Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Cam Motion
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2009, 02:54 PM   #1
glambert1
HOMER
 
glambert1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2LT RS SIM
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 527
Thumbs up iphone compatible

I picked up my new Camaro yesterday , and plugged my iphone into the usb connector and immediatly my car found it and all the songs , podcasts , everything displayed themselves on the main window of the stereo. all songs were in alphebetical order and played perfectly . Today I turned my bluetooth on , in my iphone settings and pressed the phone button on the stereo and it verbally spoke direction how to pair them together and now I'm handsfree from the steering wheel. hope this answers some questions !!!
glambert1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 02:55 PM   #2
radz28
Petro-sexual
 
radz28's Avatar
 
Drives: Ultra-Grin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Crapramento, Crapifornia
Posts: 13,052
WELCOME and thanks for sharing
__________________
"...What IS true: We anticipated that this would happen - we are never finished - and yes, Ford DOES deserve to win now and then. To think that GM can come out with a car to make ford throw in the towel is simply foolhardy..." - fbodfather
radz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 03:06 PM   #3
Brokinarrow


 
Brokinarrow's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Honda NC700x
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indianola, IA
Posts: 5,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by glambert1 View Post
I picked up my new Camaro yesterday , and plugged my iphone into the usb connector and immediatly my car found it and all the songs , podcasts , everything displayed themselves on the main window of the stereo. all songs were in alphebetical order and played perfectly . Today I turned my bluetooth on , in my iphone settings and pressed the phone button on the stereo and it verbally spoke direction how to pair them together and now I'm handsfree from the steering wheel. hope this answers some questions !!!
Thats pretty cool
__________________
Brokinarrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 03:34 PM   #4
camaro noob
 
Drives: 2009 Honda Civic
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yuba City, CA
Posts: 43
WAAAIIIIITTTTTTT!!!!

...iPhone 3G, or first gen iPhone? Cuz I read somewhere on here a while ago that the iPhone 3G doesn't work the same, only the iPhone OG. Hope this isn't the case...I gots me a 3G
camaro noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 03:39 PM   #5
LadiesMan217

 
LadiesMan217's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 IOM/IO 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,679
I'd like to know this as well.

I have a first gen iPhone but my wife has an iPhone 3G. I'd love it if mine worked.
__________________
Proud Member of NEC5!
LadiesMan217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 03:55 PM   #6
LDGn63
 
LDGn63's Avatar
 
Drives: WNABEE
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 538
1st gen works (mine does)
dunno about 2nd gen but would like to know
__________________
Why oh Why?
Windshield=10" vertical
mirror= 3 7/8" (that's almost 4") vertical
that means that the mirror is 38.75% the size of the vertical windshield...
it sure seems like the ratio could be better... just sayin....

our collective MIRROR patch:
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24612
LDGn63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 05:31 PM   #7
glambert1
HOMER
 
glambert1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2LT RS SIM
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 527
3 g

Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro noob View Post
WAAAIIIIITTTTTTT!!!!

...iPhone 3G, or first gen iPhone? Cuz I read somewhere on here a while ago that the iPhone 3G doesn't work the same, only the iPhone OG. Hope this isn't the case...I gots me a 3G
mine is a 3g 16 gig works great
glambert1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 07:55 PM   #8
tjd24
Thank you Oshawa/St.Cats!
 
tjd24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS 2G1FC1EV4A9103434
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NW NJ
Posts: 3,445
iPhone 1st Gen - Ok - but...

Just like glambert1 indicated my iPhone (1st gen, sw 2.2.1) did connect to the headunit first time out - though the iPhone does display the "this accessory is not compatible..." message and asked if I wanted "airplane" mode which I pressed "No". I can play the iPod songs through the head unit OK - the menu needs a little bit of getting used to... The Bluetooth works A-OK and the quality is better than my previous car.

So far so good. Today on the way home the head unit did not recognize the iPhone - displaying only the CD and Aux options, including an "Aux Out" which I don't recall seeing before. I pulled over and first restarted the Camaro to see if it was a gremlin but no joy. I then rebooted the iPhone holding both power and home buttons for 10 seconds to ensure a full reboot - at first the head unit didn't recognize the rebooted iPhone (obviously once the Apple logo was replaced by the home screen) but then the headunit recognized the iPhone again.

Unsure why this occurred but at least a reboot of the iPhone seemed to restore the connection - perhaps a low memory issue on the iPhone.

Regardless - enjoying the Camaro and iPhone connectivity...
__________________
http://www.hubgarage.com/mygarage/tjd24 http://ny5thgen.com/TJD_RS.htm
#3434 Born 4-15-2009, Delivered 5-22-2009 BBOMG 2/3/4 & booked for #5
tjd24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 09:37 PM   #9
Scott Jones
 
Scott Jones's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 1LT
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjd24 View Post
Today on the way home the head unit did not recognize the iPhone - displaying only the CD and Aux options, including an "Aux Out" which I don't recall seeing before. I pulled over and first restarted the Camaro to see if it was a gremlin but no joy. I then rebooted the iPhone holding both power and home buttons for 10 seconds to ensure a full reboot - at first the head unit didn't recognize the rebooted iPhone (obviously once the Apple logo was replaced by the home screen) but then the headunit recognized the iPhone again.

Unsure why this occurred but at least a reboot of the iPhone seemed to restore the connection - perhaps a low memory issue on the iPhone.

Regardless - enjoying the Camaro and iPhone connectivity...
This happened once with my iPod. I just unplugged the Ipod from the car's USB port and then plugged it back in and it recognized.

The connectivity and convenience package is great.
Scott Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 10:46 PM   #10
tjd24
Thank you Oshawa/St.Cats!
 
tjd24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS 2G1FC1EV4A9103434
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NW NJ
Posts: 3,445
Thanks Scott. I did try unplugging the USB cable but that didn't work for me - I saw in another thread it may be an issue with what audio device last used before shutting off the car - upsetting the iPhone connectivity.

I'm not going to be paranoid about it but more aware of what conditions may cause this if it repeats again.
__________________
http://www.hubgarage.com/mygarage/tjd24 http://ny5thgen.com/TJD_RS.htm
#3434 Born 4-15-2009, Delivered 5-22-2009 BBOMG 2/3/4 & booked for #5
tjd24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 11:44 PM   #11
TJ91
:chevy:
 
TJ91's Avatar
 
Drives: 2LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,874
I have paired my Iphone 3G through a camaro and it worked great. The only thing you cant do is send music through bluetooth. There is an update comming that will allow you to do that with the Iphone 3G, but for now, you can pair it and talk.
The cool thing is the range of the Bluetooth, it goes pretty far. So at the dealer training, they were sending music to the car through a Blackberry Storm, and from outside the car, and about 15-20 feet or so, maybe less, they were controlling the music in the car Changing songs, pretty cool
TJ91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:31 AM   #12
camaro noob
 
Drives: 2009 Honda Civic
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yuba City, CA
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ91 View Post
I have paired my Iphone 3G through a camaro and it worked great. The only thing you cant do is send music through bluetooth. There is an update comming that will allow you to do that with the Iphone 3G, but for now, you can pair it and talk.
The cool thing is the range of the Bluetooth, it goes pretty far. So at the dealer training, they were sending music to the car through a Blackberry Storm, and from outside the car, and about 15-20 feet or so, maybe less, they were controlling the music in the car Changing songs, pretty cool
Dude, that's friggin sweet! I wasn't really all that excited about the Bluetooth update before, but now I can't wait for it! Oh wait...I still need to get the Camaro in the first place...lame. Glad to hear about 3G compatibility from first-hand experience. Thanks guys
camaro noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 03:02 PM   #13
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
I have BlueTooth headphones and have allways hated that I couldn't use them with my iPhone. This will be pretty cool.

BTW, you can listen to music with bluetooth headphones if your talking on the phone at the same time. lol
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 03:10 PM   #14
GMtothecore
"That Guy"
 
GMtothecore's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro SS...........what else?
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: OOOOOOOklahoma where the wind comes sweepin' down the plains.
Posts: 2,361
This is good to know.....I have an iPhone 3G, and it sounds like it will do everything in the car that I need it to.
__________________
GMtothecore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:46 PM   #15
Ristaze
 
Ristaze's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS 6 Speed
Join Date: May 2009
Location: So. Jersey
Posts: 75
I have an iphone 3g and it worked perfectly. Today I plug it in and it was not recognized by the radio. I got worried, but after reading this thread I went and REBOOTED the iphone and all is well.
Ristaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 06:08 PM   #16
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,109
Yea just sounds like a handshake issue. No biggie it needs that for the physical data connection.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:47 PM   #17
tjd24
Thank you Oshawa/St.Cats!
 
tjd24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS 2G1FC1EV4A9103434
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NW NJ
Posts: 3,445
Glad to hear the reboot worked Ristaze and that the forum post helped.

I had no issues today & if it happens again I'll try to do a better root cause analysis...
__________________
http://www.hubgarage.com/mygarage/tjd24 http://ny5thgen.com/TJD_RS.htm
#3434 Born 4-15-2009, Delivered 5-22-2009 BBOMG 2/3/4 & booked for #5
tjd24 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.