Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Lethal Racing
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2009, 09:42 PM   #1
Driven Performance
Performance Tuner
 
Driven Performance's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Silver Ice 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 17
Driven Performance ECM Flash on a Stock SS = +20hp / +30tq

This is a ECU flash on a completely stock SS (vin 426). This is a very safe tune. AFR was still a bit rich but that is what you need on these LS motors to cool the cylinders down.

Our Car was just dropped of at Eibach to get outfitted with several suspension upgrades including a full coil-over setup. We are also working with Baer Brakes here in Phoenix and Brembo/ Race Technologies in California on some rotor upgrades aswell as some 6 piston extreme upgrades. Already working with Volant on a True Cold Air Intake system that will use a PowerCore filter that is oil free and a optional ram air scoop. We are being very creative on making the mail slot functional FYI.
Attached Images
 
Driven Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 09:44 PM   #2
djsnoflake
Faith Keeper
 
djsnoflake's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Silverado LTZ, 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 2,791
Wow. Thats pretty cool. I know it does not really matter but how much will that affect MPGs
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by fbodfather View Post
.........we are far from finished.................
djsnoflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 09:51 PM   #3
Driven Performance
Performance Tuner
 
Driven Performance's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Silver Ice 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 17
I drove it to Eibach Springs in Corona, CA and with the cruse control set at 77 I was at about 24MPG with 862 mile on the motor. Not sure what the before was. Sorry hope that helped.
Driven Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 10:10 PM   #4
Driven Performance
Performance Tuner
 
Driven Performance's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Silver Ice 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 17
Dyno Video

Driven Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 10:20 PM   #5
bolteon593

 
Drives: 2011 GT500
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: southern california
Posts: 902
if someone were to buy a replacement ecm for their car, could one be flashed with this and the other with stock settings so an easy swap could be made? or is that gonna break just about everything?
bolteon593 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 10:28 PM   #6
Driven Performance
Performance Tuner
 
Driven Performance's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Silver Ice 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 17
sure. You would just need a tech2 to reset the crank shaft position sensor
Driven Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 11:12 PM   #7
pharmd
Master of Medicine
 
pharmd's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 VW GTI, 2007 TBSS, 2002 Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Morehead, Kentucky
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Driven Performance View Post
sure. You would just need a tech2 to reset the crank shaft position sensor
I would assume this could be done with HPtuners or EFI live also?
__________________
pharmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 11:13 PM   #8
Driven Performance
Performance Tuner
 
Driven Performance's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Silver Ice 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 17
Not what I use but between the two Hp over EFI for sure.
Driven Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 11:15 PM   #9
Driven Performance
Performance Tuner
 
Driven Performance's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Silver Ice 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 17
You can only do the relearn with a tech2. EFI Live LS2 or Hp can not do this.
Driven Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 12:36 AM   #10
JJ2010

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Smithfield,NC
Posts: 1,202
Can you do a tune without voiding the warranty?

If so what would you have to do?

Thanks...
JJ2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 10:23 AM   #11
alex33x
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: El Paso, Tx
Posts: 688
Those numbers are pretty good for just a tune.
__________________
Devliered July 20, 2012
alex33x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 11:24 AM   #12
Driven Performance
Performance Tuner
 
Driven Performance's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Silver Ice 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 17
Good question. Everything on this forum that is not OE voids the warranty. If that is your number one concern than i would stay with GM OE parts only. What I can tell you watch out for tuners who just buy Tunning software like HP and just start adding timing anywere to make power. AFR is key here. Tuning a car is not something you pick up overnight......Experance is paramount and should only be left in the hands of professionals. There are several very good tuners in the us and i would definitely ask around and make sure they no what there are doing.

This is one of many projects I have worked on.


Last edited by Driven Performance; 05-29-2009 at 03:43 PM.
Driven Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 11:56 AM   #13
Z_Rocks

 
Drives: a Jet :-)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Driven Performance View Post
What I can tell you watch out for tuners who just buy Tunning software like HP and just start adding timing anywere to make power. AFR is key here.
Z_Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 12:02 PM   #14
The_Blur
Jayhawk USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: 6.2L of AWESOME! 2011 L99 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NAS Whiting Field
Posts: 14,306
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Quote:
Originally Posted by bolteon593 View Post
if someone were to buy a replacement ecm for their car, could one be flashed with this and the other with stock settings so an easy swap could be made? or is that gonna break just about everything?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Driven Performance View Post
sure. You would just need a tech2 to reset the crank shaft position sensor
This might be the way to go about mods. Getting a replacement ECM might be a good call.
The_Blur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 12:06 PM   #15
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,364
Damn, 20 more hp from just a tune. That is impressive.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 12:24 PM   #16
DON GIOVANNI
 
DON GIOVANNI's Avatar
 
Drives: BLACK/BLACK 2SS RS GFX
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 61
How much does this tune go for? When would it be available, and where would it be ordered/installed.
DON GIOVANNI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 02:24 PM   #17
Driven Performance
Performance Tuner
 
Driven Performance's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Silver Ice 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 17
Our web site is still under work but here it is. www.mygmtuner.com
Driven Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 02:42 PM   #18
Kyle2k
LVL 50 Troll Stomper
 
Kyle2k's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 3,244
Check your PM's ^^^
__________________
Kyle2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 02:40 PM   #19
Steve@Vectormotorsports
 
Drives: Firehawk
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Port Huron
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Driven Performance View Post
You can only do the relearn with a tech2. EFI Live LS2 or Hp can not do this.
An MSD dash hawk will do a crank shaft variation learn.
HPT. Calls it case learn it is a function in the VCM controls

We have customers all over the U.S who use the functions on there G8's
GXP's and TBSS's when we send them new ECM's
Steve@Vectormotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 01:26 AM   #20
SSRider
 
SSRider's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS RS M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Driven Performance View Post
AFR is key here. Tuning a car is not something you pick up overnight......
Amen to that

Do I understand correctly that you are tuning with a Tech2?What AFR seems to be the most effective at building power safely in the LS3? Did you add timing first then lean the AFR? Where did you add timing?
__________________
Black 2SS/RS M6
VIN# 2G1FT1EW4A9121666 (Bayed)
SSRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 01:54 AM   #21
Caliman93230

 
Caliman93230's Avatar
 
Drives: LS3S/C
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CALI
Posts: 1,347
[QUOTE= We are being very creative on making the mail slot functional FYI.[/QUOTE]

OH really this you have to show soon.
__________________
MODS whipple 2.9L s/c, ADM race scoop, 600 rwhp 550 wrtq, .
Caliman93230 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 11:50 AM   #22
WeeZee
 
Drives: SuperSport's
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 382
Nice gains with just a tune. So the 50 horse with headers is 100% legit then, these cars are so sweet
__________________
2002 Chevy CamaroSS MN6
'08 Chevy TBSS AWD "DD"
Plans : 2013 CamaroSS 1LE
WeeZee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 01:39 AM   #23
EAkrish
Scout Sniping
 
EAkrish's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Ford F150 Lariat SuperCrew
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to EAkrish
how much will the flash cost and when will it be available?
__________________
Eric
Previous Car:1SS/CGM 6MT w/ Sunroof & FACTORY BLUETOOTH!!!: New Era OTR, Steeda Short Shifter, Ported TB, Stg 2 ported intake manifold, Fasterproms, Poor man down pipes, MBRP 3" Exhaust!!!


Now I drive a F150 Supercrew
EAkrish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 01:43 AM   #24
C6Z06dude
 
Drives: 2009 C63 AMG,06 Evo,07 VW GLI,
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 49
Great gains considering it is a Dyno Dynamic dyno.
__________________
09 Mercedes Benz C63 AMG
12.9@111.04 mph stock at SIR(Tucson 3100ft)
Currently 12.3@118.59 mph with tune , headers and air filters
Previous car> 08 Z06 with cams, heads,headers and other minor stuff
C6Z06dude is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V8 Camaro Performance Upgrades List Milk 1027 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 88 12-21-2014 10:28 PM
Do you want the Z28? ChrisB Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics 1616 09-05-2010 12:49 AM
First Supercharged 2010 Camaro SS! Hennessey Performance Hennessey Performance Forced Induction - V8 16 05-13-2009 03:09 PM
2010 Camaro SS not affected by closing of GM's High Performance Vehicle Operations Tran 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 62 02-27-2009 11:18 AM
VIDEO: Camaro SS (IVER) performance driven @ Milford Crowley Camaro Photos | Spyshots | Video | Media Gallery 74 02-04-2009 12:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.