of Scoshe, Metra and Alpine kits.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 09:00 AM   #9
kalimus

 
kalimus's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 Z51 3LT Stingray and '13 Cruze
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: US of A
Posts: 1,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWIweldace View Post
Pioneer? I've only heard of Scoshe, Metra and Alpine kits.
Argh Alpine is what I meant. I was talking to someone at work out Pioneer stereos while I was posting
kalimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 10:42 AM   #10
Sarah

 
Sarah's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro LLT ABM
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS Drifter View Post
Y2k and Sarah,
Were yor Metra units still under warranty when they failed? I would rather get a free replace than shell out a bunch of coin.

Either way, it's kind of a hassle to remove and reinstall. I don't think I want to repeat the exercise every 18 months or so.
That was one of the first things i upgraded when i purchased my car in late 2009 and started flickering about 5 months ago. Really don't think its still under warranty.
__________________
Sarah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 11:44 PM   #11
iMONEY
 
iMONEY's Avatar
 
Drives: RS 2011
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Antonio Texas
Posts: 440
Just started happening to me yesterday. Thanks for the heads up. could have used it yesterday instead of digging in the dash lol. Time for a scosche or whatever its called.
__________________
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=46961&dateline=131275  1904
iMONEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 07:03 AM   #12
y2k king

 
y2k king's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 ss camaro
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: spring hill, fl
Posts: 1,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS Drifter View Post
Y2k and Sarah,
Were yor Metra units still under warranty when they failed? I would rather get a free replace than shell out a bunch of coin.

Either way, it's kind of a hassle to remove and reinstall. I don't think I want to repeat the exercise every 18 months or so.

yeah, mine was less than a year and they warranted it.

by the way, i've never had any other problems with it than the flickering display. all the buttons worked fine.
__________________
10/28/2010 got it
y2k king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 02:00 PM   #13
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 334
My Metra display just started flikering blue then green, and stays green after a few minutes on.

It's 6 months old now.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
GAZ 2013 2SS/RS Arrived June 13 2013, Mods:
Appearance: Blackout Bowties F and R, Blackout Fender Lettering, Painted Lettering on Engine Cover, Painted Strut Tower Brace, White Wiper Blades, White LED H13 DRL's, Blue Dome LED, Blackout Tail Light Bezels, DIYSF Afterburners.
Audio: RF Dual 12" P3's, T400-2, T400-4, T1652-S, T1963, JBL MS-8, RFC1, Isolated Stinger SPV35.

Video:
2013 Camaro 2SS/RS... Mylink removed, I7 Mobile Project
Enhancements: MNM Catch Can, GM Strut Tower Brace.
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 02:08 PM   #14
Wuiquen


 
Wuiquen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,828
exactly why I have not upgraded my radio yet.. Im close to having the car for 2 years now and Im sooooo tempted to upgrade as I have the DD unit sitting at home but Everyone seems to have some kinda problem with metra.. I personally do not like the Scosche kit so im stuck... I mean people pay very high price for the stupid kit and the company cant even make it work right???
__________________
Wuiquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 05:11 PM   #15
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 334
For those who said their display went all the way out... did the basic black LCD graphics fail, or just the RGB LED backlighting?

If out of warantee and just backlight failed, maybe we can rebuild the backlight?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
GAZ 2013 2SS/RS Arrived June 13 2013, Mods:
Appearance: Blackout Bowties F and R, Blackout Fender Lettering, Painted Lettering on Engine Cover, Painted Strut Tower Brace, White Wiper Blades, White LED H13 DRL's, Blue Dome LED, Blackout Tail Light Bezels, DIYSF Afterburners.
Audio: RF Dual 12" P3's, T400-2, T400-4, T1652-S, T1963, JBL MS-8, RFC1, Isolated Stinger SPV35.

Video:
2013 Camaro 2SS/RS... Mylink removed, I7 Mobile Project
Enhancements: MNM Catch Can, GM Strut Tower Brace.
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 05:36 PM   #16
jeepguy_1980

 
jeepguy_1980's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS Drifter View Post
Either way, it's kind of a hassle to remove and reinstall. I don't think I want to repeat the exercise every 18 months or so.
I keep my cars a long time and hope I can keep the Camaro for a very long time. My concern isn't 18 months from now, but 10+ years now.
jeepguy_1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 07:24 PM   #17
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 334
I just got a reply from Justin at Metra, who replied I either have to find an authorized dealer to upgrade firmware, send the whole kit back to the company I purchased it from, or send the whole kit back to Metra to upgrade firmware.

All those options kind of suck as I will end up paying shipping, labor, and/or go without a radio for who knows how long. I think I'm going to dissect the display and connect ala carte LED's in place of the originals, to speed the process along.
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 08:01 PM   #18
kalimus

 
kalimus's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 Z51 3LT Stingray and '13 Cruze
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: US of A
Posts: 1,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by rray View Post
For those who said their display went all the way out... did the basic black LCD graphics fail, or just the RGB LED backlighting?

If out of warantee and just backlight failed, maybe we can rebuild the backlight?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
I think all of them are just the backlight. I've never seen one where the entire LCD went out.
kalimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 08:07 PM   #19
MoneyMike
 
Drives: 2009 Aveo5
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 18
My dad bought his Camaro used, and it has the Metra dash. I'm not sure when the previous owner bought the kit and had it installed, but my dad had that Camaro for almost a year now. But, I'll definitely have to let him know about this when he gets home tonight.
MoneyMike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:42 AM   #20
2010ABM

 
2010ABM's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS ABM Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,076
Same thing happened to mine, this is the second time now. Metra told me that since they warrantied it once already and its over a year old (15 months old) that they will not warranty it again. Guess this leaves me buying a new LCD on my own. It'll be the last metra product I ever buy, that's for sure.
__________________
2010ABM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 09:22 PM   #21
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 334
I took mine apart a week ago Sunday, and after taking the meter to it figured out a solution. The funny thing is, my unit started working good again while I was testing it, so I put it back together for now.

Well this morning, the green stopped working, and the blue stays on for 15 minutes or so then it starts flickering, so I'll be taking it all apart again.

What I found is a single rectangular approx. 3mm X 6mm 3 color Common Anode LED provides illumination for the whole display. Each color (RGB) is fed by a 1K ohm resistor from the output of transistor, and those are powered from the control box where the buttons are below.

What's nice is the common anode measured +13V, and the copper clad on the board measures ground, so all that needs to be done is an SMT 10K trim pot and 1K resistor soldered to each leg of the LED, then to ground on that display board. Starting with the trim pots mid travel, you would just manually tweek them till the desired color is achieved.

For me, I will just put a 1.2K resistor on the Blue and the Green leads to ground to get a constant aqua color, always on.

I'll post a photo when I do the work, but I'm not in too much hurry to take that panel off again.

-Robert
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 04:40 PM   #22
big papa
 
big papa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 189
The blue color doesn't work on mine, but everything else is okay. Wonder how long it will last. i won't switch it out just because blue doesn't work...
__________________
2010 Camaro SS/RS
2012 Ram Express
2013 Honda F6B
big papa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:32 PM   #23
Dx2Tony
"The Green Machine"
 
Dx2Tony's Avatar
 
Drives: Synergy Green Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by big papa View Post
The blue color doesn't work on mine, but everything else is okay. Wonder how long it will last. i won't switch it out just because blue doesn't work...
Mine has been giving me this problem too months ago, kept flickering and now had been out for awhile. It's just the backlight on the LCD to where at night I can't see if the air is on or anything without turning on dome light
__________________
"The Green Machine"
Dx2Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 01:11 AM   #24
Sickwitit
 
Sickwitit's Avatar
 
Drives: Fast, Faster, and O My God...!
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dx2Tony View Post
Mine has been giving me this problem too months ago, kept flickering and now had been out for awhile. It's just the backlight on the LCD to where at night I can't see if the air is on or anything without turning on dome light
How can the firmware be updated if it's already installed...another question is where can we find and or ID the current firmware?
Sickwitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 02:37 PM   #25
BBQdDude
 
BBQdDude's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2SS RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 329
If it is still the same, I had this on my RX-8, you just plug a cable in and update it that way. however the cable is $.
BBQdDude is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.