Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions General 5th generation Camaro topics not covered by other subforums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2014, 08:20 AM   #1
bisel
 
Drives: Ferrari 360, Accura MDX, Corvette
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7
Switched Fuse in Rear Fuse Box

I am looking to install an accessory and want it switched to the ignition. Ideally, I would like to tap into a fuse in the rear fuse box ... the one on the right side of the trunk, behind the panel.

Does anyone know if any of those fuses are switched so that when the ignition is off the power to that fuse would also be off?

Thanks,

Steve
bisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 08:44 AM   #2
CamaroCracka
 
CamaroCracka's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS M6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 438
I powered my nitrous with that fuse box and everything was direct to the battery. I ran a lead from fpcm to a relay to provide ignition switched power to the nitrous circuits.
__________________

2010 SS w/LS9 cam, headers, nitrous and Blackbear tune.
CamaroCracka is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 08:50 AM   #3
bisel
 
Drives: Ferrari 360, Accura MDX, Corvette
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7
Thanks for reply. I was afraid that was the case. Your solution to use a relay off a device that is switched is good idea.
bisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 05:38 PM   #4
GVA 45TH 2SS
KNGTFALL
 
GVA 45TH 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS 45th edition
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: (Near) Charlotte, NC
Posts: 774
I thought the amplifier circuit was switched?
GVA 45TH 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 07:10 PM   #5
bisel
 
Drives: Ferrari 360, Accura MDX, Corvette
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7
That would work nicely if it is, but like CamaroCracka commented, I thought they were all non-switched. Can someone confirm if the Amp fuse is switched?

Thanks,

Steve
bisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 01:06 PM   #6
CamaroCracka
 
CamaroCracka's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS M6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by GVA 45TH 2SS View Post
I thought the amplifier circuit was switched?
I don't think they all have amps, just the cars with the BA sound system.
__________________

2010 SS w/LS9 cam, headers, nitrous and Blackbear tune.
CamaroCracka is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 03:58 PM   #7
snymat68
 
snymat68's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 1LS M6, '72 VW Beetle M4 Resto.
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 747
One of the relays in that block is fed (triggered) by switched 12V. You'll have to splice the wire though since you can't fuse-tap a relay.
__________________
2013 Camaro 1LS (Blue Ray Metallic)
Performance Mods
Elite Catch Can | CAI Intake with Scoop & Washer Bottle Relocation | MRT v2 Axle-Back Exhaust | MagnaFlow Resonated X-Pipe | Resonator Delete | Vmax Ported Throttle Body | GM Strut Tower Brace | JDP Tow Hook
Aesthetic Mods
CamaroCollection Chrome Peek-A-Boo Door Handles | CamaroCollection Interior Accessories Kit | Headlight Armor Smoke Tail Light, Marker Light, & Turn Signal Tint | Custom Plate & Plate Frame | Silver Fade Gill Stripes | Carbon Fiber Bowties | Various Chrome/Painted/Carbon Fiber Items In Engine Bay
snymat68 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 04:14 PM   #8
CamaroCracka
 
CamaroCracka's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS M6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 438
As I recall, when I pulled the fuse block off the fender to cut the wire for the BAP, all the feeds jumpered from a single hot that connected directly to the battery. Best I could tell you from here is to pull the cover and take a look, but I looked all over that fuse block for a switched hot before I took the back seat out to get to the FPCM.
__________________

2010 SS w/LS9 cam, headers, nitrous and Blackbear tune.
CamaroCracka is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 12:56 AM   #9
Alfieboy
Madman
 
Alfieboy's Avatar
 
Drives: White 2014 ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: RICHMOND VA
Posts: 1,310
all hot except relay
Alfieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 01:34 AM   #10
howiexiedo
 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: x3
Posts: 4
Your solution to use a relay off a device that is switched is good idea.
howiexiedo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.