Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2012, 11:56 AM   #1
Synyster

 
Synyster's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 F150 Lariat
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,156
Full System with Stock Head Unit

In the next couple of weeks I'll be having new speakers, two amps, a subwoofer, and a processor installed. I'll be keeping the stock head unit though because I can't afford it right now.

My question is simply how will it sound? I know the weak link is going to be the stock head unit and it WILL be an inferior sound compared to an aftermarket one, but would it be enough of a difference to warrant waiting a while to save up another $1500? Or will the processor help enough for now?
Synyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:06 PM   #2
Iwantone2
Pinche Team Leader
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,663
I think that the processor will help for now. I've been running with the stock head unit and am comfortably fine with the sound in my car. I have all Alpine Type-R speakers, 2 JL Audio amps, and a 12" JL Audio sub.
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:11 PM   #3
el ess A
formerly "el ess X"
 
el ess A's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 & 2013 Camaros
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 2,924
Don't expect miracles. It's like beefing up the suspension and drivetrain to withstand 1000 horsepower, and running the stock engine. Doesn't mean it's not improved, but you won't see the potential realized until you get the main unit.

Now, if you CAN get all that stuff to work and all you'd have left is to plug-n-play the head unit, I say go ahead and start. If you have to do a lot of work to swap out the head unit even after the rest of the system, then I say wait. You'll be that much more motivated to save in the meantime.
__________________
2010/2013 Camaro

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=26108&dateline=139490  3951
el ess A is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:33 PM   #4
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 719
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
the processor will definately help. I have aftermarket head unit and still want a sound processor.. so go figure.
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:54 PM   #5
darkrider01
Deaf Audiophile
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2014 Cruze 1LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 631
If that processor is a JBL MS-8, then it will really fix most of the problems that the head unit / factory amp produces. Do you have the Boston system, or the basic system?

Also, if you think that you'll want to replace the factory head unit no matter what, be sure to go ahead and run the RCA's now. The number of RCA's is dependent on which processor you go with.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille
Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:38 PM   #6
Synyster

 
Synyster's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 F150 Lariat
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrider01 View Post
If that processor is a JBL MS-8, then it will really fix most of the problems that the head unit / factory amp produces. Do you have the Boston system, or the basic system?

Also, if you think that you'll want to replace the factory head unit no matter what, be sure to go ahead and run the RCA's now. The number of RCA's is dependent on which processor you go with.
To be honest, I'm not really sure what processor is going in. The head unit was in the original plan, but I realized I couldn't swing it and my installer suggested a processor in the meantime. I just know the one being used is in the $200 range.

I have the BA system as well.
Synyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:54 PM   #7
darkrider01
Deaf Audiophile
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2014 Cruze 1LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synyster View Post
To be honest, I'm not really sure what processor is going in. The head unit was in the original plan, but I realized I couldn't swing it and my installer suggested a processor in the meantime. I just know the one being used is in the $200 range.

I have the BA system as well.
For around $200 it must be a JL Audio CleanSweep or maybe an Alpine Imprint.

Either should help. Best of luck!
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille
Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.