Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Gen5DIY
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2012, 01:04 PM   #1
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 481
LiveLink 2 Datalog issues

I go to data log my car this comes up. All PID's are marked as you can see on the bottom of the screen but it still says failed any help on this would be great.


__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:24 PM   #2
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 481
I thought we had some informative people here
__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:36 PM   #3
MARINE1991


 
MARINE1991's Avatar
 
Drives: COTW 8/29/11 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: hickville NC USA
Posts: 9,917
I tried to do it also and got lost.... So I gave up....
MARINE1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:39 PM   #4
TriGun
 
TriGun's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS/RS Ice Silver
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 209
First, try to connect the device as per the steps shown when you click "I want to datalog a vehicle".

after a successful connection is made choose your PID. Try simple one first like RPM and MAF frequency.

If you still facing a problem with communication contact SCT support. They have a special firmware update for SCT devices to communicate with Camaro ECU.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
TriGun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:56 PM   #5
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 481
Yeah those two PID were the only ones I could get to work and they would only work once in a while. Now I'm having a issue even connecting to the vehicle. Thanks thou I guess I'll have to call SCT like you recommended
__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 08:48 PM   #6
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS King View Post
I thought we had some informative people here
There are informative people on this site. If you do a search, that topic has been discussed alot. Not sure if your good at computers though, I see you took a picture of your logs to post them. Unless you didn't have an internet connection and posted pics/thread by phone. Not meaning any disrespect. Until you get the hang of the search function, it generally doesn't return the topic your inquiring about. Anyway, you need to get the lastest firmware from SCT. Only way to do it is to call them. They will remote into your computer, also need your handheld, and do the updates. If you don't have the updates, just give up. I spent days trying to get mine to log. No luck. Thought it was something I was doing, but it wasn't. The Livelink software is fairly user friendly when it functions correctly. Even with the new updates, there are still issues. Good luck.
Edit: Additionally, if you log with 1 or 2 PIDs with the updates, it will still fail.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot Coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (interior), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov. 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 Bone stock

Last edited by Badbubba; 07-15-2012 at 09:04 PM. Reason: pids
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:02 PM   #7
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
Call SCT....really buggy software...I ended up sending mine in for a reflash
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:43 PM   #8
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 481
Thanks guys. I'll be calling SCT. No i'm not that computer literate either but I did try doing a search and found others with the same issue but no post on a fix of the issues.

Thanks again
__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:31 PM   #9
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 660
Seems as though you did everything correct, being that you got as far as you did with the Livelink software. After you get the updates, follow the steps that Livelink displays (just like you did) and you should be able to get some logs. If your laptop was "too slow", it wouldn't allow you to communicate and you would have never been able to get to the validate PIDs screen. I started with 1.2.137.03 firmware, I'm upto 1.2.137.11 As of last week, that is the lastest update. But it has been released for awhile.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot Coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (interior), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov. 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 Bone stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:35 PM   #10
KnightRiderSS
Voodoo Medicine Man
 
KnightRiderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS with RS package
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 929
You could try exporting a dlf file to the SCT with the pids you need then trying to data log without the computer...

That was going to be my next step but they bricked my SCT when they were trying to update it and I had to send it in...
__________________
KnightRiderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 10:53 PM   #11
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightRiderSS View Post
You could try exporting a dlf file to the SCT with the pids you need then trying to data log without the computer...

That was going to be my next step but they bricked my SCT when they were trying to update it and I had to send it in...
Oh no.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot Coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (interior), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov. 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 Bone stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:17 PM   #12
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 481
All right after 2hrs on the phone with SCT i can finely start data logging.

Thanks for your info guys
__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:25 PM   #13
MARINE1991


 
MARINE1991's Avatar
 
Drives: COTW 8/29/11 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: hickville NC USA
Posts: 9,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS King View Post
All right after 2hrs on the phone with SCT i can finely start data logging.

Thanks for your info guys
let me know if it works I will have to do the same thing...
MARINE1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:26 PM   #14
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 481
Yep just got done and everything logged very smooth. The software is very straight forward and easy to use (Livelink2). I guess us Camaro guys just need some special updated firmware update in order for us to log our cars.

MARINE1991-Just shoot SCT a call they will take care of ya. Don't bother with the online support just call them.
__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 04:07 PM   #15
MARINE1991


 
MARINE1991's Avatar
 
Drives: COTW 8/29/11 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: hickville NC USA
Posts: 9,917
Will do... thanks.. If not maybe during super Chevy when I am there can you help me with it...
MARINE1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 04:24 PM   #16
SS King
 
SS King's Avatar
 
Drives: a Panty Dropper
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dehi
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by MARINE1991 View Post
Will do... thanks.. If not maybe during super Chevy when I am there can you help me with it...
Sure anytime just let me know
__________________
SS King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 04:28 PM   #17
MARINE1991


 
MARINE1991's Avatar
 
Drives: COTW 8/29/11 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: hickville NC USA
Posts: 9,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS King View Post
Sure anytime just let me know
sweet...
MARINE1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 05:48 AM   #18
Denis


 
Denis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 5,577
not to bump an old thread or anything but im literally getting the exact same error...



so theres a specific firmware we need or will simply updating to the current one they have work?
__________________
Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:17 AM   #19
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 660
I still have the same version as I stated above. Called SCT a few days ago and they have released 3 updates after my current version. They would normally remote in and do the updates. Now they state to go to their website, download the updating software and update your own device. I've tried that a long time ago and it never worked. I haven't tried it lately. Just don't feel like returning the tune to stock and f'n with their software and firmware updates. Have spent countless days in the past trying to get their non-working, buggy and glitchy product to work or even work half a$$ed. Really fed up with their bullsh!t. How does a company send a device to market that obviously wasn't totally functional?! If I didn't have my tunes, I'd toss it for something different.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot Coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (interior), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov. 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 Bone stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:46 AM   #20
Denis


 
Denis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 5,577
yea, this is the firts time ive ever really messed with it in any other way other than hooking the tuner to the obd port and uploading the tune ya know?

i guess ill try updating it tonight and see what happens. but ya, i guess you need to revert the car back to stock, update it and then re-load the tune back on?
__________________
Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 10:34 AM   #21
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denis View Post
yea, this is the firts time ive ever really messed with it in any other way other than hooking the tuner to the obd port and uploading the tune ya know?

i guess ill try updating it tonight and see what happens. but ya, i guess you need to revert the car back to stock, update it and then re-load the tune back on?
Correct.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot Coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (interior), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov. 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 Bone stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 11:01 AM   #22
Denis


 
Denis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 5,577
pain in the ass...

okay thanks! i appreciate it.
__________________
Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.