Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
River City Camaro Customs
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
Indyblue98
2012 RS 2ss
 
Drives: 2012 2SS RS L99 WhippleCharged
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 272
Help Finding 5 volt Power Source

Posted this in Electronics but maybe more will read here.
Really need to know how to access 5 volt power.
The rest is just ranting and whinning.
Purchased a Dashtronix Gauge Projector that allows the DIC and HUD to display Boost and Air Fuel Ratio's.
The unit comes with a Map Sensor that requires 5 Volt input.
When I contacted DashTronix what wires are 5 volts.. the response was to find a 5 volt sensor wire, and piggyback into the fuse for that sensor .
Don't connect to 12 volts it will destroy the unit.
OK,,, where is the source of this 5 volt sensor.
Response ,, model specific , do your own research.
Originally bought the unit in May and was installed when the Supercharger was put on.
But it was not compatiable so the Dashtronix and the Inovative Wideband were both sent back to Dashtronix for an update.
10 weeks later it returns with a 1 page install sheet.

This is supossed to be calibrated for a 12-13 Camaro
so why not tell me what was used for setup?
Indyblue98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:42 PM   #2
GMteSSted
000574
 
GMteSSted's Avatar
 
Drives: Pre-production Inferno Orange SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 610
I just installed an Aeroforce Interceptor and the fluid sensor came with a 5 volt regulator. It has a simple 3 wire hookup. Here is the link where you can order the regulator:
http://www.aeroforcetech.com/products_sensors_oil.html

As sensitive as these the sensors are to voltage I don't think I would tap into another gauge.
GMteSSted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:54 PM   #3
Indyblue98
2012 RS 2ss
 
Drives: 2012 2SS RS L99 WhippleCharged
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMteSSted View Post
I just installed an Aeroforce Interceptor and the fluid sensor came with a 5 volt regulator. It has a simple 3 wire hookup. Here is the link where you can order the regulator:
http://www.aeroforcetech.com/products_sensors_oil.html

As sensitive as these the sensors are to voltage I don't think I would tap into another gauge.
Thanks , From the Dashtronix response I was expecting a 5 volt source somewhere already available.
Guess thats why they said to do my own research.
Indyblue98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:24 AM   #4
sting808

 
Drives: 4 wheels
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 789
I used a 5v source from my Innovate accessory. Innovate sells a map/boost sensor that can use 5v or 12v power.
sting808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 08:08 PM   #5
NC-V
 
NC-V's Avatar
 
Drives: cts-v
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 505
You could use the factory map sensor 5v reference and tap off of that. Just unplug the factory map, with the key on engine off, use a High impedence multimeter to probe the 3 wires of the plug to find the 5v reference. I believe gray should be 5v reference, Or/blk is low reference and LT green is signal, but like I said, double check that.
NC-V is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.