Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vector Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2012, 05:50 PM   #1
camaro2rs
Account Suspended
 
camaro2rs's Avatar
 
Drives: camaro
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: east coast
Posts: 571
Just ordered a FARK harness. WHICH AMP?

hey guys i got the fark harness now i need a good amp any suggestions? i want one that is easy to install and sounds good
thanks for the help
camaro2rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 06:21 PM   #2
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,728
Depends: If your goal is to only power the front and rear speakers, then I would recommend the amp that I have been running, which is the JL Audio XD400/4. Fits right into the stock BA amp location.

I cannot speak for any 5-channel amps though, but I'm sure somebody can recommend other amps.
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 06:23 PM   #3
camaro2rs
Account Suspended
 
camaro2rs's Avatar
 
Drives: camaro
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: east coast
Posts: 571
i would like to power all my speakers but i plan on adding a bass
camaro2rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 06:37 PM   #4
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro2rs View Post
i would like to power all my speakers but i plan on adding a bass
If you will be adding a subwoofer later on down the road, then you may benefit more from a 5-channel amp.

I have 2 seperate amps: one for the front and rear speakers and another amp for the sub
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:06 PM   #5
camaro2rs
Account Suspended
 
camaro2rs's Avatar
 
Drives: camaro
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: east coast
Posts: 571
dam i ordered the convertible harness
camaro2rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:35 PM   #6
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 324
I'm running the JLAudio 900/5 and it's awesome. And while they were going to put the new amp in the stock location I had them mount it under the deck. If I ever want to change settings it'll be a little easier. I think I have it tuned pretty good now after doing it myself. Great great amp but pretty expensive. It is a bit much for the factory speakers but you don't have to crank it up all the way. I have some really nice new speakers up front and you might want to add them later.
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:21 PM   #7
murdered
 
Drives: 2012 2SS 45th Ann. Edition
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 108
Storm T, so the 900/5 will fit in the stock location?
__________________
2012 2SS 45th Anniversary Edition
murdered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:54 PM   #8
CrutchfieldBrooke
 
CrutchfieldBrooke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 1968 Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Norton, VA
Posts: 333
I too was going to suggest the JL 900/5 amp if you need a 5-channel. Compact, efficient, clean, and powerful!
CrutchfieldBrooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 02:04 PM   #9
camaro2rs
Account Suspended
 
camaro2rs's Avatar
 
Drives: camaro
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: east coast
Posts: 571
soo it mounts in the stock location no problem? where can i order? and i need a farkharness to make it plug and play right? also any other amps that are not that much $$$ the jl amp is like 800
camaro2rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 03:04 PM   #10
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 324
900/5

It's only a tiny bit bigger. They said it would be no problem. They were actually set to put it there but I wanted it to show a tiny bit so I had them put it under the deck. Though you can't see it unless you're looking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by murdered View Post
Storm T, so the 900/5 will fit in the stock location?
Yes, they said they had put the same amp in other Camaros.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrutchfieldBrooke View Post
I too was going to suggest the JL 900/5 amp if you need a 5-channel. Compact, efficient, clean, and powerful!
I knew you were smart!

Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro2rs View Post
soo it mounts in the stock location no problem? where can i order? and i need a farkharness to make it plug and play right? also any other amps that are not that much $$$ the jl amp is like 800
You can get them from Brooke at a better price I think or you can get them directly from JLAudio's website. You can also find them on Ebay also for lots cheaper. I wouldn't recommend it though 'cuz of the warranty thing.
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 03:40 PM   #11
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro2rs View Post
...and i need a farkharness to make it plug and play right? also any other amps that are not that much $$$ the jl amp is like 800
Yes, the FARK harness will make it plug and play, IF you have the Boston Acoustics system.

As far as where to order or buy, I would recommend you go to your local audio shops (that are authorized dealers, of course) to see what price they are offering. Like the XD400 retails for $400, but I got it at half that price at a "local" audio shop that is JL authorized.
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 03:43 PM   #12
camaro2rs
Account Suspended
 
camaro2rs's Avatar
 
Drives: camaro
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: east coast
Posts: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwantone2 View Post
Yes, the FARK harness will make it plug and play, IF you have the Boston Acoustics system.

As far as where to order or buy, I would recommend you go to your local audio shops (that are authorized dealers, of course) to see what price they are offering. Like the XD400 retails for $400, but I got it at half that price at a "local" audio shop that is JL authorized.

is the xd400 a 5 channel amp? and can you order the fark harnesses yet all i see is for the vert and thats what i ordered but i dont think it will work
camaro2rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 04:17 PM   #13
CrutchfieldBrooke
 
CrutchfieldBrooke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 1968 Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Norton, VA
Posts: 333
Thanks Storm! Yes, we do carry both on our site. The XD400 is a 4-channel and would be a great choice if you only want to add an amp for your regular speakers now, and then add a mono amp later for a sub.
CrutchfieldBrooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 06:49 PM   #14
Storm T
Can't slow down
 
Storm T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Dusk Edition (Insain Bolt)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 324
Sure thing.
Storm T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 11:37 PM   #15
Chiefs Fan
 
Chiefs Fan's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 Vert, 2SS/RS, M6, Victory Red
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 31
JL Audio 900/5 is the amp you want!
Chiefs Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 11:50 PM   #16
camaro2rs
Account Suspended
 
camaro2rs's Avatar
 
Drives: camaro
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: east coast
Posts: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiefs Fan View Post
JL Audio 900/5 is the amp you want!

its too expensive 1000 on crutch field
camaro2rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 01:18 PM   #17
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,728
Is it the JL Audio HD 900/5?

http://www.dynamicautosound.net/jl-audio-hd900-5.html

Listed for $899.99

This is where I bought my front component speakers, but since they were local to me I didn't have to pay for shipping.
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 01:20 PM   #18
camaro2rs
Account Suspended
 
camaro2rs's Avatar
 
Drives: camaro
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: east coast
Posts: 571
im looking to spend 500ish max
camaro2rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 08:33 PM   #19
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,728
Take a look at the JL Audio XD700. It's a 5 channel amp and retails for $549.

I'm sure somebody else can recommend another brand, if need be.
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:45 PM   #20
Warsteiner
 
Drives: 2012 IOM 2LT Vert
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 79
This is the amp I just put in:

http://www.amazon.com/Alpine-MRX-V70...402711&sr=1-13

I got it for $250 on Ebay. I am very happy with it. I have a Vert and also replaced the factory sub with a Pioneer. Everything sounds 10 times better than the stock amp.

Next up will be my door speakers when I got more money to put in the system.
Warsteiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:22 PM   #21
Casper45th
 
Casper45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 45th SSRS A6
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Casper, WY
Posts: 172
My understanding, (correct me if I'm wrong Brooke), is the rear speakers are bi-amped and have a unique plug on them - thus the need for something like the Fark harness. I haven't really even looked at the sound system yet, been doing performance and lighting stuff first.
That said, wouldn't you need a 4 channel amp just for the rears and another amp for the fronts? I haven't talked to the guys at subthump - so not sure if the harness bypasses that or what.
Casper45th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:46 PM   #22
Steve@Subthump
 
Steve@Subthump's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS IOM Vert
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,098
You do not need a 4ch amp to run the two rear speakers. Thanks to the development of our new X2A speaker harness, the rears can be fully powered by the two rear channels on a 4 channel amp. I removed the heat shrink to show some of the details, but there is a cap installed on the tweeter feed to filter out the lows--essentially making this speaker similar to what you find on most aftermarket 2-ways.
Attached Images
 
Steve@Subthump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 07:20 PM   #23
Wuiquen


 
Wuiquen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,917
So with this adaptor, the rear speakers will not have bass?? I am upgrading mine with different speakrer and I do not want to have bass on them as I will be getting two 12'' subs and thatll be plenty. where can I buy this adaptor? are you guys every planing on making a 12'' dual sub box ported by any chance??
__________________
Wuiquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 09:55 AM   #24
Casper45th
 
Casper45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 45th SSRS A6
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Casper, WY
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve@Subthump View Post
You do not need a 4ch amp to run the two rear speakers. Thanks to the development of our new X2A speaker harness, the rears can be fully powered by the two rear channels on a 4 channel amp. I removed the heat shrink to show some of the details, but there is a cap installed on the tweeter feed to filter out the lows--essentially making this speaker similar to what you find on most aftermarket 2-ways.
Makes sense Steve. I didn't even think about doing that. And I should have..my first electronics project in high school was a hertz filtered light controller.
Casper45th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:03 AM   #25
Casper45th
 
Casper45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 45th SSRS A6
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Casper, WY
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wuiquen View Post
So with this adaptor, the rear speakers will not have bass?? I am upgrading mine with different speakrer and I do not want to have bass on them as I will be getting two 12'' subs and thatll be plenty. where can I buy this adaptor? are you guys every planing on making a 12'' dual sub box ported by any chance??
No, if I understand what Steve has done here is instead of using 2 channels to power each rear, (1 for bass, 1 for tweeter), he is using one channel for each rear and filtering out the bass for the tweeter driver in the speaker.

Just as a side note, I want to thank you for your service to our country! That rocks! I know, you're just doing your job..that's what my Ranger son always tell me..just doin' my job dad.
Casper45th is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.