Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Solo Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2012, 06:02 AM   #1
TriGun
 
TriGun's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS/RS Ice Silver
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 209
Oil Pressure Sensor Problem ?

Recently I installed JRE Smooth Idle Blower Cam. I drove the car for a week and NO troubles at all. Engine Oil level and pressure were fine, nothing out of ordinary.

Today when I started and after warming up the car, oil pressure gauge needle either set at 0 or 70 (max) and NO engine light came out.

when I plugged HPTuner to check for DTC I found the following code were thrown:

P0522 Engine Oil Pressure Sensor/Switch Low Voltage
P0523 Engine Oil Pressure Sensor/Switch High Voltage

I guess it is the the problem is the oil pressure sensor went bad or its wiring has some problem.

if there is a problem with the oil pump, one of the above codes will be thrown and another different code regarding the oil pressure.

What do you think ?

My Current Mod are:

- MagnaCharger TVS2300.
- 6-ribs 3.6 Supercharger pully.
- L99 to LS3 Conversion Kit.
- LS3 Smooth idle blower cam package.
- RX Catch can.
- ZR1 3 bar MAP sensor.
- Rotofab Maggie CAI.
- American racing headers 1-7/8 with x-pipe no cats with mufflers and tips.
- 160 thermostat.
- ZR1 plugs with MSD wires.
- MSD fuel pump booster.
TriGun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 07:17 AM   #2
TheHorse13

 
TheHorse13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Black SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Harpers Ferry, WV
Posts: 916
If you had a bad oil pump, the DIC would be screaming at you. There are a few threads about the exact conditions when an oil pump goes bad. The codes/warnings are different than the ones you have here.
TheHorse13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 07:53 AM   #3
Southern Comfort
No Tags/Habitual Violator
 
Southern Comfort's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SIM 1LE & 2010 ABM/LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 2,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by TriGun View Post
Recently I installed JRE Smooth Idle Blower Cam. I drove the car for a week and NO troubles at all. Engine Oil level and pressure were fine, nothing out of ordinary.

Today when I started and after warming up the car, oil pressure gauge needle either set at 0 or 70 (max) and NO engine light came out.

when I plugged HPTuner to check for DTC I found the following code were thrown:

P0522 Engine Oil Pressure Sensor/Switch Low Voltage
P0523 Engine Oil Pressure Sensor/Switch High Voltage

I guess it is the the problem is the oil pressure sensor went bad or its wiring has some problem.

if there is a problem with the oil pump, one of the above codes will be thrown and another different code regarding the oil pressure.

What do you think ?

My Current Mod are:

- MagnaCharger TVS2300.
- 6-ribs 3.6 Supercharger pully.
- L99 to LS3 Conversion Kit.
- LS3 Smooth idle blower cam package.
- RX Catch can.
- ZR1 3 bar MAP sensor.
- Rotofab Maggie CAI.
- American racing headers 1-7/8 with x-pipe no cats with mufflers and tips.
- 160 thermostat.
- ZR1 plugs with MSD wires.
- MSD fuel pump booster.
Can you log oil pressure to validate the readings?
Also, listen for lifter/rocker tapping. If you hear any noise louder than normal, shut it down immediately.
__________________

'10 2SSVortech(sold) *'10 2LT ABM (sweet) *'13 1LE 2SS (sold) *'13 1LE 44? of 44*
Check out the Atlanta area A.C.E.5 events page
Got quality 5th Gen Camaro performance parts for sale? Shoot me a PM with what ya got and what ya want.
Southern Comfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 09:40 AM   #4
TriGun
 
TriGun's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS/RS Ice Silver
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 209
No unusual noise coming from engine. Now i have another code P0521 which is related also to sensor "P0521 Engine Oil Pressure Sensor/Switch Range/Performance".

when i logged the oil pressure via HPTuner the values were 412kPa=60psi when the engine is not running and 712kPa=103psi at idle.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
TriGun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 09:42 AM   #5
Jayrcr3

 
Jayrcr3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 752
The sensor is bad. I would guess it's reading about 40psi at idle, but something has caused the reference voltage to be off (the sensor).

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
__________________
American Racing 1 7/8" Headers and Hi-Flow Cats, CAI cold air intake, Flowmaster AT exhaust, Vengeance Racing Stage 2 cam, VMax ported throttle body, TEA valve springs and titanium retainers, Trick Flow hardened pushrods, 180* T-stat, Comp Trunion kit, ZL1 Fuel Pump, ADM Fuel Pump Control Module, 20% window tint, Whipple Supercharger. Tuned by Mike Norris Motorsports. 656rwhp/584rwtq @10 PSI.
Jayrcr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 11:15 AM   #6
TriGun
 
TriGun's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS/RS Ice Silver
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayrcr3 View Post
The sensor is bad. I would guess it's reading about 40psi at idle, but something has caused the reference voltage to be off (the sensor).

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
I guess that too. Maybe sensor cable is damaged while installing the supercharger.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
TriGun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 02:16 PM   #7
SC2150
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS, RX supercharged
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 6,077
Reach back around to make sure you did not pinch the harness to the sending unit between the IM and the heades. Seen that far to often.

SC2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:02 AM   #8
TriGun
 
TriGun's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS/RS Ice Silver
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 209
I replaced my oil pressure sensor and now it is fine

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
TriGun is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.